5/3 Morlei AMPS 261 1st Dental Tomorrow-Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70103

What a night we had last night!
Ok, this morning I got up a bit earlier to see if there was any vomit...none. Plates I had left out overnight were empty so I'm pretty sure she ate some.
She meowed at me for food and stepped on my toes with her little sharp back claws...this is a normal occurrence so that's good.
Gave her a 1/2 can of FF Beef and Chicken and she ate all of it...went over to the rebel Skittles who did not want to eat with the boys in the other room and started eating off his plate. Gave her another 1/4 can of FF Beef and Chicken (3/4 can is her normal meal amount) mixed with a little bit of the leftover FF Classic Chicken Skittles didn't eat.
Gave her a 1/4 tablet of Pepcid in a piece of deli meat, she almost bit my hand off to get at it haha.

Ok, now that she seems to be doing fine (I've got another hour or so to watch her and see if she vomits)...what do we think about the dental? If she eats her snack when I get home and her meal tonight I'm inclined to say go ahead with it and I think the vet will agree, she said as long as she doesn't vomit within the 24 hours before the dental we'll be ok (we're now in the 24 hours before).

This is how it was the last time, lasted about 2 1/2 days and she was totally fine afterwards. No matter what we'll be getting the bloodwork done for the spec fPL tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/3 Morlei AMPS 261

i think if she's normal today, i wouldn't see any reason not to go ahead with the dental tomorrow. if she vomits later today, stops eating, or in some other way acts sick, i also wouldn't hesitate to cancel the dental.

we're sending her "eat up & feel good" wishes today!
 
Re: 5/3 Morlei AMPS 261

julie & punkin said:
i think if she's normal today, i wouldn't see any reason not to go ahead with the dental tomorrow. if she vomits later today, stops eating, or in some other way acts sick, i also wouldn't hesitate to cancel the dental.

we're sending her "eat up & feel good" wishes today!

That's exactly what I'm going to do. :smile:
I'm off to work now, I'll post an update when I get home later today.
 
Re: 5/3 Morlei AMPS 261

The vet's office just called to confirm her dental appointment for tomorrow and told me...because Morlei is diabetic you can continue her food/water/insulin...I told her uh the vet said no food after 10 pm and to give her a 1/2 dose the morning of...the receptionist goes oh ok if that's what the vet told you!
So now I'm a little confused...there is no way I'm going to give Morlei food the morning of, you don't let a person eat before anesthesia!!! And with the vomiting issues she's had this week I'm not even going to chance it. But will she be ok without food from 10 pm tonight to whenever I pick her up Friday (probably in the early afternoon)?
Drop-off is 8:30am but she'll have to wait an extra 1/2 hr or so for the EKG results to come back from the cardiologist...so I'm hoping they'll do the procedure around 9:30/10, that'll take 30 minutes or so, then to recovery for 3 hours...so about 2 pm is when I'm expecting to pick her up. That's 16 hours without food...
I guess as long as they check her glucose a few times to make sure she's not going too low it should be ok. The vet said they don't feed the pets during recovery because owners feed their pets so many different things and she doesn't want the risk of tummy troubles or other issues. Maybe I can leave a can or two of FF with them just in case.
 
Hi Becky,

That's an awful long time for a diabetic. Can't you give her another meal later than 10 pm? 12 hours before anesthesia is what they ask for but in reality a very light meal up to 6 hours before is usually allowed for diabetics. I would ask the dr. again and also give them my food and ask them to feed her.

Melanie & Racci
 
I called the vet's office. My dr isn't in today but the girl who answered the phone talked to the dr that is there and they said to follow our dr's instructions. She said she is going to call our dr to confirm though. I told her I'm worried about Morlei going almost 16 hours without food and she said she completely understands and will call me back as soon as she hears from our dr. I think they're open until 8 tonight so I'll make sure to call them back before then if I don't get a response.
 
Some of the procedures re. food have changed -- for humans, too. When Gabby had her last dental, she was not to have food after 6:00 AM. You may be dropping Morlei off at 8:30, but chances are the procedure won't be until sometime later. If you don't feed from midnight tonight, I don't know that I'd be confident about giving insulin. Remember, anesthesia can lower BG. Most vets will ask that you reduce the dose or skip the shot.

