? 5/29 Shiloh ~ AMPS 246, +4 230, +6.5 246, PMPS 276, +2 181, +3 154, +4 159

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you've been feeding dry, it can take several cycles to get that cleared from his body, so it'd probably be fine to start tonight if you want to....No matter what though, you want to do this slowly....Not only because of the possible effect on his blood glucose, but because you don't want to upset his tummy and kick off a round of diarrhea from changing food too quickly

No more than 25% per day should be changed, and if that quickly causes problems, you should go even slower
 
So, should I mix 25% of the can food with her dry? Or should I give the canned as sort of an in between meal and slowly decrease the amount of dry food fed?
 
I don't think you need to mix the wet and dry, unless you need to add the try to convince her to eat the wet. Just reduce the amount of dry food put out and increase the amount of wet. You can put the wet and dry side by side in two dishes at the same time. Neko was never on all dry food, but when I started cutting it out completely, I'd measure the amount put out in a measuring cup and just reduce it down every couple of days.
 
Both the cats gobbled down the wet! I used to give them (when I had three) a third of a fancy feast can twice a day, kind of as a treat. But neither of my current cats have had wet in probably six years.

So, should I check at +1 or +2, or both?
 
the rule of thumb is that whenever you're shooting a lower number than you've shot before, get a +1 and a +2 to make sure Shiloh's BG isn't diving.

Looking at her spreadsheet, I'd get a +2 or a +3. It doesn't look like she's a kitty that dives.
 
I was concerned about the change to the wet food. She doesn't normally dive except two weeks ago when she hit 96.

ETA: I meant she doesn't seem to BOUNCE other than two weeks ago. I guess we will find out about the dives today.
 
Last edited:
Some cats just don't drop fast. Punkin never did. Some cats will go from 400-40 in 3 hours. Those are the ones that are most nerve-wracking, in my opinion.
 
Thanks Julie! I will check at +2, and +3 depending on what I get at +2. I've been told +2 is the most telling normally. However, understanding that ECID.
 
Wendy, am I good checking at +3, or should I check earlier?

ETA: My DH thinks I am obsessing. I have assured him that as soon as I think she is suffering, I won't continue, but he thinks my testing is going overboard. And not wanting to leave her.
 
It's fine if she snacks now, you just don't want to fill her in case you need her to eat something higher carb, later in the cycle.

Tell DH that once you have a better handle on her cycles, you will learn her patterns and know when you can relax a little. I think we were all pretty tense at first. You are doing the safe thing.
 
Nice, the drop has slowed I think you can wait until +5 for another test and depending what you see then you may be able to call it a night :)

Hubby's don't get it sometime and sometimes it just takes them a little longer to get on board. Hopefully he will support you even if he doesn't get it just yet. I think most of us were pretty obsessed to start off with, once you get to know Shiloh's particular reactions to lantus it gets much easier to know when it's safe to leave her etc.
 
+4 159. Going back up a little. Didn't see your post until after the +4 test. Can I call it a night, or should I check one more time?

DH is supportive. He just thinks that I'm hurting myself, driving myself crazy, worrying about it.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top