5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513,+2-476

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Holy cow, he dropped like a stone last night. I caught what I could on testing. I DID NOT SHOOT this morning as I was too nervous. Probably stupid but feel like a newbie and don't know what to expect. So is the infection gone? Is the covenia out of his system? Didn't see a food spike this morning after I fed him which is interesting. I have to keep him safe. I'm an hour away hence the no shot this morning! So here's more of my questions.

1. 2 weeks since ER hospital and the vet. Did the 'treatments' help reset all the problem areas and that's why the difference? Electrolytes, potassium, phospherous?? There has been something different the last week, can't put my finger on it but there is something different.
2. He's on higher carb food - was 4-6% now he's eating 8-10% and seems to be doing better on that. Does that play a part? Higher Phos and potassium is in the food now.
3. Appetite is better than ever. Not like he is starving but he is eating well. Used to give him Forti Flora (1 packet) by splitting with breakfast and dinner. He doesn't seem to like that now and won't eat his food if I put it in there so haven't given him that.
4. He's very vocal the last few days. Loves to chatter, talk and follows me around like he is my shadow. Hasn't done that in a long time. He sat on the edge of the tub last night when I bathed, dipping that long old tail of his in the water and just talking away. Splashed me a couple of times.
5. Still negative on ketones. LB is fabulous. Not too much and nice solid poop - (sorry just trying to get all the details listed) :lol: :lol:
6. Sleeping with me most of the night and waking me when hungry with slobbery kisses and 'kneading' me.

I am so grateful seeing these types of numbers. I hope it holds for a bit - healing numbers now - I'll post after I leave work to test and then get back. I AM SO HAPPY!!!! :lol: :lol:

Advice and comments welcome...

Wishing great numbers to all, safe surfs (come on Scratchie surf the blue lagoon for me) and healing vines to all who need them.

Jo
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113

Holy Toledo!!!! I had to reread that twice to make sure I was seeing the right numbers for Scratchie...We are talking Scratchie here right? Nobody slipped in a clone kitty. ohmygod_smile :lol:

Oh please Scratchie stay in those numbers for momma...and yeah you probably should have shot but you just really don't know yet if it is safe to do so on those numbers.

I wish I had answers to all your questions, but I just don't but I'm certainly dancing on air with you looking at those numbers. Could it be that whatever was wrong before as been going on this entire time? That for over a year he has had that infection and no one caught it until now with the trip to the ER? I know you don't have anymore answers than I do, just me thinking out loud.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113

Scratchie'smom said:
Holy cow, he dropped like a stone last night. I caught what I could on testing. I DID NOT SHOOT this morning as I was too nervous. Probably stupid but feel like a newbie and don't know what to expect. So is the infection gone? Is the covenia out of his system? Didn't see a food spike this morning after I fed him which is interesting. I have to keep him safe. I'm an hour away hence the no shot this morning! So here's more of my questions.
Awesome! I've been checking Scratchie's ss everyday... hoping for some sort of break through. There it is! :mrgreen:

No, it was not stupid to skip the shot this morning.
You're going to work and do not have the data to support a decision to shoot low... yet, but eventually you will. You done good! :-D

The infection is probably gone. Covenia "works" for about 2 weeks, but actually remains in kitty's system for approximately 65 days.

Scratchie'smom said:
1. 2 weeks since ER hospital and the vet. Did the 'treatments' help reset all the problem areas and that's why the difference? Electrolytes, potassium, phospherous?? There has been something different the last week, can't put my finger on it but there is something different.
IMHO, the results of more insulin + treatment + the antibiotic all worked together to get Scratchie where he is today. The "something different" could very well have been him beginning to feel better.

Scratchie'smom said:
2. He's on higher carb food - was 4-6% now he's eating 8-10% and seems to be doing better on that. Does that play a part? Higher Phos and potassium is in the food now.
Contrary to what you mostly hear around here, some kitties do better on a little higher carb low carb diet than on an ultra low carb diet. Scratchie may be one of them! Here's an old FDMB thread saved from many years ago that talks about that particular observation: Low Carb vs Lower Carb.

