? 5/29/ TiTi AMPS at 4 47 +8 464

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-bgs-in-mid-400s-now-649.158567/#post-1689141

This morning TiTi amps 446, +8 579, U 649

Whew! But why such a weirdly humongous jump in the middle?

I think I'd best relax, because this is beginning to look like a long haul.

Couldn't test her urine tonight - when I slipped an inoffensive spoon under her, she shut off the faucet and leapt from the kitty litter pan, a look of horror and indignation on her lil snub-nosed face.
 
Last edited:
Kathy, not sure why she jumped so much @+6 unless she nadired much earlier and was on the rise again. Maybe some others can offer you a better reason.

Some peeps put some crumbled saran wrap in the corners of the LB to catch some urine to test. Maybe that will help. Or you can get a ketone meter and test her blood which is what I do as I could never catch Bubba in the box and the rare times I did he wanted his privacy.
 
Kathy, not sure why she jumped so much @+6 unless she nadired much earlier and was on the rise again. Maybe some others can offer you a better reason.saran wrap ism

Some peeps put some crumbled saran wrap in the corners of the LB to catch some urine to test. Maybe that will help. Or you can get a ketone meter and test her blood which is what I do as I could never catch Bubba in the box and the rare times I did he wanted his privacy.
__________________________________________________________________________________
Saran wrap is a worth a try. Thanks.
 
Great job getting that +7 last night! That’s the kind of info we need. The testing you’ve been doing is perfect...preshot and mid cycle and we are going to be able to see what she’s doing.

We link the previous day’s condo in the current day. Here is the link to TiTi’s 5/28 Condo.

For today’s subject line, you could edit to put “5/29 TiTi AMPS 447” and then when you get the mid cycle test, just add it to the end so it would be, for example, “5/29 TiTi AMPS 447 +6 322” (I made up the +6 and the BG so just put whatever test you do...+5, +6, or +7 and the number). That will let those of us watching know where she is at a glance.

Thank you, Kathy!
 
Great job getting that +7 last night! That’s the kind of info we need. The testing you’ve been doing is perfect...preshot and mid cycle and we are going to be able to see what she’s doing.

We link the previous day’s condo in the current day. Here is the link to TiTi’s 5/28 Condo.

For today’s subject line, you could edit to put “5/29 TiTi AMPS 447” and then when you get the mid cycle test, just add it to the end so it would be, for example, “5/29 TiTi AMPS 447 +6 322” (I made up the +6 and the BG so just put whatever test you do...+5, +6, or +7 and the number). That will let those of us watching know where she is at a glance.

Thank you, Kathy!
________________________________________________________________________________
Ok. Done. And Thank you.

Except for the general BG range, these readings seem to indicate that TiTIs BG is sort of fragile. I mean , when I got the BG 649 yesterday, I didn't trust it, so I retested, and that was somewhat upsetting for TiTi. The 2nd reading was 671. So from her minor agitation, her BG jumped 22 points? Or is this just related to the percentage rate of error?
 
________________________________________________________________________________
Ok. Done. And Thank you.

Except for the general BG range, these readings seem to indicate that TiTIs BG is sort of fragile. I mean , when I got the BG 649 yesterday, I didn't trust it, so I retested, and that was somewhat upsetting for TiTi. The 2nd reading was 671. So from her minor agitation, her BG jumped 22 points? Or is this just related to the percentage rate of error?
I think it could be either, + or - variance or the agitation.
 
________________________________________________________________________________
Ok. Done. And Thank you.

Except for the general BG range, these readings seem to indicate that TiTIs BG is sort of fragile. I mean , when I got the BG 649 yesterday, I didn't trust it, so I retested, and that was somewhat upsetting for TiTi. The 2nd reading was 671. So from her minor agitation, her BG jumped 22 points? Or is this just related to the percentage rate of error?
I’d say 671 and 649 are the same number.
 
I used a separate box that i made for testing ketones. Slipped a shallow cardboard box lid inside a garbage bag to make it waterproof. Then you can put anything non-absorbent in there. I used lentils, but i think gravel would've been smarter. Some people use aquarium gravel. Then when I fed punkin in the laundry room (with water added to his food), I just waited until he peed. The box could be tipped to one side so the urine puddles up so you can test it. He had long furry thighs - there would've been no way I could've gotten something under him. He was a bit Victorian too!
 
I used a separate box that i made for testing ketones. Slipped a shallow cardboard box lid inside a garbage bag to make it waterproof. Then you can put anything non-absorbent in there. I used lentils, but i think gravel would've been smarter. Some people use aquarium gravel. Then when I fed Very test our punkin in the laundry room (with water added to his food), I just waited until he peed. The box could be tipped to one side so the urine puddles up so you can test it. He had long furry thighs - there would've been no way I could've gotten something under him. He was a bit Victorian too!
_________________________________________________
Very testy, our Victorians. I'm afraid I misunderstood Marge and Gracie, sinceI seem to have combined the 28th and the 29th.

