Stephanie&Willy
Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! I apologize that I have not been able to update on Willy's numbers, especially since we increased his dose, we had a very stressful and hectic weekend. I am trying not to get too excited, but his numbers have never looked to good before! I am a little concerned at the drop (compared to yesterday) and I am going to keep a close eye on him, but I hope this is indicative of things to come!
Unfortunately my DH had a family emergency on Thursday and we had to pack up and go out of state very quickly. We had to take Willy with us. In the rushing and confusion to get on the road, we left Willy's insulin in the fridge. After a minor freak out, we decided on a plan to monitor his BG and call our vet to have a script called in in the morning--- figuring he has probably gone a night without his shot in the past. Willy was such a trooper, but he knew something was missing. The good news is, the place we stayed is completely tiled and he was able to walk on the floor without any trouble! In the past it took him a day or two to adjust to walking and he still had issues. I would like to thank FDMB for the information on neuropathy for this, otherwise we would have never gotten him on B12.
Willy handled the weekend (and the car rides) like a champ, other than a bout of very abrupt carsickness both direction. We rented a car for the drive, and in his defense, I also was car sick. We were concerned about his high numbers once we got home, but figured it was a rebound from all the stress and did my best to get everything back to normal as quickly as possible. We also just had just done an increase, so that might be a factor in the jumping around too. I was expecting 5 days for things to return to normal (it has been 3). I am hopeful that his numbers will stay this nice, but I'm not sure if I should get my hopes up since stress can do strange things. We have always predicted he would probably settle at a dose between 5u and 6u.
I plan to keep a close eye on him because I don't know how low he will dip. Thank you everyone for your support!
AMPS 151
+4 89
+6 61
+7 96
+8 138
Unfortunately my DH had a family emergency on Thursday and we had to pack up and go out of state very quickly. We had to take Willy with us. In the rushing and confusion to get on the road, we left Willy's insulin in the fridge. After a minor freak out, we decided on a plan to monitor his BG and call our vet to have a script called in in the morning--- figuring he has probably gone a night without his shot in the past. Willy was such a trooper, but he knew something was missing. The good news is, the place we stayed is completely tiled and he was able to walk on the floor without any trouble! In the past it took him a day or two to adjust to walking and he still had issues. I would like to thank FDMB for the information on neuropathy for this, otherwise we would have never gotten him on B12.
Willy handled the weekend (and the car rides) like a champ, other than a bout of very abrupt carsickness both direction. We rented a car for the drive, and in his defense, I also was car sick. We were concerned about his high numbers once we got home, but figured it was a rebound from all the stress and did my best to get everything back to normal as quickly as possible. We also just had just done an increase, so that might be a factor in the jumping around too. I was expecting 5 days for things to return to normal (it has been 3). I am hopeful that his numbers will stay this nice, but I'm not sure if I should get my hopes up since stress can do strange things. We have always predicted he would probably settle at a dose between 5u and 6u.
I plan to keep a close eye on him because I don't know how low he will dip. Thank you everyone for your support!
AMPS 151
+4 89
+6 61
+7 96
+8 138