5/29 - Shakespeare - first 36 hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Morning Folks,
So we are on Levemir for 36 hours so far and he is doing wonderful!!!!!
Recap of yesterday:
his amps was 389
+6 was 379
PMPS was 380

NO RED OR BLACK IN 36 HOURS!!! :mrgreen:

His AMPS today at 5:30am was 354!
so it seems he is slowly going down,
I am not even going to think about raising for a few days, I think I want him to really settle
into levemir.
His attittude is awesome too!
There are no highs and lows, it is nice and steady so at +10 I am not watching him rise high
he is acting the same, day and night
Boy I could kick myself real hard for not changing sooner!

Well I hope everyone has a great number and great numbers!!
Denise and Shakes
 
We need an applause smiley!

Yes, no 400s or 500s is something to applaud. And staying with the dose for a while is OK. At 5 days check for nadir to see if you can raise it. If he's still in the 300s then, I would raise it .25U.
 
Looking good! Hoping we'll see the same. We're at T- 2 days... so hopefully we'll have a similar status to report!
 
hello Denise and shakes !! sorry it took so long to welcome you to levemir but its been nuts around here ohmygod_smile its been thundering here every day for it seems like 3 weeks !!! flash floods water in the basement .......... and on and on !!
callie hates thunder so she has been hiding cat_pet_icon

I really think your going to like levemir callie and I sure do ;-) if you look at her ss you will see she is doing much better !!

usually when I raise her dose she has wonky numbers for a cycle or to but it doesn't last long :mrgreen: and if she bounces that don't last long either !!

she is all around a different kitty on levemir , what scared me the most about switching was the shed but what I've found out is that is what callie needs cat_pet_icon callie and I have fingers and paws crossed for shakes for good numbers and to liking levemir have a great day !!!!


callie an marty !
 
That is great - nice flat numbers and no swings. Right where you want to be starting out.

I believe there is no such thing as a "shed" or "depot". There is only overlap - meaning one dose is fading out while the new dose is getting up to speed. This happens because lev and lantus have action times much longer than the other insulins - probably up to 14 hrs (ECID, of course). If we shot these insulins once a day, we would see the same sorts of curves we see on the other insulins. And the other insulins would have overlap if we shot them more often than bid.

So don't let the "shed" scare you - it doesn't exist!
 
dmartini4 said:
Morning Folks,
So we are on Levemir for 36 hours so far and he is doing wonderful!!!!!
Recap of yesterday:
his amps was 389
+6 was 379
PMPS was 380

NO RED OR BLACK IN 36 HOURS!!! :mrgreen:

His AMPS today at 5:30am was 354!
so it seems he is slowly going down,
I am not even going to think about raising for a few days, I think I want him to really settle
into levemir.
His attittude is awesome too!
There are no highs and lows, it is nice and steady so at +10 I am not watching him rise high
he is acting the same, day and night
Boy I could kick myself real hard for not changing sooner!

Well I hope everyone has a great number and great numbers!!
Denise and Shakes

It's so wonderful to hear that he's doing so well, and as for kicking yourself, please don't.
It really seems like ECID even with insulins.... some are just fine on the P insulins, and even with Lantus and Lev.... some are fine on both, like my Oliver, but others, like my Shadoe was WAY better on Lev than Lantus.

You gave it a try, and now you are using very nice insulin which is very diff. The shed is a wonderful thing. I guess you could call it an overlap, but having seen my cats skip one and even two shots in a row, I lean towards a shed, a spare tank of gas. Mass respect for the shed.

Letting the shed build up, settle in, and you will see better numbers.... if not lower, at least much more smooth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top