5/3 Harry - PMPS 150, +2=74, +3=50, +4=107, +5=90, +5.5=99, +6.5=126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley & Harry

Member Since 2016
So these are fun numbers! After hesitantly giving Harry his 2u for his PM shot, now he's dropped down nice and low just two hours later. Keeping a close eye on him, might give him a few treats if he gets much lower (since I'm not used to low numbers yet and this is the lowest I've observed!). Will probably check him every 30 minutes or so as long as he's acting normal.
 
Giving him some dry glycobalance food that he used to eat, it's around 25% carbs. He's devouring it like nobody's business! Thanks for the help, these are scary numbers for me.
 
No worries - you caught it timely!:D
But:
do NOT overfeed him. A little at a time.
The lowering (or dropping) will go on until the nadir and you will need him to have appetite for all of that time period.
I have never seen what a 25% carbs snack does. May be it'll slow down things for good? Let's see what what it does.
Can you please post his +3? I don't think any earlier pokes needed as yet.
 
Oops, haven't noticed it was dry..
Do you have wet MC food?
Give him 1.5 - 2 tsp. In addition to the dry.
The dry takes longer to digest/absorb and the insulin might kick in at +3.
The wet will be absorbed in 30 min or so and you'll have a response.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Just got his +3 and he's at 50, after giving him 2tsp of the snack. We also have some wet friskies that I believe are higher carb and I'm sure he'll gobble those up too. Should I maybe add a 911 tag on the title? It's not to that point yet, but I'm freaking out internally right now heh. Probably gonna check every 15 minutes. What should I do if he goes lower?

Safe to say, he's probably earned a reduction!
 
Just got his +3 and he's at 50, after giving him 2tsp of the snack. We also have some wet friskies that I believe are higher carb and I'm sure he'll gobble those up too. Should I maybe add a 911 tag on the title? It's not to that point yet, but I'm freaking out internally right now heh. Probably gonna check every 15 minutes. What should I do if he goes lower?

Safe to say, he's probably earned a reduction!
Some wet with a 1/4 tsp Karo mixed in
 
Okay, 2tsp of dry food, 2tsp of wet food with 1/4tsp karo are down, and he's still licking his empty plate. He hasn't shown any symptoms or anything. I'll post with his next numbers. Thank you again for your help!
 
I just looked at Harry's SS.
Ahm..He did not earned the reduction ..yet... It's below the 50 if you follow the TR. And the 62 test isn't in. the SS...
 
I'll post sooner if I notice any hypo symptoms
The +4 is sbout 30 min?
Karo and the wet you gave - what was the %?btw - will be absorbing still. Karo wears off faster but the wet may not so quick, and than there was that dry that should come on board too. Watch him but I doubt any hypo now. ECID, of course.
If you record what you gave at what BG and how fast Harry responded to it you 'll have great tool for the future.
You may need it especially if are fond of reductions..:)
 
I just looked at Harry's SS.
Ahm..He did not earned the reduction ..yet... It's below the 50 if you follow the TR. And the 62 test isn't in. the SS...

Alright, I just assumed he would have since he hit 50 at just +3 hours and we had to prevent him from going lower. He got his shot right on the hour, so it'll be in about 20 minutes.

Checking Dr Pierson's chart, it looks like it's only 14% (Friskies chicken and salmon in gravy).

Thanks again for the support. I'm still fairly new to numbers under 200, so under 75 is not so fun!
 
it looks like it's only 14% (Friskies chicken and salmon in gravy)
It's perfect for the situation! Squeeze some gravy out of that can - only th liquids, no pate meat, and set aside. try to get out about 2- 3 Table spoons of gravy, cover tightly so Harry doesn't smell it!
under 75 is not so fun!
It's great number! Highly sought after. But it happened to fast and now the goal is to keep Harry to float around it - not too low and not high - by serving the gravy alone and after that - maybe some more solid food.
Testing by 30 min will be needed depending on the +4 test.
 
Great!
Hold on on the food for now, please note the time he ate last. I'd test in 45 min. And post.

If he lowers too fast and too low - give a little wet food. If too low - a tsp of gravy only, and retest in 20 min, but I doubt it will be needed.

Considering the dry snack of 25% he ate he might get a bit higher but ECID. Test.

Any chance you can update the SS and the Title of your post on the LL forum? The titles are most informative for the ppl who just got online.
:bighug:
See you later.
 
Thank you again. Just updated the sheet and title, thanks for the suggestion. Will keep checking him until probably +7ish as long as he starts going up around then.
 
