5/3 Sebastian PM +10.5 50 AMPS 52 +1 57 +2 60 +3 56 +4 39 +7 61 +9 94 PMPS 116 +2 118

44@PM+11.5. Guess I'm stalling a bit. I'm going to give him a reduced dose of 3u today because I'm not going to be here for the middle of the cycle
 
Last edited:
Threw up his breakfast so I gave him 1/2 a cerenia and then put the food back down 1/2 hour later. He didn't seem to interested in the Merrick Beef anymore so I put down some of the Wellness Core and he started eating that again, so we'll give that a try for now.

57@+1.
 
56@+3. Can't quite tell if this is just a super flat cycle or if he's about to drop. I'll check him again in about a half hour before I'm getting ready to leave and then I might put out some HC if he's dropping too much.
 
39@+4. More of a drop than I was hoping for. Giving him 2tsp HCG w/ a drop of honey, and then I set the auto-feeder to give him another batch in two hours, that should hold him over until we get home around +8
 
56@+3. Can't quite tell if this is just a super flat cycle or if he's about to drop. I'll check him again in about a half hour before I'm getting ready to leave and then I might put out some HC if he's dropping too much.
I think doing the reduced dose was a good move, given how much you appeared to be fighting the numbers last night, and given that he was nadiring in the 70's with 3.5u, my feeling is that you took the dose up prematurely and he was slightly ovedosed on that 3.75u. Hence you are still seeing low numbers.

Justin I would also add that going to bed when he was 43, was quite a risky move, you had no guarantee that he was going to stay up. In that situation, the advice, for safety is to keep feeding until he's above 50 and numbers are staying up for two hours without food.
I'm so glad and relieved, that he was still ok this morning, but I am mentioning the above because I would hate for you (or anyone else reading the condo) to think that it is safe to leave a kitty with some high carb food, and go to bed when they are running in the low 40's. I understand that you do have problems with sleep, and that might have been the only option you felt was available to you, but I wanted to emphasize that it was a very risky strategy, which luckily worked out this time.
 
61@+7. He's fine, been eating his food and no throw ups.

As far as last night, I didn't take any tests between +6 and +10 but I still had half an eye on him to watch for any abnormal behavior. We've been letting him sleep in our room the past few nights so having him walking around the bed, purring and try to nuzzle us, I wasn't worried. We've also been in this spot in the numbers several times now so I was fairly confident in where his numbers were going to go from there.

Same thing with today. His throw ups are pretty predictable, happening about the same time every night or immediately after he eats breakfast the past couple days, either because of that particular food or he just ate too much of it at once, so with putting out his normal food and seeing him eat it with no problem already I was expecting it to stay down.
 
My girl Ginger used to scarf and barf when I gave her food she really liked (like HC with lots of gravy). She's kind of a food hog and eats all of her's fast sometimes, so she can then push my other cat out of his food bowl and eat the rest of his too. I now give them each 1/4 can of 3oz Fancy Feast when I get up, and then make them wait for an hour, and then give them the other 1/4 can each. Once they've eaten that much, their morning hungries have subsided, and I can then leave out another 1/2 can each when I leave for work. I have a lot fewer scarfs and barfs.
I don't know if that helps.
I'm glad Sebastien is okay.
 
My girl Ginger used to scarf and barf when I gave her food she really liked (like HC with lots of gravy). She's kind of a food hog and eats all of her's fast sometimes, so she can then push my other cat out of his food bowl and eat the rest of his too. I now give them each 1/4 can of 3oz Fancy Feast when I get up, and then make them wait for an hour, and then give them the other 1/4 can each. Once they've eaten that much, their morning hungries have subsided, and I can then leave out another 1/2 can each when I leave for work. I have a lot fewer scarfs and barfs.
I don't know if that helps.
I'm glad Sebastien is okay.
Yeah I was actually thinking the same thing. He never really scarfed the Wellness Core and even on the few occasions that he did he didn't have a problem with it, but the consistency of the Merrick is a lot softer and I think as a result he would eat it faster, so I was planning on if I give him the Merrick, split it up into 1/4 or even 1/8 5.5oz can meals. He seems to be back to okay with eating the Wellness Core though so I'm going to stick with that since we know a lot more of what to expect from it.
 
First, frequent vomiting is not a common behavior in cats. It can be a sign of GI problems (e.g., IBD or lymphoma, slow transit issues or a variety of other concerns). If you've not had Sebastian in to see your vet, this should be a consideration.

Honestly, it scares me to death that you didn't get a test after your +6 last night or left the house after a 39 today. Cats can drop into the 20s and not show immediate symptoms of hypoglycemia. All it takes is a few minutes for numbers to drop lower and there could be a good chance that you can't shovel enough high carb into Sebastian to save his life. Having "half an eye on him to watch for any abnormal behavior" quite frankly, doesn't cut it. Just as a matter of quoting myself and the Handling Low Numbers sticky:
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)


    • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
    • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
    • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
    • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
    • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

You got a number in the 30s and left the house. This is skirting with disaster.

I said this to someone else a week or two ago. The thing I hate the most is thinking to myself, "I told you so." No one here wants anything untoward to happen to Sebastian. We care about you and your kitty. We have been exceptionally fortunate to not have a cat die as a result of hypoglycemia. OTOH, several years ago, a member from here whose cat fell out of remission was posting on Facebook rather than here. She shot low and left the house. She came home to a dead cat. Please, if you know you can't monitor, skip the shot, make sure there's high carb food available, get someone to come by and check on your cat, etc. If Sebastian is in the 40s, please test every 15 - 20 min and steer the numbers with high carb food until his numbers are soundly in a safe range. I truly don't want to see your luck to run out and Sebastian to use all of his 9 lives.
 
Back
Top