You can bring a can of food with you to the vet's office. My vet will give some food depending on when the procedure ends and when I can get there. I'd bring the food with you since if you leave it up to the vet, Morlei will either get kibble or something that's HC. When you get Morlei home, do NOT give a big meal. Because anesthesia also slows the GI track, if you give a usual meal, you could run into scarf-and-barf. Instead, give a teaspoon or two at a time and repeat over a few hours.
 
i gave punkin his usual food the night before - 4.5 oz fancy feast between shot at 7pm and 10pm. i gave him an extra 1.5 oz of ff at 10pm to try to help him through the next day. the next morning i gave him 1 tsp of watered down food at 7am with 1/2 insulin as usual. i don't think they fed him, but when i got him home about 2pm (+7) i gave him another tsp of watered down food and repeated that every half hour or so for maybe 3 hrs. that was only yesterday, but who can remember?! :lol:

he was 294 at pmps the night before and got regular insulin dose. yesterday morning he was 247 and got the half dose. when i got him home at +7 he was 277, and then pmps was 298.

so he ran high the entire time, but he did ok. he basically went 16 hrs after eating with just the 1 tsp of food. the vet told me water should be available the entire time.

i would also take morlei's own food along and ask them to give her a bite when they think she's safe to eat after the anesthesia.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Some of the procedures re. food have changed -- for humans, too. When Gabby had her last dental, she was not to have food after 6:00 AM. You may be dropping Morlei off at 8:30, but chances are the procedure won't be until sometime later. If you don't feed from midnight tonight, I don't know that I'd be confident about giving insulin. Remember, anesthesia can lower BG. Most vets will ask that you reduce the dose or skip the shot.

You can bring a can of food with you to the vet's office. My vet will give some food depending on when the procedure ends and when I can get there. I'd bring the food with you since if you leave it up to the vet, Morlei will either get kibble or something that's HC. When you get Morlei home, do NOT give a big meal. Because anesthesia also slows the GI track, if you give a usual meal, you could run into scarf-and-barf. Instead, give a teaspoon or two at a time and repeat over a few hours.

Thanks Sienne, I didn't even think about what to do with food once we get home. Still waiting on the call from the vet.

julie & punkin said:
i gave punkin his usual food the night before - 4.5 oz fancy feast between shot at 7pm and 10pm. i gave him an extra 1.5 oz of ff at 10pm to try to help him through the next day. the next morning i gave him 1 tsp of watered down food at 7am with 1/2 insulin as usual. i don't think they fed him, but when i got him home about 2pm (+7) i gave him another tsp of watered down food and repeated that every half hour or so for maybe 3 hrs. that was only yesterday, but who can remember?! :lol:

he was 294 at pmps the night before and got regular insulin dose. yesterday morning he was 247 and got the half dose. when i got him home at +7 he was 277, and then pmps was 298.

so he ran high the entire time, but he did ok. he basically went 16 hrs after eating with just the 1 tsp of food. the vet told me water should be available the entire time.

i would also take morlei's own food along and ask them to give her a bite when they think she's safe to eat after the anesthesia.

I'm hoping she's completely back to normal when I get home tonight. If so, I'll give her a little more food at snack time and at 10 pm with a full dose. Around midnight I'll give her a small meal, perhaps a soupy 1/4 can of FF to help keep her hydrated (she rarely drinks out of the water bowl now). If they can give her some food during recovery I'm hoping it'll only be about 12 hours without food. My vet had said they try to do the dentals on pets like Morlei first because of their other issues, I'm hoping this is true but am not counting on it. Morlei has been running high the past couple days because of the vomiting episode and the fact that I let her eat the FF classic chicken so she'll probably run high tomorrow too...which I'm totally fine with because then I can hope (pray) she'll be somewhat protected if the anesthesia drops her numbers.
I'm going to be a wreck tomorrow nailbite_smile

ETA: The vet had said if she's over 300 in the morning to give her a 1/2 dose, under 200 no insulin, if she's in the gray area between then to call and ask.
 
knowing that she needs it, you'll be so happy by tomorrow night when it's done!

make sure you pull out the NO METACAM and NO CONVENIA SHOTS! instructions when you get there. metacam can cause kidney failure - and our diabetic kitters don't need stress on their kidneys. in extreme cases, it can kill. carolyn/latte has a link in her sig to http://www.metacamkills.com because latte went through that nightmare. the convenia isn't especially awful except that it lasts 2 weeks once injected, so if a cat is allergic to it, there it sits for 2 weeks of trying to counteract it - expensive and risky if there is a problem.

also, remember to ask for a smaller tube for her throat, just in case she has acro causing any excess tissue in there.

ask what drugs they plan to give her - good ABs for dental issues include clavamox and clindamycin. consider if you want pills or liquids. good pain killer is bupe/buprinex.

have you found the ff chicken classic increases her bgs? that's supposed to be 4-5% i believe, and it's the mainstay of punkin's diet. i haven't noticed any increases from it.
 