Scratchie'smom said:
3. Appetite is better than ever. Not like he is starving but he is eating well. Used to give him Forti Flora (1 packet) by splitting with breakfast and dinner. He doesn't seem to like that now and won't eat his food if I put it in there so haven't given him that.
Yaaay! Eating well is such a good sign after they've been sick. Whenever Alex starts to eat well after an illness I feel like we're over the hump and better times are ahead. :-D

Scratchie'smom said:
4. He's very vocal the last few days. Loves to chatter, talk and follows me around like he is my shadow. Hasn't done that in a long time. He sat on the edge of the tub last night when I bathed, dipping that long old tail of his in the water and just talking away. Splashed me a couple of times.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
This is soooooooooooooo good to hear! Love it!

Scratchie'smom said:
5. Still negative on ketones. LB is fabulous. Not too much and nice solid poop - (sorry just trying to get all the details listed) :lol: :lol:
Wonderful!!!

Scratchie'smom said:
6. Sleeping with me most of the night and waking me when hungry with slobbery kisses and 'kneading' me.
Another good sign! :-D

Scratchie'smom said:
I am so grateful seeing these types of numbers. I hope it holds for a bit - healing numbers now - I'll post after I leave work to test and then get back. I AM SO HAPPY!!!! :lol: :lol:
Please don't be disappointed if his numbers run higher after a skipped shot. It's also likely he'll bounce from dropping into numbers lower than he's seen for awhile now. It'll be interesting to see where he is at shot time tonight.

Scratchie'smom said:
Advice and comments welcome...

Depending on what he does today, you'll have a few options depending on your goals and availability to monitor.

  • If he bounces and/or is high from the skipped shot you could elect to shoot through the bounce by shooting 4.25 units tonight and reduce the dose in the morning in an effort to feel more comfortable shooting him twice a day.
  • You could reduce the dose to 4u BID either tonight or tomorrow morning in order to feel more comfortable shooting him twice a day.
  • Since we're approaching the weekend and if you'll be available to monitor, you *could* wait to back the dose down til Sunday's PM shot since it's not like he dropped too low... requiring a mandatory reduction.

Whatever you decide will be right for you and Scratchie.


Just my thoughts...
Have a great day!!!



PS --- I'm so happy for you!
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113

Thanks Mel! Yep, it's really him - you should have been me last night and this morning - I was wondering the same thing!!!

I hope he doesn't bounce too high, then I will feel horrible! Got your PM so I'll answer later. Sneaking on the computer here at work again....
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113

Thanks Jill, I just kind of feel like an idiot this morning with the shot, but his safety is my main concern. I have shot lower but it's been a while. Today with not seeing a food spike, it just didn't feel right to give him 4.25u.

Thanks for your comments and suggestions!

Jo
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Ok, ran home and tested and at 6.5 he's at 198. 5 hours to go to PMPS.

Question now. Hold the dose? Mel and I had talked about an increase but I don't think it's warranted? Advice please....
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

If you are still at home give can you give him 2u now to keep him from going off to the races by tonight. And see where he is at tonight before deciding what to give him tonight. I will be watching for you to post his pmps.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Sorry Mel, had to run in, test and run out. Back at work so no other ....
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Not a biggie just thought if I could catch you there I would throw that out, just lets see where he is tonight before we decide what to give him...I was already expecting him to be off to the races and since he is still in the blues, I'm not sure what to do with him.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

MommaOfMuse said:
If you are still at home give can you give him 2u now to keep him from going off to the races by tonight. And see where he is at tonight before deciding what to give him tonight. I will be watching for you to post his pmps.
EDITED to read: There's a *risk* of overlapping the nadir of the first shot with the onset of the second shot if you shoot a reduced dose of 2u now and then shoot another dose at scratchie's normal shot time. You have to be careful with this method.

At what +hour do you get home?

If he continues to rise and you'll be home from work, you could always shoot 0.1u R between what would have been AM+8 and AM+10 had you given a shot this morning... that way the R would be out of his system before onset of the Lantus dose given at his normal PMPS shot time.

Alternatively, if he's headed to the moon (over 300 or 350) at his normal PM shot time, you could shoot a reduced Lantus dose of 4u and 0.1u R... if you'll be home to monitor tonight. You'd want to test every hour for the first 4 hours of the cycle. The results of those tests will give you an idea if further monitoring is needed. If you were to choose this option, you'd want to draw the Lantus and R doses into 2 separate syringes. You don't want to mix the two insulins in the same syringe. You'd also want to shoot in separate locations. When I use R with Alex I'll shoot it on one side of her body and then shoot the Lev on the other side.