Her numbers are pretty weird today, maybe because I took a test +8 during the afternoon hours. It was only 3 hours before her evening shot. What concerns me is that she's gone into the 600s now. I dread tomorrow's AMP.

To complicate things, I'm a little sick now. I have a light case of shingles, which I've never had before. Had no idea it can make you sick all over, but it has. The anti viral pills make you kind of sick on top of it. So, not a great day. I think that's why I screwed up today's condo - it includes yesterday and today in it.

I am getting so worried about TiTi. I see these high numbers, and she has been suffering them for 3 months now. They simply must come down. But how?
 
I’d say 671 and 649 are the same number.


ok. But for 2 days now she goes so high, and the 400s are no picnic for her system, either. 3 months now of consistently high numbers. Her creatinine, according to her last tests, may9th, is 2.7. Its been creeping up for 5 months. Creatinine levels are definitive. True kidney damage doesn't begin to show numerically, unitl 75 or 85 percent of the damage is aoready done. I wonder if these high numbers are reflecting trouble with her kiidneys.
 
oh my heart goes out to you. About 10 years ago I had shingles in the nerve branch around my forehead and eye and had to take the antivirals. Felt like I couldn't think straight the whole time I was on them. It was a strange yucky feeling.

If we can get 3 days straight of 4 tests per day - both preshots and one mid-cycle in the day and one test before you go to bed, I think we can consider increasing. She's not eating regular dry cat food, is she? The dry food referred to in your signature line is dehydrated, if I remember correctly.

The high blood sugar causes kidney damage.

Here is a spreadsheet for Black Kitty. BK had extreme insulin resistance and he didn't get a green number for the first 6 months after starting insulin. Nevertheless, BK went off of insulin and became diet-controlled. He only just passed away recently after being in remission for 6 years. So don't lose hope, even with these high numbers. It's very important the dose not be increased inappropriately without being confident that TiTi needs the dose increase.
 
(((Kathy)))

This is the toughest part....trying to figure out which way to go on a dose when we just have a little info. However, you are doing a great job helping us figure out if she needs more insulin.

Creatinine levels can be higher if there is a kidney infection present. There are not always symptoms. If you have labs that you can load onto the lab tab on her SS, I can take a look at them for you. I’ve had four cats with CKD and I’m pretty good with reading labs.
 
(((Kathy)))

This is the toughest part....trying to figure out which way to go on a dose when we just have a little info. However, you are doing a great job helping us figure out if she needs more insulin.

Creatinine levels can be higher if there is a kidney infection present. There are not always symptoms. If you have labs that you can load onto the lab tab on her SS, I can take a look at them for you. I’ve had four cats with CKD and I’m pretty good with reading labs.
_________________________________________________________________
On the test strip several days ago, a bit of blood was shown in her urine. Specific gravity also looked wrong. I wish I had written down the numbers.

Each test my doc did has loads of numbers on it.I just picked out the creatinine which was consistently rising. 2 years ago, she was at .5Cr, and now 2.7, which is the out most post of normal, and that was on May 9th.

I don't think I can manage juggling CKD and Diabetes 2, because it's seems to me to be a death watch. A very expensive one. Perhaps I joined this group to late. Been 2 years of uncontrolled, or poorly controlled diabetes. Perhaps too much damage has taken place. Or I might just be too ill to overcome the depression one feels when ill and in pain. I have no idea.

Her numbers yesterday and tocay are in the 500 and 600 range.

It's possible she's got a urinary tract infection at this point. . But that doesn't make sense either. She has no pain, no difficulty urinating.
 
oh my heart goes out to you. About 10 years ago I had shingles in the nerve branch around my forehead and eye and had to take the antivirals. Felt like I couldn't think straight the whole time I was on them. It was a strange yucky feeling.

If we can get 3 days straight of 4 tests per day - both preshots and one mid-cycle in the day and one test before you go to bed, I think we can consider increasing. She's not eating regular dry cat food, is she? The dry food referred to in your signature line is dehydrated, if I remember correctly.

The high blood sugar causes kidney damage.

Here is a spreadsheet for Black Kitty. BK had extreme insulin resistance and he didn't get a green number for the first 6 months after starting insulin. Nevertheless, BK went off of insulin and became diet-controlled. He only just passed away recently after being in remission for 6 years. So don't lose hope, even with these high numbers. It's very important the dose not be increased inappropriately without being confident that TiTi needs the dose increase.
___________________________________________
I feel crummy. Pain, dizziness, and it's my right arm and hand that has it. From the middle of my 3rd finger all the way up to my armpit. My palm and underneath my right arm are packed with swollen red patches and tiny blisters.I doubt I am thinking straight.
 
(((Kathy)))))

I know she has been diabetic a while but the early days of actually learning about it and testing and seeing the reality of it are tough. We are worried, stressed, have sleepless nights, etc. I am so sorry something is going on with your right arm and hand. I hope you feel better today.

There are a lot of members here juggling CKD and diabetes. It can be done. If her creatinine is 2.7, it’s still early enough to start other strategies to keep the numbers down like feeding low phosphorus foods, staying on top of the hematocrit and starting to supplement with Vitamin B multi and B12 when it starts to drop, just to name two.
 
