5/3 Silver AMPS 239 PMPS 310 - Ketones 2.2 - HE ATE!!! Momma bean happy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-2-silver-home-still-wont-eat.195008/

2:45am woke up so went to investigate. Silver sleeping but chirped and purred a little when I went to pet him so I thought I'd try the Temptations again. He ate 17 pieces before saying that's enough. Will try again in a couple hrs when the alarm goes off.

Not looking forward to the pilling experience today when I can't hide it in a pill pocket.
 
More eating progress! :)

You will get through it, Asia is the worst cat to pill and I had to do it, not fun, but we managed. Now she eats her pills in a little bit of cream cheese and it’s a non issue, but when this all started I had to pill her. Maybe you could try wrapping it in a pill pocket and crushing up some temptations to roll the pill pocket in? I know you’ll figure out something that works. :bighug:
 
It's great to hear Silver seems to be feeling better and ate some Temptations for you. Good luck with the pilling. I hope he will eat for you today. Sending prayers.
Well the morning pilling was fine. He hated me for it but I gave him half a Cerenia and his antibiotic. Testing was awful! I think my freestyle must be broken or about to. Took six attempts to get it to work while Silver sat with his ear bleeding for me. Gave up and grabbed the accucheck then freestyle worked. Hence two readings in my title. I think I want to go back to the accucheck as it's closer to vet readings but I still have 500 freestyle strips. So I have to go get a new freestyle or some accucheck strips. Bummer

Needless to say he would not eat. I tried the Temptations. Nope. Not that either. So I put three dishes on the floor in my bedroom: a dish of temptations. One of FF in gravy and one of sardines. Plus some water and his litter tray and I've shut him in my bedroom for the day.

I've had three hours sleep so am gonna need help to get through the day. Falling asleep on my train right now. Worried about Silver. His eyes are bright; he's trying to get back to his usual routine of joining me on my pillow early hours. But I can't get him to eat regular food. Just a handful of Temptations every couple hours. I put a few on the bed and saw him munching on them as I left. He can't live on those tho as his BG is not surprisingly high this morning. I guess I need to increase his dose to compensate?

Unfortunately I have to go out tonight for a couple hrs but will get home with enough time to give him his fluids. Am sure it would have been better for him to get them this morning. Not eating is going to dehydrate him very quickly again. He is most definitely not out of the woods yet.
 
Testing was awful! I think my freestyle must be broken or about to.
I remember having similar issue with my freestyle, and it turned out it was the battery needed replacing, even though the battery icon on the meter wasn't showing empty. It went very weird on me at the time, so I took the battery out and replaced it with another battery (from my other meter) and then it worked fine.
Just a thought, it seems a shame to have to buy another meter or waste all those strips.

Sorry I missed Silver's homecoming, I'm glad he is eating a little for you. Sending more appy vines.
George is a little off his food at them moment and sometimes the only way I can get him to eat is by sprinkling some freezedried treats on his food. Maybe sprinkling some crushed up temptations onto Silvers food would be enough to encourage him to have a lick, sometimes that's all you need to get them started.

I'm short in time (Hospital appt for me this morning and hospital appt for George in a couple of hours) so I haven't read through to see if you have tried the above.

Hang in there.

Sending appy vines.
 
I replaced the battery last night then replaced again today thinking dud battery but nope. It's acting up.

Will try crushed up temptations. Going through a lot of wasted food.Although I give Sasha what I can when he won't eat it.
 
Last edited:
Hopefully Silver will eat some of the food you left as the day goes on. It may just take a little time for him to feel more comfortable and start eating again. I think being home is good for him. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If I recall you're getting some ondansetron from another kind member. His symptoms seem to be classic nausea and/or "anorexia with a life of its own". I'm glad you're trying the kitty buffet in your bedroom while you're away today. It's so hard trying to look after a kitty who's ill when you have to go to work.
 
