5/3 Lovey

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

That was weird. I posted a reply but don't see it. Anyhow I'll try again. Sorry Lovey isn't feeling well. I have used Pet Pectillin from Petco. It didn't work for Tiffany but only because of what turned out to be the cause of her diarrhea. Some people swear by boiling rice in water and feeding the water to their pets but I haven't tried that one. I hope it's a one time thing. Max has done that in the past and sometimes a day or two. I bought flagyl and then it went away both times before I used it.
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

There could be a lot of reasons for diarrhea. Has anything changed in the way of food?

Fortiflora is a probiotic, there are others you can get too. Live culture is best, you would find it in the refrigerator. Check at a health food store. Jarrow makes one called Pet Dophillus.
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

Food is the same. I was sick. Can cats catch a bug from a human? Do you think baby food and chicken would be better for her to eat until she has more solid poo? Or should she cat the regular food in small amounts. It will be tricky with the insulin. I will reduce the dose if necessary
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

When Furball has had soft poo, I've mixed pumpkin in with her food for a couple of days or until her poo gets firmer. I mix 1 teaspoon of pumpkin at each meal. Some cats won't eat pumpkin though. I hope you can find something to help Lovey's poo get firmer. I don't think cats can catch anything from humans. I've never heard of that.
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

I would try FortiFlora, which you should be able to buy in the vets office.
I have used Flagyl for J.D. and it worked pretty fast but would need a prescription I think.
If you haven't changed Lovey's food, I don't think I would change it now, as that may cause more diarrhea.
Make sure she is getting plenty of water so she doesn't get dehydrated.
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

lovey11 said:
Can I used canned pumpkin?
Canned pumpkin is fine. You want plain pumkin, no spices or sugars added. I had to look in the organic food section to find it.
 
Re: 5/3 Lovey AMPS 363 =4.5 203 Not eating as well, diarrhea

Thanks Dyana and Carla for the help. I appreciate the advice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top