(((Kathy)))))

I know she has been diabetic a while but the early days of actually learning about it and testing and seeing the reality of it are tough. We are worried, stressed, have sleepless nights, etc. I am so sorry something is going on with your right arm and hand. I hope you feel better today.

There are a lot of members here juggling CKD and diabetes. It can be done. If her creatinine is 2.7, it’s still early enough to start other strategies to keep the numbers down like feeding low phosphorus foods, staying on top of the hematocrit and starting to supplement with Vitamin B multi and B12 when it starts to drop, just to name two.
______________________________________________________________________
Yes, I suppose it can be done, but I musn't do this at the expense of my other 15 cats. I have 3 other cats on special diets, meds, protocols. Handling all this is difficult. Many have helped, and in this group too.

But besides my chronic cats, I have 12 other, who need food, love, kitty litter, and he rest. I've only myself to blame; 16 cats is a lot. And now I am ill and cannot use my right hand very well. I feel overwhelmed.

I know the money involved in CKD, having had 6 cats with it. It is not trivial. To further complicate things, the low phosphorus diet is the opposite of the diet recommended for Diabetes, which is very high protein.

2.7 creatinine is not a definitive indicator of CKD, since it can also indicate an infection, but it is suggestive. I think, if I can get the diabetes under control, thus discontinuing the assaults on her kidneys, things will get better. Yet what I see is a rising set of numbers.
___________________________________________________________

(((Kathy)))

This is the toughest part....trying to figure out which way to go on a dose when we just have a little info. However, you are doing a great job helping us figure out if she needs more insulin.
___________________________________________________________________________________
You think? It does help? If so, good.
_________________________________________________________________________________
Creatinine levels can be higher if there is a kidney infection present. There are not always symptoms. If you have labs that you can load onto the lab tab on her SS, I can take a look at them for you. I’ve had four cats with CKD and I’m pretty good with reading labs.
______________________________________________________
The only labs I have are from May 9th. Also, I've no idea where those ss sheets reside. How do I get to them?
 
To further complicate things, the low phosphorus diet is the opposite of the diet recommended for Diabetes, which is very high protein.

Not true. If you feed the renal diets which are low in P, they are high in carbs and low in protein. But I do not like prescription diets as the quality of them for nutrition stinks. I've never fed them to my CKD cats. There are many diabetic cats in this board with CKD and the caregivers use Dr. Lisa's Phosphorus charts or the more updated charts from Tanya's CRF website to feed foods which are lower in carbs but have good quality proteins and are below 1% P on a DMB or less than 200 mgP/100 kcal. It is old school to feed a CKD cat a low protein diet. My last CKD cat was stable for over four years eating foods I got from the above two resources and his kidneys were still stable when we helped him cross due to intestinal issues.
 
Not true. If you feed the renal diets which are low in P, they are high in carbs and low in protein. But I do n, ot like prescription diets as the quality of them for nutrition stinks. I've never fed them to my CKD cats. There are many diabetic cats in this board with CKD and the caregivers use Dr. Lisa's Phosphorus charts or the more updated charts from Tanya's CRF website to feed foods which are lower in carbs but have good quality proteins and are below 1% P on a DMB or less than 200 mgP/100 kcal. It is old school to feed a CKD cat a low protein diet. My last CKD cat was stable for over four years eating foods I got from the above two resources and his kidneys were still stable when we helped him cross due to intestinal issues.
___________________________________
You did very well. My survival times were more ragged: 5 years; 8 months (he had kidney cancer or pancreatic - I forget which); 1 year (this was almost 40 years ago, when no one knew anything); 1 1/2 years (he was a rescue aby with amyloidosis ); 1 year (my vet overdosed her with epeogen, and she had a massive stroke from going too fast) and 3 years - She developed heart disease and high blood pressure, so it was a tough balance. hose feeding guidelines sound much smarter.

WELL TRUTH? (00ps, sorry caps) I got hold of the Adelle Davis books, and she made a good case against the knowledge of the times. For humans, she only went with high grade protein, and lots of supplements. So I didn't use anything but the highest grade human protein, made it myself. I figured that not having to process all that crap in regular catfood, would make up for the high protein.

I make chicken and rice(all human grade - mostly organic) for my IBD cat, who is no longer symptomatic for IBD. I started 6 weeks ago, after years of trying everything else. It ends up being cheaper. I buy in bulk from COSTCO.
 
___________________________________________
I feel crummy. Pain, dizziness, and it's my right arm and hand that has it. From the middle of my 3rd finger all the way up to my armpit. My palm and underneath my right arm are packed with swollen red patches and tiny blisters.I doubt I am thinking straight.
_________________________
You had it in a much worse spot. I cannot imagine how terrible I'd feel if all this was in my forehead and eye.


___________________________________________


I feel crummy. Pain, dizziness, and it's my right arm and hand that has it. From the middle of my 3rd finger all the way up to my armpit. My palm and underneath my right arm are packed with swollen red patches and tiny blisters.I doubt I am thinking straight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top