Glad Silver home. Good that he’s bright eyed and sweetness beyond words that he cuddled with you during the night. Settling in. Sending feel better and appy vines. Hope you get some rest tonight.:bighug:
 
Will your vet write you a prescription for Ondansetron since the Cerenia may not be working well (so you don't have to wait for the med to get to you through mail)? My vet actually doesn't think Cerenia works well in cats & she uses it as a last resort after she tries other anti nausea meds. For my cats, she writes me a prescription for Ondansetron so I can get if from the pharmacy. It's quite costly in Canada though, but it is one of the best anti nausea meds on the market so it's worth it.

Silver ate a lot of Temptations earlier this morning so he may still have been full from those when you were offering him breakfast. Hopefully he eats some of the food you left out for him today. I've been having to crush up Temptations on Beau's food since his emergency vet stay & it works for him. He doesn't eat his food all at once so I leave him in the spare room for a couple hours & he usually eats most of his food in that time. I think he just licks at it between naps. He does eat more when I go into the room and I put the dish directly in front of him & pet him. He likes to eat while I pet him. I have a couple kitties who I have to coax to eat so I understand the worry & frustration. But there's lots of tricks to get them eating.
 
Will your vet write you a prescription for Ondansetron since the Cerenia may not be working well (so you don't have to wait for the med to get to you through mail)? My vet actually doesn't think Cerenia works well in cats & she uses it as a last resort after she tries other anti nausea meds. For my cats, she writes me a prescription for Ondansetron so I can get if from the pharmacy. It's quite costly in Canada though, but it is one of the best anti nausea meds on the market so it's worth it.

Silver ate a lot of Temptations earlier this morning so he may still have been full from those when you were offering him breakfast. Hopefully he eats some of the food you left out for him today. I've been having to crush up Temptations on Beau's food since his emergency vet stay & it works for him. He doesn't eat his food all at once so I leave him in the spare room for a couple hours & he usually eats most of his food in that time. I think he just licks at it between naps. He does eat more when I go into the room and I put the dish directly in front of him & pet him. He likes to eat while I pet him. I have a couple kitties who I have to coax to eat so I understand the worry & frustration. But there's lots of tricks to get them eating.
Thx I'm going to try the crushed temptations next.
 
Thanks @HWright @Kris & Teasel @carfurby i did give him Cerenia this am. Same as ondansetron? Not sure where @rhiannon and shadow (GA) lives but it might take a while to reach me in Canada. I'll pm her my address tho.
No, Cerenia is a different drug. It's a vet medication that can help nausea and vomiting but also has some anti inflammatory effects. That's why it's useful for pancreatitis, etc. Teasel had it when he was having frequent bouts of cystitis because it can ease inflammation. Ondansetron (brand name Zofran) is a human med given for nausea associated with chemotherapy. It works differently on nausea than Cerenia does. Some people here on FDMB have used both together on occasion.
 
Take heart, Juliet:bighug: As Silver relaxes now at home his appy will return , especially after a quiet day alone in your room. Sending returned appy prayers to sweet Silver and peace for your momma bean heart :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh I hope so! I'm at work and all I can think about is him.
 
He is willing to eat...even if it is the high reward type!

Crushed up tempations just might be the trick. Also I find with Jones is that I am anxious and I am hovering shoving food in his face he will not eat and he does better shut in my room with a can of food outside of his feeder.
I'm hoping that might be the case and I come home to at least not full food dishes. Empty preferred.
 
Fingers crossed for empty food dishes! My cats bored eat when I’m not around, perhaps the same will be true for Silver? ;)
 
I was checking on you and silver, dang that work we have to go to, it stinks, I hope you get home and all food is gone, maybe he will cause he’s bored, being in bedroom by himself, I know when I’m bored I eat. Sending hugs and vines your way
 
Well HE ATE! One happy momma bean is so relieved. I have been so upset all day leaving him. But leaving him in the bedroom alone with his sushi bar was the best move. Can't remember who suggested it but it worked. He had a choice of sardines, FF regular and FF in gravy along with a dish of Temptations. Came home, the Temptations have been nibbled at but the FF in gravy IS ALL GONE! the entire can.

