5/29 Taco AMPS 349 +2 440, +3 427, +4 367, +6 455

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-28-taco-amps-501.230196/

This poor baby just can not get out of the 300/400's. Sigh. We're on our 6th cycle of Lantus right now. He's at 498 at +8. :( I was excited about his AMPS and thought for sure he'd dip into the 200's today.
Should I try to increase tonight or keep at the 2U? I'm willing to keep our current dose right now cuz I'm aware depot takes a while to build up, just want to know what others would do at this point.
Thanks :)
 
Since you are following TR and do a great job testing, I would increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning, if you don't see any more yellow before then. I think the brief flash of high yellow you saw was an initial reaction to the insulin change. I'd call what you are seeing so far a "high and flat" curve which allows a quicker initial increase (six cycles at the beginning), and nadirs over 300 mean increasing by 0.5 units.
 
Since you are following TR and do a great job testing, I would increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning, if you don't see any more yellow before then. I think the brief flash of high yellow you saw was an initial reaction to the insulin change. I'd call what you are seeing so far a "high and flat" curve which allows a quicker initial increase (six cycles at the beginning), and nadirs over 300 mean increasing by 0.5 units.
Thank you for your reply!! :) I'll update in the morning.
 
It's well known that some cats respond to a dose increase thread. Let's see what Taco does tonight.
Quick question...... Someone from the group gratefully sent me Lantus and that's what I've been using. I have some from Mark's coming in the mail on Monday. I just saw that the vial I am using now expires 5/2020! Would that affect the way its working???
 
Depends whether the vial has been kept in the fridge the whole time. Does it seem clear? Any floaties? I don't think that vial should stop working end of month.

You started Lantus at lower than I would have suggested. You were only seeing yellows on 2.5 units of Novolin, so it would have been a better dose to start. That's the other thing I was keeping in mind when I suggested the increase tomorrow. Plus we don't want him lingering in higher numbers longer than he needs to be.
 
Back
Top