5/3 Neko PMPS 469 +2 368 +3 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70120 we had a nice little run of the blues again. Last night at +3 she was 531 so I was expecting something horrible this morning. But she surprised me with the 400 which means we just sneak into pink in the spreadsheet. I guess this means she is clearing her bounces pretty quickly. We'll be upping the dose, yet again, but will make sure she is clear of the bounce by waiting a bit.

This is cycle 7 of this dose. Sometimes I get so discouraged. It's been 2 and a 1/2 months on Lantus and we still haven't made it to the right dose. Granted the first 3 weeks were on the Freestyle meter which slowed things down, but I'd really like to see more green. I've seen kitties come into LL after me who are now OTJ or close to it, and we are still going up. Ketones were negative again today, but it can't be good for Neko to be so high for so long, especially if you add the 2 months on Caninsulin (mostly unregulated) before that.

OK, rant off now. Neko is doing a lot better these days, and I guess that's what really counts. I haven't seen the play P this morning, unless you count chasing after and batting Theo, but the rest of the P's are in place this morning. She is currently lying down by her friend the auto-feeder, waiting for him to spring into action. As usual, CPC achieved and she helped Theo in that department too. He doesn't leave much, but now the plate is shiny clean.

No yard patrol yet, but the weather is gray and drismal again. Hoping the sun will come out soon so the fruit trees will get polinated. It was great water for rowing this morning, flat and almost no boats. Just one tug boat coming to move a tanker that was probably going to fill up at the oil refinery close to where we were rowing. The coach was trying to kill us today, I think some btb will be required.
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400

Glad that Neko is doing better. All the Ps there, other than those annoying numbers, everything's going on smoothly. Cheer up Wendy! As much as we want to wean our kitties off the juice, that's not the most important thing. The important thing is our kitties are happy, great appetite & healthy. DM is a manageable disease & we are managing it.
I am here before you, many others too. Don't give up hope . The thing matters is we've tried our best.
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299

Thanks Helen, I just need reminding every once in a while that patience pants come in different sizes.

And Neko was reading the condo and decided to help out by zipping down to the yellows for +2 - just barely. And I thought today would be a bounce recovery day. We were only in upper blues yesterday so maybe she is feeling more comfortable there now.
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299

The good news is that in the last 6 cycles, you've had 2 that she spent a lot of time in good blue numbers! that's 1/3 of the cycles - sometimes it helps to look at the overall picture like that. it looks like she might be headed for them again today.

i think it looks like she's clearing bounces faster, too.

here's what i'm seeing:
4/30 - amps 337
+2 322 - the bounce loses steam and collapses into
+4 170 - then she spends several hours in great numbers, starting to rise again to the
pmps 405 BOING
she spends the next 3 cycles in a bounce and on

5/2 she begins to repeat 4/30's pattern
amps 457
+3 284 - bounce just lost its steam and collapsed
+5 173 and spends several hours in that range, starting to rise again to
hey - where's your pmps there? you always want that in case she throws you a surprise! but we can guess it's high because then we see a
pmps+3 of 531

But TODAY - it looks like that bounce might be on its way to collapsing already. if it does, that was only 1 really high cycle of a bounce.

it doesn't look like a bounce today to me, so i'd increase tonight by .25u. you've had 7 cycles at this dose and no green, lowest being in the 100's. if you wanted to wait 3 more cycles to a total of 10 you could, but i'd be inclined to march on. green is the goal! Here's the part of the protocol i'm looking at:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299 +3 452

Julie, I've updated the online SS. I keep a copy on my desktop and missed putting in last night's PMPS 429 to the online copy. And as you may notice, Neko was reading what you wrote and decided she was coming down too fast this morning. Sigh! No increase tonight. I will tomorrow if it seems like she is getting over this bounce tonight.

Thinking of Roni's loss a year ago. It was also a year the end of April since my Buster went GA. Here's a pic of him and Neko.
 

Attachments

  • busterneko.jpg
    busterneko.jpg
    113.5 KB · Views: 250
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299 +3 452 !!

Well, well, isn't Julie our angel? I just love her. She sees things that we, as worried mumbeans never see! Neko is trying hard to get better & you must help him by doing what you're doing & think positive!
The pic of Buster & Neko is so sweet. Is Neko the only cat in the family now?
Good luck with the dose crease!
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299 +3 452 !!

+4 452, still stuck there. Tested first at 452 on the Relion, since it was exactly the same number I retested on the Contour and got 416. Time to slow down the testing for the day and do other things.

Helen, Neko now has another brother called Theo. When I got Buster from the shelter I had a hard time choosing between him and Theo, but I figured as a 12 year old arthritic semi feral, Buster needed a home more. 2.5 years later, Theo was still at the shelter so I got him next. Both cats went from what the shelter called semi-feral to lap lovers.
 
Re: 5/3 Neko AMPS 400 +2 299 +3 452 !!

So that is a +4 instead of +3 in your topic line?
It's so generous of you to adopt a "semi-feral" . Most people will not want to adopt a matured cat esp one with a medical history. Theo is so lucky! He waited for you 2.5 yrs! Unbelievable! In the SPCA shelter in HK, cats & dogs will not be given so much time at the shelter. There are too many abandoned animals everyday. :sad:
 
Re: 5/3 Neko PMPS 469

PMPS 469, yucky red! This morning I was worried I did a partial fur shot because I thought I felt some liquid on my hand after the shot. The +2 drop had me thinking it was fine. I didn't test after the matching pair of 452's at +3 and +4 and the PMPS was not unexpected given them. We'll wait to see what tonight and tomorrow AM brings us to see if there is an occasion for the dose increase.

Neko and Theo and I spend a productive couple of hours napping this afternoon. Today Theo discovered sleeping under the covers was a fun thing to do. I woke up with him dreaming nestled against my chest under the cover and Neko at my feet. As Theo spent 6 years mostly at the shelter (a couple of short term failed adoptions where he lived under beds), he didn't really know how to behave in a house. It's fun watching him learn all the new things, such as zooming up stairs, cuddling under covers, playing bed mice with feet, watching TV on our laps. He comes running when the TV comes on. Although he is 3 years younger, I am hoping Neko will get some of his energy when she gets more regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top