Just tested him - very pleased that ketones are down to 2.2 on the Novamax so trace right @Tracey&Jones @Bobbie And Bubba
BG is high - but not surprising as a) I dont know how recently he ate and b) he is eating high carb. He is at 310. So I put his dose up to 7.5 units for now which is what he had been getting at the vet. Once he is eating regular food I may have to reduce it.

I gave him 100 ml of fluids stuffed full of extra potassium. He gobbled up his antibiotic hidden in the pill pocket and is now happily eating a can of FF in gravy. I think we have turned a corner.

I will never forget this morning when he snuggled into bed and purred for a couple hours in my arms. This morning I was so scared it was him saying goodbye - but it was so special that he came on his own and was happy even if he wasnt feeling well.

Thank you thank you to all who have supported me the last few days....now I need to take care of me and get some sleep. After my 2 hr course that I have to go to tonight (I would skip it but I skipped last week).

Anyone advise if my dosing increase is okay - anyone got any warnings - watch out for? I know he may very well not do his usual food spike/inverted curve so I will get a +3 tonight when I get home.
 
Wonderful news! When they are off their feed give anything like you did including HC food to just get them to eat again. Cats can easily become anorexic when they go too many days with out eating. So, just like you did, increase the insulin to combat the higher numbers. Just test till you go to bed as that was a big jump in insulin compared to what you were giving him . Wonder how they came up with that amount?

Get some rest tonight as I know how very tired you must be. When our babies aren't good, we aren't good.
 
I'm so happy to hear Silver ate! That is wonderful news. It's great to hear the ketones are down too. I think as long as he is eating you are okay with the increased dose of insulin. I hope you can get some sleep tonight. Sending prayers.
 
Wonderful news! When they are off their feed give anything like you did including HC food to just get them to eat again. Cats can easily become anorexic when they go too many days with out eating. So, just like you did, increase the insulin to combat the higher numbers. Just test till you go to bed as that was a big jump in insulin compared to what you were giving him . Wonder how they came up with that amount?

Get some rest tonight as I know how very tired you must be. When our babies aren't good, we aren't good.
Thanks. Yes I don't know how they got from 5.24 to 7.5. Likely just guessed. I am home almost all day Saturday so will get extra tests in.
 
I'm so happy to hear Silver ate! That is wonderful news. It's great to hear the ketones are down too. I think as long as he is eating you are okay with the increased dose of insulin. I hope you can get some sleep tonight. Sending prayers.
Thank you! :bighug::bighug:
 
Fantastic news!! :D:D:D If it's FF with gravy that does the trick for now, so be it. Eating is more important than carb level and you can dose around it.
 
Wooooooo hoooooo:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::):):):):):):):D:D:D:eek::eek::eek::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:.... I knew being home and with momma would do the trick !!!!! Happy for you both, Juliet :bighug:
 
That is great news on the food. I don't think that dose is too high, with all those carbs going and infection....his numbers are up there.

I am not sure on the ketone number...

Continued vines for Silver.
 
Wooooooo hoooooo:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::):):):):):):):D:D:D:eek::eek::eek::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:.... I knew being home and with momma would do the trick !!!!! Happy for you both, Juliet :bighug:
He didn't finished much of the second can of FF. Next trick will be trying to leave him alone with food when I am home. Sasha will get it. Shutting him in is ok for when I'm at work. He didn't eat more than a mouthful tonight but he's getting there.
 
This is the best news! :woot: I’m so glad it worked out and he ate while you were gone. I sure hope he’s perked up and well on his way to recovery. Now to get those ketones to 0! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So great to hear that Silver has turned a corner. Sending lots of vines for this good trend to continue. How wonderful that he snuggled with you and purred!
Have a good night's sleep tonight with a gently purring kitty.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so happy for you Juliet :bighug:
Sending continued eating vines and zero ketones vines to Silver.
 
Great! I am glad....he is definitely stronger. He was sooo weak yesterday but now he managed to jump on the bed without going via the chair. He just needed to eat. I stroked and petted him just now and he ate another can of FF - almost the full can. So thats almost 2 cans plus a good portion of Temptations. The guy is living it up on kitty chocolate!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top