Just another couple of options... presuming he continues to rise.




01unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Ladies. I work 10 hour days but today should be home by +11 to test him. I'll post at that time to see what you think.

Thank you!
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Dang it!!!! 418 at 11.25. I'll definitely give 4u and some 'R'. I will watch him every hour. I'm so mad at myself!
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie - +11-101, AMPS-112, +.75-113, +6.5-198

Jo, don't beat yourself up. Safety is always the number one priority! You skipped to keep Scratchie safe while you were gone. His numbers will come down. The important thing to focus on is he saw BLUE and stayed there for a good amount of time. That's so encouraging!

The high number is yukky, but to be expected. You have the option of shooting a full (4.25u) or reduced dose (4u) along with 0.1u of R. it's really up to you. I'm assuming you have plenty of test strips and some high carb food to steer the curve if necessary?

I'm heading into kitty feeding time and have to prepare dinner. I'll be back to check in on you. Please post spot check results at +1, +2, +3, and +4. I really don't think Scratchie will drop too low given how high he is now, but those spot checks will be good indicators of any need for intervention. They'll also give you an idea of his response to 0.1u of R. Managing a curve is so much easier when you're able to stay ahead of the cat...


BBL.
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -+11-101,AMPS-112,+.75-113,+6.5-198,+11-41

Thanks Jill. I think I'll go with the full 4.25 and the R and watch him. I will post on the spreadsheet for each test. And you are right - we haven't seen blue in a long time and I do think that was pretty awesome! Thank you!
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -+11-101,AMPS-112,+.75-113,+6.5-198,+11-41

You're welcome! I'll check his spreadsheet tonight. Post if you have any questions.
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -+11-101,AMPS-112,+.75-113,+6.5-198,+11-41

Jo,

No beating yourself up, heck even Autumn bounces that high with a long stretch of good numbers, and no skipped shot so Scratchie just behaved like a normal diabetic kitty...If you want to feel better go look at Autumn's spreadsheet and look at May 1st.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

Thanks Mel, I'm trying but I can't believe it. We've never ever ever had black before. Never!! Dang it! (I really want to swear!!)
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

You went with safety first, nothing wrong with that. What is it they say? Better high for a while than low for a minute? Something like that. He'll come back down for you, give him time.

But if you really want to see black blocks, check out Lucian's SS :lol: I think he's had more than any cat in history! But he seems to be slowly getting away from them.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

Thanks Deb!

Ok. I don't think he's going to let me test every hour. Struggled with me. Can I do every 2 unless I see a change?
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

Oh Honey,

He hasn't seen those blues in what almost a year? Then you skipped exactly like you should have this morning because he had to be safe while you were at work, and you had to be secure in your own mind that he was safe so you could function while at work. I would have done exactly the same thing...now you combine lower numbers than he has seen in oh forever with as fast as he dropped to those blues last night plus a skipped shot and now a food spike that really isn't an unexpected bounce for him. I know it is frustrating to see that icky black box especially after the elation of those blues last night and today.

But the upside is he got to blue today!!!! dancing_cat And he stayed there for a nice long ride...so if he got there last night he can get there again, and the R should bring him down pretty quickly or at least that is the theory right now, so by the time his onset with the Lantus hits tonight the R should have him down low enough for it to grab hold of and bring he right back to a nice set of numbers again. Will he be back to blue? Don't know, but I'm will to bet that if not tonight he will be when this bounce clears. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

Thanks Mel!!

((((Hugs))))
 
Re: 5/3-Scratchie -PMPS-418,+1-513

Scratchie'smom said:
Ok. I don't think he's going to let me test every hour. Struggled with me. Can I do every 2 unless I see a change?
Get the tests you can without ticking him off. Sometimes you just have to pick your battles if you want to win the war! :mrgreen:
 
Coming down a bit - he is really acting great considering these numbers. Just caught him on the kitchen counters then he jumped up to his favorite place on the fridge. Test was a little over 1 hour but he was causing a little difficult right at 7..
 
Gotta tell you this is interesting to watch. :-D Way out of my league, but definitely a learning experience for me. (And Yes, I am really taking notes...hehe). Glad Jill is here to the guided tour. I'm just going to sit back, take notes and be the official cheerleader. :RAHCAT

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top