bobjoh
Member Since 2021
(previous) 5/29 - Alphyne - curve night! - PMPS @ 318 / +2 @ 321 / +4 @ 340 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Last night (curve night) was uneventful, but disappointing. Alphyne was screaming at me for food this morning, so I know she's her usual self!
However, I had a weird thing happen with the AM shot, and wanted to see if anyone else has had something similar?
I fed her, and while she was eating, I gave her a shot in the right flank. I've been trying to alternate the shot sites more, since it seems like she doesn't do as well when I always do the scruff. Anyway, I gave the shot, held the needle there for a second or two, and then smoothed down her fur and gave her 'boo boo' a kiss. When I did that, the insulin shot out of her skin and hit me in the face!! I could smell it and taste it on my lips! That was so weird!!
So, now after the high numbers night, and a dose increase, she technically got a fur shot. Or a fur leak, as the case may be. I'm starting to wonder if, since her numbers have been steadily increasing, if it hasn't been leaking out at other times as well? I had a fur shot the other day which I swear wasn't a fur shot, since I watched the needle go in, but I could smell the insulin when I gave her the kiss...I'm wondering if the same thing didn't happen then?
Has anyone else seen anything like this? It was just so weird that the insulin shot back out, and not immediately, but it's like the pressure from the kiss forced it out (and I did not smash my face in to her)!


Thanks!!
Last night (curve night) was uneventful, but disappointing. Alphyne was screaming at me for food this morning, so I know she's her usual self!
However, I had a weird thing happen with the AM shot, and wanted to see if anyone else has had something similar?
I fed her, and while she was eating, I gave her a shot in the right flank. I've been trying to alternate the shot sites more, since it seems like she doesn't do as well when I always do the scruff. Anyway, I gave the shot, held the needle there for a second or two, and then smoothed down her fur and gave her 'boo boo' a kiss. When I did that, the insulin shot out of her skin and hit me in the face!! I could smell it and taste it on my lips! That was so weird!!
So, now after the high numbers night, and a dose increase, she technically got a fur shot. Or a fur leak, as the case may be. I'm starting to wonder if, since her numbers have been steadily increasing, if it hasn't been leaking out at other times as well? I had a fur shot the other day which I swear wasn't a fur shot, since I watched the needle go in, but I could smell the insulin when I gave her the kiss...I'm wondering if the same thing didn't happen then?
Has anyone else seen anything like this? It was just so weird that the insulin shot back out, and not immediately, but it's like the pressure from the kiss forced it out (and I did not smash my face in to her)!
Thanks!!
Last edited:
