
I think doing the reduced dose was a good move, given how much you appeared to be fighting the numbers last night, and given that he was nadiring in the 70's with 3.5u, my feeling is that you took the dose up prematurely and he was slightly ovedosed on that 3.75u. Hence you are still seeing low numbers.56@+3. Can't quite tell if this is just a super flat cycle or if he's about to drop. I'll check him again in about a half hour before I'm getting ready to leave and then I might put out some HC if he's dropping too much.
Have you had to leave? Can anyone be with him? Can your wife check on him? give him a little more HC in 30min?39@+4. More of a drop than I was hoping for. Giving him 2tsp HCG w/ a drop of honey, and then I set the auto-feeder to give him another batch in two hours, that should hold him over until we get home around +8
I really think this is very unsafe to leave him when he is at 39hat should hold him over until we get home around +8
Yeah I was actually thinking the same thing. He never really scarfed the Wellness Core and even on the few occasions that he did he didn't have a problem with it, but the consistency of the Merrick is a lot softer and I think as a result he would eat it faster, so I was planning on if I give him the Merrick, split it up into 1/4 or even 1/8 5.5oz can meals. He seems to be back to okay with eating the Wellness Core though so I'm going to stick with that since we know a lot more of what to expect from it.My girl Ginger used to scarf and barf when I gave her food she really liked (like HC with lots of gravy). She's kind of a food hog and eats all of her's fast sometimes, so she can then push my other cat out of his food bowl and eat the rest of his too. I now give them each 1/4 can of 3oz Fancy Feast when I get up, and then make them wait for an hour, and then give them the other 1/4 can each. Once they've eaten that much, their morning hungries have subsided, and I can then leave out another 1/2 can each when I leave for work. I have a lot fewer scarfs and barfs.
I don't know if that helps.
I'm glad Sebastien is okay.
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
- Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
- Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
- Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
- Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
- Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
Looks like onset not... yet118@+2