5/3 Rex AMPS 62 NS +6 86, +10 129, PMPS 131, +2 152, +3 147, +4 120

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oops. I didn't see your new condo. I just posted this on your old condo:

With a number in the 30s, I'd either skip in the morning or take the reduction. You don't want to mess with numbers that low. Some cats earn reductions quickly when they start coming down the dosing scale the depot doesn't matter. You did a good job handling things. I hope you got some sleep.
 
I'm about to head to bed, but I'll stick around and watch for that +11. I did reach out to several veterans, so hopefully one or more will chime in with Carla on what they suggest you should do.
 
The +11 is 62 so Rex came up only 2 points in 3 hours. He may have dipped in that time.

I’m resting for 45 minutes then get the morning # and go from there.
 
Unless he finds a trampoline, I'm leaning toward skipping, but it is, of course up to you. We like to say "Shoot low to stay low", but Rex has been taking that to extremes. I usually am not a fan of skipping, but in this case, I'm really starting to think it would be a good plan. I don't think I can stick around for the AMPS, so hopefully someone else will come along and weigh in.
 
I am not a fan of skipping (and Im not a veteran), but skipping would give you a break and a chance to start over at the new reduction tonight. Also, since you probably got very little sleep, it'll give you a mental break today so youre not worrying.
 
Hi Mandy, I missed all the excitement last night. I agree when Tricia, unless he bounces up really high this AM, I would skip. You both could use the break and he is just begging for less and less insulin, taking reductions back to back when new dose depot hardly have a chance to fill.
 
With the tests in the 30s last night, I would definitely take the reduction, even if you have reduced recently.
I think skipping this morning is okay, unless he has gone up significantly by AMPS.
 
Hi Mandy, I missed all the excitement last night. I agree when Tricia, unless he bounces up really high this AM, I would skip. You both could use the break and he is just begging for less and less insulin, taking reductions back to back when new dose depot hardly have a chance to fill.
Good to hear from you!

He is only 62 for AMPS. No movement in the last hour. I'm taking the day off because I need my sleep!
 
I agree with the +2. Just because you skipped, he still has the depot of insulin. If his pancreas is sputtering, it could produce some insulin on it's own in response to his breakfast.
 
Not even a bounce so far. You definitely need that reduction. If you can nap, I'd try to take one just in case. I never could.
 
Great decision, Mandy. I'm not surprised you couldn't get up to test at +2. I'm glad you got some rest. I'd get more if you can, as I suspect Rex isn't done partying. You may be in for a bit of a bumpy ride, but it's a good thing - he's coming down the dosing ladder! :D
I am going to have a talk with Rex and tell him to hold any funny thoughts until tomorrow afternoon. I'll be home after work tomorrow and could monitor until Sunday night. But if he's quiet, that's perfectly fine, too!
 
Unbelievable out boy Rex.

upload_2017-5-3_15-36-23.jpeg
Can't wait to see what he pulls out of his bag of tricks next. :D
 
After that wild ride last night I agree with the others, with a drop into the 30's I'd take that reduction.
Steady now Rex, don't give your bean a hard time
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top