Nice cycle tonight. Tanya is correct that he didn't technically earn a reduction if you are following TR. We wait until we see an under 50 number. Also, next time try something a little lower carb when you see him hit the greens. You want him to surf or hang out in greens for a while. Those are all pancreas healing numbers. Try to reserve the really higher carb food for when he goes below 50.

If you want to follow TR, you have to change a couple of things. First, always,and I mean every day, get an AMPS test. Without a preshot test you are shooting blind. What if it Harry had been too low to shoot this morning? Second, ditch the dry. There are high carb wet foods or you can add a drop of honey or syrup to low carb food to made it higher carb.
 
Nice cycle tonight. Tanya is correct that he didn't technically earn a reduction if you are following TR. We wait until we see an under 50 number.

My only worry with that is that if I hadn't given him food to boost him back up, then he probably would have dropped under 50, since he was right on it already. But I'm still learning TR protocol, I just worry cause he's my baby (and I'm still stressing out about numbers under 100 just since they're new). You're more experienced with this than I am, though.

First, always,and I mean every day, get an AMPS test. Without a preshot test you are shooting blind. What if it Harry had been too low to shoot this morning? Second, ditch the dry. There are high carb wet foods or you can add a drop of honey or syrup to low carb food to made it higher carb.

Working on the AMPS. I've been off and on meds that are supposed to help me with my sleeping issues, but I'll work on making sure I get up. Dry food has just been around since we never did anything with it but I'll keep that in mind, since it's not his main diet and it's only used as treats. We have several cans of friskies, tuna, and karo syrup as needed, so I'll favour those.

Checking him again in about 20 minutes.
 
Both of you are very welcome!
Good number - Harry surfs!
No food, of course, it might still be that 25% dry snack working.
You need to get two hour worth of testing. Next one I think is at +6.5.
Good job updating the SS!:cool:
 
Assuming his numbers are going up by +7, do you think I'm good to go to bed by then? It'll be 2am here at that point, gotta sleep eventually! (or just stay up until his AMPS :P)
 
+6.5=126. Happy numbers for sleepy moms.

What should I do tomorrow? I'm wary of doing 2u again if he's low again (like he was for his PMPS) but I'm not quite an expert on this stuff yet.
 
Yes, you are off duty -well done both of you !:cool:

The dose - it seems to working well , he seen the good Greens but I cannot advice on that. But I do understand your hesitation.
If you able to monitor, steer like tonight, then keep it. He needs to be in those good green numbers, and he did very well today!

He may also bounce - get very high numbers after being so low, unusual low for him. Don't be discouraged. It is common. No need to change the dose, but again - I should not give dosage suggestions. The Greens he's been in to - it's what heals his pancreas; the more he is there the beter for him. I know the panic and fear you might have felt tonight. But it's turned out well, right? :D

Do open new thread for the 5/5 and ask dosage suggestions; link the new thread to this one.
If you open a new one now before going to bed early risers from the East Coast can advice you and you'll hear something before his AMPS.
It might be good idea to take his +11.

Give Harry a little snack reward for me - he endured so much poking!

Sending you both resting vines
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The dry takes longer to digest/absorb and the insulin might kick in at +3.
Actually, this is a myth that has been perpetuated around the Board. One of our moderators quoted a study to me that shows dry does affect the BG as quickly as wet food, BUT it takes longer to get out of the system.

Ashley, I do not think you are clueless. You are just new to this! We were all new once, and it is very, very overwhelming. Especially when your precious baby hits a low number. First rule: remember to breathe!!

I just want to reinforce that you NEED to get a test before every shot. I know early mornings are hard (I am NOT a morning person), but if you are awake enough to shoot, you are awake enough to test. Tanya's analogy about shooting blind is a good one. Cats are so unpredictable, and cats with FD are more so - you can never predict for sure what they will do, so how do you know it is safe to give insulin if you do not test? I don't mean to scare you, but we have seen instances here of people that shot blind and ended up rushing their kitty to the ER with a symptomatic hypo. Some of those incidents did not end happily. Because I've seen it happen, I cannot stress the importance enough.

What should I do tomorrow? I'm wary of doing 2u again if he's low again
Chances are pretty good he will not be low. FYI, 150 is not low - it's a perfectly shootable number. I get that, to you it's scary, but trust me, it's what you want! In a few weeks, you'll think it's too high! Honestly! You need to remember that you have the tools to steer him and keep him safe. You want him to achieve those nice blue and green numbers, because that's where the pancreas can heal. The more time he spends in those numbers, the more time his pancreas has to relax and get better.
Low numbers are only scary if you don't have the tools to manage them. We give you those tools.

Harry is doing well at this dose, but I suspect it won't be long before he tells you he needs a reducie. Just keep doing what you're doing (with the AM tests added in), and it will all be good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top