5/3 DAVIDSON PMPS - 105, fur shot, +2-95, +4-129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-216-2-179-5-100-7-9-dosing-question.194997/

Morning...........I had a question yesterday regarding Davidson's dosing as this is the first time I've gone 10 cycles and NOT either reduced or increased his dose................

So, Cycle 11 has started (gave him 3.5u) and I am wondering if I should have increased, decreased or held the dose - and if I hold it (currently did for amps) how many cycles do I do this for?????

Davidson's had lots of greens over the past several days, but now bouncing a bit more to the blue and pulled a yellow at yesterdays pmps

** I leave in a week for 17 days, and thinking that since I'm going to decrease his dose for the pet sitter - it is better to just hold the current dose?

I still would like some opinions/suggestions for my learning experience

Thanks,
Shawna
 
I think I would hold the dose unless he earns a reduction before you leave. This way he can spend more time in good numbers before you have to reduce his dose for your trip.
 
Having the same dose for a length of time isn’t at all a bad thing. He would earn a reduction if 3 times under 50 (or once under 40) or if he stayed in greens for an entire week. As far as increases go, you may have a tiny bit of room to up the dose, but I wouldn’t do so by .25 increment. Do you have calipers to measure smaller doses? Like maybe try 3.6 and see what that does to change the preshots.

Additionally, you can look at food and see if there is something there you can tweak. I find the most reliable way to get consistent results is to feed exact amounts at exact times. Of course that isn’t always possible, but you at least take food out of the equation for fluctuations that way. Like yesterday day cycle and that yellow, was anything different about yesterday? Did he eat a different food, food amount, eat at a different time than usual? Sometimes there are real correlations there. Also the 55 could have caused a tiny bounce, or the number the previous hour may have been a tad lower. He hasn’t seen many 50s yet, so it wouldn’t be entirely unexpected.
 
Well, everything was going smoothly with the Pet Sitter until shot time, and unfortunately she got a bit mixed up with her arms and which side to shoot Davidson on............total fur shot, nothing went in a completely wet but still you never know so it will be interesting to see how high he goes tonight. hey, I might even get some sleep, LOL.

It's easier for her to shoot Davidson while he's eating so that she can stand on top of him. I've never had one so tonight will see just how Davidson is without insulin.

Tomorrow I will be increasing him .25 so that should eliminate the blues........I'll be keeping him at 3.75 for 4 full days and then automatically reducing him by .25 so that he has a few days to settle into the lower dose before I leave.

Hope you all had a great day!

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top