5/29 Spaz: AMPS 92/+6 88/ PMPS 61 /+4 50/+4.5 45/+5 65/+5.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-26-spaz-amps-104-pmps-86.138466/

Stopped in at the vet to check about Spaz's teeth. The records mentioned gingivitis and tartar -particularly on the right side but the young lady I spoke to said it didn't specifically say that the teeth needed to be removed.
She told me that waiting a few months would be fine. Spaz gets so stressed at the vet that if I can wait until I need to get him in after the insulin I currently have is used up, I'd prefer to do that.
I mentioned to her that I was monitoring his BG at home and she was very happy to hear that :). I also found out that they use human glucose meters there-which means my numbers would be very similar to what they get!
His fructosamine that was done March 15th was 228 so his levels are most definitely dropping :D.
I also got a copy of his curve that was done on the 9th and he stayed in the 300s the entire curve. They did note on the curve that he was extremely stressed being there and that the stress was contributing to the high levels. It's so nice though to see his levels so much lower than what they were when he was first diagnosed though!
 
It looks like he's spent 2 days in normal numbers now, Angela. When a cat spends time in normal numbers (50-120) the potential exists for his pancreas to heal and begin putting out insulin again.

What that means is that if he starts putting out insulin, you're going to need to reduce the amount of insulin you are shooting to keep an equilibrium. I would especially try to get a test about +4 in the pm cycle if you can, just before you go to bed, so that you can catch him if he goes low. Unlike dogs, cats do not just get a dose and stay with it for a long period of time - at least not if the dose gets them into normal numbers.

I'd suggest you be looking for his low point for 2 reasons.

One is that he may need you to give him carbs to bring up his blood sugar and prevent a hypo.

The second is because if he dips under 50 on your glucometer, you will need to reduce his dose. That's your signal that the dose is too high and he needs less insulin injected now.

He looks great - I just want to make sure you understand that newly diagnosed cats have this potential to have their pancreas heal, work off of insulin, and become diet-controlled.
 
I will definitely be testing him tonight before bed as his PMPS was 61. Remission is what I am ultimately aiming for, though I won't complain if he has to stay on insulin the rest of his life. He's my "baby", so I'd do anything for him :).
 
With that being the lowest you've ever shot and being close to 50 already I wouldn't wait until +4 for another test. I'd be getting +1 and +2. He's looking very good :D and nice shooting :)

Yes, I probably should have tested earlier with his numbers being as low as they are. I didn't see this advice until it was too late, but will definitely do that next time.
Right now at the 4 hr mark he's sitting exactly at 50. I'm going to test again in an hour to see how he's doing. I'm excited about how lovely his numbers have been over the past couple of days :D!
 
Last edited:
I see you want that reduction.... I might test again sooner than another hour....
all you need is to see 49....
and anything under that means it's time to give food... and try to boost him back up....
 
Lol, indeed I do! I'll test him in half an hour instead of an hour then just to keep a closer eye on him.
 
Looks like he's due for a reduction! I tested at +4.5 and he's at 45, so I fed him a heaping tablespoon of FF chicken feast in gravy and will test him again in a bit.
 
You'd reduce his dose by 0.25u with his next shot to 1.75u.

Congratulations!

By the way, most of the carbs are in the gravy, so if he isn't up over 50 at your next test, try giving him just the gravy.

Even if he is up, remember that carbs can wear off and his blood sugar can go back down. You want to keep testing him til you have 2 flat or rising numbers over 50, at least an hour after you've stopped feeding him. The link on dealing with low numbers is in the yellow sticky at the top of the main page. If you are following SLGS the directions are in that sticky.
 
Thank you :D!
His BG went up to 65 after he ate so I will test one more time before calling it a night. I guess if I am to be decreasing his dose by .25 I should look into purchasing syringes. Right now I am using the pen needles which are okay for .50 dosing but .25 might be a bit of a challenge!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top