5/29 Rocky-- TID with Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119469&p=1248794#p1248794

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 311 +1 311 +2 301 +3 324 +7 275
PMPS 284 +1 175 +2 128 + 3 83 +5 76 +8 151

Rocky surfed some greens and blues last night, WOO-HOO! :mrgreen: :RAHCAT I just wish that I had not fed him again the second time he was in the 70s but I was really worried that he might drop down to below 50.. I am still slowly rolling back his shot time to make it EARLIER.

Looks like today is a bounce day. If his BG is in the 300s by PMPS tonight, I may go ahead and give him the 2.0u of insulin 15 minutes early to see if that helps bring down his numbers any. That would also mean that he is finally back on the 9am to 9pm shooting schedule again.

From then on, I won't have the opportunity to shot early to stop a possible bounce. it will probably mean raising his insulin dose back up to 2.25u after one of those PROLONGED, and painful stretches of black, red and pink numbers. I HATE draining depots.. :YMSIGH:

However, to possibly help me get more sleep I am thinking of moving his shot time from 6am to 6pm.
 
It does look like the Lantus hits him really fast, he nadirs early, and then the insulin wears off quickly from the numbers above.

My phone actually cooperated and let me see the spreadsheet. Rocky bounces a lot. Cats will bounce until they don't. Sometimes, it may help to aim for a nadir between 100-150 (human glucometer) first and then work towards the 50-100 (human glucometer). Otherwise, its grit your teeth and wait it out.

The absolutely most important things you can do is be consistent in dose, and shot timing, allow proper exercise of 15 minutes 2-3 times a day, and grooming.

Remember: too much insulin can kill.

TID requires extreme vigilance in sticking to a schedule. If you are able to do that, it is an option, however if you are not consistent you could accidentally kill him.

Another alternative to discuss is the use of a short-acting, non-depot insulin such as R or N.
These require that you hold the Lantus dose constant while you determine how one of these works in your cat.

When you test a supplemental insulin, you start with a tiny dose - ex 0.25 units, pick a specific start time (ex +8) and curve it hourly to see how that works as an add-on. Do this a few times to obtain a few estimates until you are confident in how it works in your cat. You may need to test different times to add the supplemental insulin.
 
You would need to identify his Lantus curve, Tina, and lay out a graph with an overlay for each cycle, and consider how the overlapping cycles might play out.

i am not able to advise on this, and i don't think it's something you'd want to try without a person with experience actually doing the 8 hr dosing to guide you through it. There isn't anyone currently posting on the TR forum who has done the 8 hr dosing, although i have heard of someone in the past doing it. Personally, I wouldn't go by theory, I'd want someone who had done it and knew the pitfalls to watch for to guide me. Insulin is a powerful hormone and as you know all too well, cats don't have simple responses to it.

The protocol that we use is based upon shooting every 12 hrs. Anytime a caregiver varies off of the protocol, the burden on the CG increases for keeping the cat safe.

The use of the secondary insulin isn't just about shooting in the second half of a cycle. what happens if a cat is high at +7, in a bounce cycle, and you haven't identified that it is beginning to clear and you shoot R then?

i'm not saying these things can't be done, i'm just trying to raise questions that you need to consider.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top