5/3 Cobb PMPS 74 +1 142 +2 168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

What a nice night for Cobb!! He decided to stick his toes in the lagoon. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I told him that those are nice, normal numbers so there's no need to panic. Keep Calm and Carry On, Mr. Liver! :lol:

Answers/clarifications from yesterday's condo:

Don't think I was suggesting inducing a hypo. That's what I was worried about!! No. No. No. So irresponsible. I was just wondering if one should see where the numbers go until they hit 50 with an insulin resistant cat. I know if acro is in the mix that can screw you because the pancreas can kick in and take the numbers lower. It was just a fleeting thought after reading several people's observations.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I'm confused about the dates. how did you know he was diabetic since 04/2012 if he was not diagnosed?
Ok. So here's what happened. In April of 2012, we took Cobb to the vet. Because he is a fat cat they checked his BG. He came back "borderline" diabetic, per the vet. I guess his BG wasn't high enough. (We now know different.) The vet said a diet change would be good enough and we didn't need insulin. She gave us a list of low-carb food including a dry food option and sent us on our way. However, we had had a few issues with this vet, including a lost appointment and she came in to take out stitches on Toby and when we told her this was Cobb and he didn't have stitches, she continued to look for them anyway. So we didn't really trust her judgment. We did switch his food until he stopped eating it. That's when we found the other vet who said "he's diabetic, start insulin." Looking back there was no question he was diabetic, given his water consumption and his litter box usage. How we avoided a DKA episode I will never know, but always be thankful for.

Matt usually leaves for work at +8.5 and if I know Cobb is on the move, I ask him to grab a test. Matty has been waking up at 5:30a, which is +10.5 so when he's up that early I'll start grabbing a test then as well.

More later...anxious to see where today's cycle goes.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: WOOT!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

No slumber woot today! Wide awake and dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

cat_pet_icon Good kitty!
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70

welcome back mr green cobb! We've missed your purty self - and mr greenie is SO happy to see you!!!! :mrgreen:

green+cat+2.JPG
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

At +8.5 Cobb is at 61. We are around to monitor. Don't intervene unless he drops further, yes?
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

WOOT!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Normally we don't intervene with carbs unless he goes below 50, or if for some reason you have to abort the cycle.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

or unless you want to keep him from getting a reduction so you can keep giving him this dose. with R in the mix i'm not sure i'd reduce if he went below 50 today anyway, but i'll just throw that out there for your consideration.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

Don't want to abort the cycle. Agree on the reduction as well. Plus isn't a cat who has been diabetic longer than a year have to dip 3 times? It's been over a year for Cobb.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

the modifications for a cat that's been diabetic longer are either under 40 once, or under 50 three times. so yes, you're right. i wasn't thinking about that part.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +3 183 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61

I don't usually follow the 3 under 50 or one under 40 rule, even though Neko has been diabetic longer than 2 years. I definitely reduce under 40, but sometimes for one or two under 50, depending on what the cycles look like. With the IAA/acro thing in there, sometimes I'm just being careful. But over time, you'll get an idea of when he's saying he needs less insulin.

Another thought to throw out there, is that daytime is a good time to experiment with different %carb foods and see how Cobb reacts to them. Maybe not this cycle cause it's good to get a baseline, but maybe next time. If he's acro, there some chance he has a working pancreas which food would stimulate. With Neko I'm OK with low LC and HC, but haven't had a good daytime cycle to experiment with MC yet. Higher LC was a bust and sent her lower instead of higher. :roll:
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61 +10.75 39(rt 4

I saw your note on FB. I'd repeat the process. Are you OK with being off schedule if you need to stall?
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61 +10.75 39(rt 4

I'm back on!

+11: 46, Fed teaspoon HC
+11.5: 61, did not feed at all

I can stall tonight. No problems with that.

Question... how much to shoot? At what number? I've shot in the 90s before. Do I shoot 1/2 a dose and then reduce tomorrow?

I promise you... my question yesterday and today's events are completely coincidental!!
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61 +10.75 39(rt 4

I'm back on!

+11: 46, Fed teaspoon HC
+11.5: 61, did not feed at all

I can stall tonight. No problems with that.

Question... how much to shoot? At what number? I've shot in the 90s before. Do I shoot 1/2 a dose and then reduce tomorrow?

I promise you... my question yesterday and today's events are completely coincidental!!
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61 +10.75 39(rt 4

Since it's your first time shooting after a reduction, and he got to the 30's, I might try the half shot tonight. Next time, once you have a better idea of how he responds, you could go to the new reduced dose. Let's see where he is in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +5.25 100 +7 70 +8.5 61 +10.75 39(rt 4

That's what I was thinking Wendy. The board is spotty for me so I mentioned that on FB.

At +11, he came up to 46. At +11:30, he was at 61.

We're about 5 minutes from our regular shot time. I'll test him momentarily.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61

In Neko, HC lasts about two hours so it'll be a while until you get a "true" reading for Cobb. Unless he zooms a lot higher in the next little while, I'd wait a bit yet before shooting. It's been almost an hour since food right?
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61 +12 6

He is at 65 @ +12. I'm not sure I'm comfortable shooting that low just yet. It's probably ok if I'm shooting 1/2 a dose though.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61

Wendy&Neko said:
In Neko, HC lasts about two hours so it'll be a while until you get a "true" reading for Cobb. Unless he zooms a lot higher in the next little while, I'd wait a bit yet before shooting. It's been almost an hour since food right?
We posted at the same time, sorry!

