5/3 Casper AMPS 462, +5 260, PMPS 383...

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaspersHuman

New Member
H LL'ers

We've been lurking for a while, but today's numbers seem wacky enough to inspire me to post. 462 is right up there with the highest readings I've ever seen, and 260 is the lowest reading I've gotten out of the furry dude yet.

We just recently moved up to 3.0U BID from 2.75U where he was pretty solidly in the 300's, so I'd be pretty surprised if this is an OD rebound scenario. It is getting warmer here and we did leave the windows open last night... Could that have thrown him for a loop?

Does it look like we're getting anywhere?

Thanks,
Casper and his human
 
welcome Casper and your human!

it looks to me like you're on the right track. What I would like to see you do is to work on getting a preshot test before EVERY shot, and getting a test before bed every night. Then get daytime spot checks whenever you can. Every test helps us put together the puzzle. I don't think you are in an overdose situation, I don't see that at all. It does look like you might be getting closer to Casper's good dose (the 260 is a good sign - we're aiming to get the mid-cycle numbers in a range where we like them, and then usually the preshot numbers will eventually stop bouncing too). He's moving now, that's great!

If you can get a few more mid-cycle tests over the next day or two, it might be almost time to tweak the dose upward just a little more to see if we can pull that yellow down to blue. Good job so far, now let's take the next step. :smile:
 
Hello and Welcome to Casper and Casper's human! I'm glad you decided to stop lurking and decided to post in Lantus Land.

First of all, Casper may be having what we call "new dose wonkiness" or NDW. Some kitties don't see any movement from a new dose for a few days.

Now, I also noticed that Casper started with a dose of 1.5u. Usually we start with 1u then work up the dosing ladder. This way it is much easier to find the right dose.

I'm going to assume that you read the stickies at the top of the page. If not, I suggest that you do. Lots of good info. You may need to read and re-read!

I wish you luck in this dance called Feline Diabetes and I hope you continue to post daily. The more information we get on Casper the better we can help you, kwim??

Before I go...just gotta say...Casper certainly is a cutie!!!
 
Congratulations on getting a "yellow" test. You're doing a great job with testing, nice to see your SS already set up and with lots of data. Hopefully the yellow is the start of good things on this dose.

What does Casper dine on? Have you made diet changes since the DX? Just asking because sometimes that can make a big difference.
 
Hi everyone and thanks for the responses!

I generally do try to test before every shot at a minimum, but this weekend was a travel weekend for us. I worry about testing when we're traveling because I don't want to add to his stress which of course affects his readings. I also worry that my testing times have become a bit "locked in". I'd like to get more coverage in the +6 - +9 range, but work and sleep make this time elusive.

The 1.5 doses at the top of the sheet aren't actually his initial dose - that's just when I started recording the spreadsheet. He was at 1.0 to begin with.

Casper eats four times a day, as close to 6 hours apart as I can manage, for about 11 ounces of canned food per day. Meals primarily come in the form of Merrick Southern Delight (his fave) and EVO 95% Venison. The highest carb food he gets is Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie (8% carbs, if I'm right), and he only gets that in 1/4 can snacks.

Thanks again all for the information and encouragement!

-Casper's Human (a.k.a Shawn)
 
Welcome to Lantus Land (LL) and thanks for providing us a name!

If you've been lurking, you know the first suggestion is to read the stickies. The "New to Lantus/Lev" and the dosing protocols are the best place to start. In addition, could you create a profile? The instructions are in the Tech Center. Without a profile, we will probably ask you the same questions over and over -- when was Casper diagnosed, what are you feeding, any medical issues, etc.

Casper's SS is looking good. At some point, you may want to do a curve (test every 2 hours) so you have a better idea where Casper's nadir is.

Please visit our condos and look at our SSs. And ask questions. It's the best way to learn.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top