Ok got a call back from the vet's office...and they really didn't answer my question.
The receptionist said they got a hold of the vet and she said feed as normal tonight (which in the office she said give 10pm meal, nothing after, so I'm assuming that's probably what she still means) and give full dose, don't feed tomorrow morning and they'll do the insulin at the office when we bring her in.

Ugh, maybe the girl thought I was confused about the insulin? I just went ok, great, thanks for calling me back, bye! No use in pushing the issue because the vet isn't there for me to talk to.

I'm going to just go with my plan in the previous post.
 
julie & punkin said:
knowing that she needs it, you'll be so happy by tomorrow night when it's done!

make sure you pull out the NO METACAM and NO CONVENIA SHOTS! instructions when you get there. metacam can cause kidney failure - and our diabetic kitters don't need stress on their kidneys. in extreme cases, it can kill. carolyn/latte has a link in her sig to http://www.metacamkills.com because latte went through that nightmare. the convenia isn't especially awful except that it lasts 2 weeks once injected, so if a cat is allergic to it, there it sits for 2 weeks of trying to counteract it - expensive and risky if there is a problem.

also, remember to ask for a smaller tube for her throat, just in case she has acro causing any excess tissue in there.

ask what drugs they plan to give her - good ABs for dental issues include clavamox and clindamycin. consider if you want pills or liquids. good pain killer is bupe/buprinex.

have you found the ff chicken classic increases her bgs? that's supposed to be 4-5% i believe, and it's the mainstay of punkin's diet. i haven't noticed any increases from it.

**Writing down everything you just posted**
When I switched her to FF chopped grill and beef/chicken her +2 wasn't as high, it'd only be 30 points higher rather than about 60 points after the classic chicken.
 
+8 128 No vomit, she was meowing for food and ran up the stairs for it.
Eating a 1/2 can of FF tender beef & chicken now, in about a 1/2 hr I'm going to give her a 1/4 can more if she wants it.
 
Good luck tomorrow with Morlei. Sounds like she has her appetite back.

I'm bookmarking this topic as it has all sorts of good info on dentals.
 
Wow, +11.5 143....guess she read what I posted and decided to go low instead of high...gave her 1/2 can of FF now, I'll give her another 1/2 can at midnight. I'm wondering if I should give her full dose tonight...I'll figure it out in the next 15 minutes or so.
 
Good luck with the dental tomorrow--Morlei will be fine..Ask for pain meds if she needs any extractions..many peeps here use buprenex, given with a dropper, inside the cheek..It works well & only given in tiny doses..
Also get a test when she gets home...Sending Easy Dental vines.
 
Roni and Moonie said:
Good luck with the dental tomorrow--Morlei will be fine..Ask for pain meds if she needs any extractions..many peeps here use buprenex, given with a dropper, inside the cheek..It works well & only given in tiny doses..
Also get a test when she gets home...Sending Easy Dental vines.

Thanks, the vet said two of her teeth look a little questionable but obviously they won't know until they get in there.
She'll be getting a test as soon as I can get my hands on her little ear lol.

+11.75 134
+12 123

Technically I think we may be closer to +13 because I gave her shot a little earlier this morning to account for what will be an early dose tomorrow...is she trying to freak me out?! These numbers are awesome...just not tonight haha. I'm going to get one more test and if she's still in that range I'll give her a token dose of maybe like 2 units? If she's this low tomorrow morning then definitely no insulin!!
 
They always seem to be low when you least want them to be, even though ordinarily you would love it. :lol:

Good luck tomorrow. I hope the vet only finds minor problems with those two teeth and everything else is fine. I know how scary any procedure is but she's going to feel so good once it's all done and she's healed.

Will be sending good health thoughts your way.

Melanie & Racci
 
she's messing with you!

i think i'd give the full dose, because she's getting 1/2 dose at the vet's, but you need to do what you feel ok with. i'd probably also set an alarm (sorry) and check her early mid-cycle to see where she's going.

hugs! i know you're worried. turns out i'm going to be gone to work tomorrow, but i'll check when i get home first thing to see how she's doing. be thinking about you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top