5/3 Skooter AMPS 104 +2.5 59 +3.25 54 +4.5 64 PMPS 116 +2.75 59 +3.5 64 +4.5 64 +6 75 GOTCHA DAY

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooterboy's Condo 04/30

Today Skooter decided to tease me, as he always does....DORK! But since it is our GOTCHYA day, I guess I will allow it (I am not sure what the excuses should be every other day of the week, but LOL)

So this is the story I posted on FB:

I feel like I should have a cake or something, but seeing as Skooter is diabetic and my dietician is now a FB, probably not the best idea. You see, 12 years ago today, I had just signed my very first lease. My brother in law and I decided we would JUST LOOK at cats as we didn’t have anything else to do. I left my credit cards, driver’s license, everything as I wasn’t going to be moving in until the 15th. We landed at the Burnsville MinnesotaValley Human Society on a jam packed Saturday. The first one I looked at was an adorable 7 month old tuxie named Zoomer. They put us in a storage closet as all the “get to know you rooms” were taken and he was cute and curious, and it was fun to play with him. Then I saw this cat with a little attitude….he was older, like 5 and when the person went to get him, he began hissing at other cats. But as soon as we got in the room, he was making circle 8s around my legs and could care less about anything else. I knew right then and there he was mine. I asked if they would be able to hold him for two weeks, I was willing to pay whatever was needed, but they said they couldn’t, they could only hold him until the end of the business day. Welp, we were off! We drove to my brother in law’s house to get their cat carrier and then to pick up my wallet and off to pick him up. This is normally referred to your GOTCHA day, but I like to think of it has my GOTCME day, as I truly believe that Skooter picked me. When I got him his name was Cooter. I changed the “c” to a “k” and added an “S”. I could not imagine my life without him. He has been there for me through EVERYTHING the past 12 years. Skooter -- momma loves you!!!!!


Skoots is doing great and with just a few numbers above 120 (and not much above that) we have had normal numbers for like 69 hours! Of course, I am sure I am totally jinxing it by saying it, but hopefully not.

So question/opinion time. Skooter is scheduled for his second dental on Tuesday, May 5th. Looking at his numbers the last few days, he has been trending in the lower numbers (total antijinx!). Last time, I gave him a reduced dose of .25 the night before his dental, skipped his insulin for both AM and PM the day of his dental and went back to the full 0.50 the following day. I have enough insulin in his current pen to do tomorrow morning's shot, but not sure if there is enough to do his PM shot. I know that sometimes, not always, new pens can be more potent. If I do not have enough tomorrow night, do I skip that as well as the day of and wait until after the morning after his dental to break into the new pen?
 
Congratulations on GOTCME day!! Skooter...you made out like a bandit, you know that don't you??

As for the question, I'd say we really just need to see what his numbers look like after his dental, but since he did so well a few weeks ago, I'd probably do the same thing again.

Since you're using the pens, I doubt if a "new" pen is going to be a lot more potent than the old one was, but there also no rule that says you can't go ahead and start the new pen tomorrow morning just to see if there is going to be a marked difference.
 
Awesome gotcha day story! I like the older ones too. :)

I was about to suggest what Chris did (starting the new pen tomorrow morning), but she beat me to it.;) But if you aren't around to monitor tomorrow, I still think you'd be fine starting it tomorrow night. He only ventured up to higher blues last time after his dental so I agree you could stick with the same plan.

Sending lots of good vetty vines for Tuesday. :bighug:
 
Ah, Skooter. You were a pretty smart little guy, weren't you. Still are. I love the older kitties. (and droolers!)

So to both the little man and his most awesome mama.....Happy Gotcha/me day.

Marilyn and Polly
 
What a great story. Skooter is lucky to have you. Good luck with the new pen when you start it. I've not noticed any difference when I start a new pen.
 
Happy annifursary of getting Skooter. I love you your story! How wonderful to go 69 hours in normal numbers even before the second dental. Maybe this dental will do the trick! I think you now have your plan and hope all goes smoothly.
 
Thanks for all the input on his insulin.....If I had thought of it, I would have started it with tonight's shot, but hindsight is 20/20

He sure is likin the 59......third one today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top