5/3 Merlin AMPS 381, PMPS 362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
5/3
AMPS 381; 1U

Good morning. I have a question: How much food do they need to eat in order to give them their insulin? Is about tablespoon enough?
 
Re: 5/3 Merlin AMPS 381

He sounds like he is really off his food, Cindi. It could be the antibiotic. Did you try the Pepcid that BJ suggested? Sometimes that helps.

Personally, I like to see him eat a little more, but he also needs the insulin. Maybe stall awhile and offer some different things. You could warm the food till nice and stinky. Or if there is a special treat he loves, sprinkle that on top. Sometimes parmesan cheese or the juice from canned tuna tempts them.
 
Re: 5/3 Merlin AMPS 381

5/3
AMPs - 381; 1U
PMPS - 362; 1U

Thanks for the suggestions. I have tuna and I got pepcid too. Today was a much better day. I kept him eating every two hours and that really helps. He even wanted to come outside with me which is a first. He only was out there for about 20 minutes but he was able to explore around the bushes and lay down and then that was enough.

I have been doing some sneak BG tests midday and it appears that he has been really flat. He isn't going low at all and seems to go no lower than the 200's. So I am wondering how the curve will go tomorrow and if it is flat again, then maybe the Dr. will want me to increase his dose and keep it the same like I have in the past week. We shall see. Will keep you posted.
 
If he is staying above 300 all day, I think I might increase by 0.5 units when I would be home to monitor him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top