Yes, he last had food an hour ago. I did not give him anything when he hit 61.

Matt is wary of shooting this low too.

So, another hour will be 2 hours since food was last given. You think it'll be good then? I can theoretically stall as needed, within reason, of course. Since I'm home I can move it back whenever.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61 +12 6

I'd continue stalling without feeding, this number could be influenced by the HC. Sorry Cobb! Keep testing every half hour. If he zooms you could shoot but he's sort of surfing. Neko will do that and then drop at the end of two hours, not sure if Cobb will do the same. Learning time.

BTW - great job handling the numbers Suzanne - you seem pretty calm. :-D
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb AMPS 170 +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61 +12 6

Thanks! What good will me freaking out do? I can only control what I can control. (See what I've learned since having a baby? :lol:)

I'll test in 5 minutes, and then Matt will test 30 minutes after that as I'll be putting Matty to bed. He has said he will wait further instructions. :lol: If Cobb drops at that 2 hour mark, do I continue to stall? How often should I test overnight?

I'm guessing the reduced dose will result in much higher numbers in the morning. Do I let him sort that out without R?
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61 +12 65 +12.5 6

I have to head out in a bit, but will try to keep tabs on you with my phone - board willing. :roll:

I think as soon as Cobb rises you are good to shoot, and yes, I'd use your best friend R to take care of things. There's some change he might bounce anyway. :lol:

I would get a +1 and +2. My experience is that you may see impact for the first half cycle, but let the numbers guide you for how much you test after his typical onset.

If he drops at the two hour mark, that'd be pretty low to shoot. Options are a skip or you could continue stalling until you feel comfortable shooting.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb +10.75 39(rt 40) +11 46 +11.5 61 +12 65 +12.5 6

Thanks Wendy. He's risen to 74 so I'm going to have Matt shoot 12uL and reduce by 1 unit tomorrow morning. We'll get a +1 and +2.

Thank you for your help!!!
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb PMPS 74 +1 142

great job handling things today, suzanne. i love your philosophy! :-D the things we learn in Life University . . .

looks like Cobb is coming up. are you taking bets on whether or not he'll bounce? ;-)

i'm around the rest of the evening and will keep checking, just in case he decides to head south. :shock:
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb PMPS 74 +1 142

I AM taking bets! Do you want to get in on that action? Donaleen and I are both expecting it. I figure it will be a combination of a bounce, plus not enough insulin - which I wonder... wouldn't that counteract itself maybe? Who knows... I'm expecting 400s when I wake up tomorrow. We're about to be at +2 here in a few minutes, so that will give me some indication of where we are heading.

Granted, I figured he would bounce after last night's dip in the lagoon and he SHOCKED me this morning. I can't tell you how many strips I went through after thinking, this can't be right. We actually had stepped out to get dinner and some stuff to childproof the kitchen cabinets. I knew he was at 61 when we left, but it took longer than I expected so when I came back to the 39, no lie, I was like, "BRING ME THAT HIGH CARB FOOD NOW!!!"

But, Cobb had no hypo symptoms. He was hungry though. He was hanging out in front of the laundry room, which is where his food bowl is now. But he was purring, then came downstairs after I gave him his first teaspoon of high carb, in search of some more munchies.
 
Re: 5/3 Cobb PMPS 74 +1 142

hehe i don't know how to bet. ordinarily, i'd say he'll bounce. but . . . as you said, he didn't bounce yesterday and i was thinking he'd be high by this morning.

One of the pluses/minuses of the larger doses is that skipping a shot doesn't have as much effect on BGs as it does for some cats. The shed/depot just keeps on giving! So . . . i'm going to keep my money on this one! :lol:

i'm glad you got home when you did. i thought when he was at 70-61 that he'd bottomed out at that point. I didn't expect him to go lower after that - it was later in the cycle and those 2 numbers are basically flat.

by the way, i would never think that tonight's BGs had any connection to your musings yesterday. Asking questions is a good thing - so keep it up. i know you treasure your little guy.
 
Thanks! I was telling Donaleen...I know that has to look suspicious!! Just incredibly coincidental!

I'm glad I came home too!! I thought the same thing about the 61. I was like, huh, well, at least we'll be back in the 100s at shot time. :roll:

He's climbing at +2. I'll try to grab a mid-cycle test.

~Suzanne
 
Wow Suzanne! What a day you've had!

Makes you really think about how much the recent dental had to do with everything too. I know Cobb has a lot of things going on, but I know I've read in some of your condo's that after Sandy & BK's (well, BK's) dental, they had quickly reducing numbers....or maybe you should take him to visit Mom more often...LOL

Whatever is going on, you're doing a GREAT job with Cobb..especially considering the strains of being a new mom too!

He's very lucky to have such a loving caretaker!
 
I'm glad Cobb chose the daytime to do his first low. :-D Such a considerate cat. And by the way, sometimes cats are known to read their condos. ;-) Gotta be careful what you say. :lol:

You've learned a lot today Suzanne. One thing you might want to do is put the amount of HC you used on your SS. I find it useful when I'm in a similar situation again to see what worked before. And what works at the end of the cycle might be different from what is needed earlier on in the cycle.

PS: Cobb's last week on his SS is looking pretty nice!
 
Hi Suzanne,
Just signing on for the first time tonight and saw that 74 (and then read about the earlier numbers). Wow! What a great job you did today. (You and Cobb).

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top