5/29 Paw's PMPS 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarams

Member Since 2012
Well I'm trying to use the spreadsheet (thanks for posting a link!) not sure how to cut out/replace the whole URL in the signature.

Upped to 2u last night since he was over 500 but using 1u today. Today was the first day we did a test inbetween. After 2u last night he was 390 this morning, 391 at +5, and 285 tonight. Wondering if 2u is where we should be...

God bless all of you who are so diligent with all theswe tests & shots! Hoping one day I will get there :)
 
tarams said:
Well I'm trying to use the spreadsheet (thanks for posting a link!) not sure how to cut out/replace the whole URL in the signature.

Upped to 2u last night since he was over 500 but using 1u today. Today was the first day we did a test inbetween. After 2u last night he was 390 this morning, 391 at +5, and 285 tonight. Wondering if 2u is where we should be...

God bless all of you who are so diligent with all theswe tests & shots! Hoping one day I will get there :)

OK first, the spreadsheet link... yes, it works but you need to SHARE the spreadsheet so that others can view it.
Go to the upper right corner, you see the word Share... you want to select the option of Anyone with the link.... right now, you have it so that only you can see it and others have to request permission to view.
Give it a try, changing the share option and we can try again.

For the dosing, insulins like consistency, so when first starting out, you want to stick with a dose for a few days to give it time to settle... I guess you could stay with the 1u for 3 days, record your test numbers in the spreadsheet and see how it looks.... increases should be smaller. If you find that you need to increase the dose, most will suggest increasing by only .5u.
 
Thank you. Can someone please check the link again & let me know if it's accessible now?

I'm wondering if we shouldn't be on a pretty constant 1.5u dose based on what I'm seeing so far.
 
tarams said:
Thank you. Can someone please check the link again & let me know if it's accessible now?

I'm wondering if we shouldn't be on a pretty constant 1.5u dose based on what I'm seeing so far.

First, your ss link works perfectly now!

Next from the numbers you have so far, it is looking like you are getting a nice response and each day, you are getting numbers a little bit better. When following the protocol that many use on this site, even if generally, you want to hold a dose for 5 to 7 days and give the shed a chance to fill and the dose to settle and start working in the cat.

Now, many cats do go lower at the evening, so it's usually good to get a minimum of 3 tests in a day:
Before the am shot
Before the pm shot
Before you head to bed

Your ss shows no BG tests before the am shot on 5/28, the pm shot last nite, and no BG tests at bedtime.
and for the pm shot on 5/28, you gave a 2u dose which is like doubling the dose... dosing for Lantus is based on the lowest number in a cycle, after about 6hrs, and not on the ps number, so giving the 2u when you got the 559 could have been dangerous. That's ok though as you are on the right track now.

All in all, it's looking like you are doing great with Paw's treatment!

So, be sure to get those 3 tests done so that you can see how Paw's processing the insulin, and give this dose of 1u another day or two. Then, if you are getting some numbers in the 200s in mid cycle, you could try to go with a dose of 1.25u and hold it for 3 days/6 shots...

Look to how Paw is doing as well; watch for improvements with the cat and the numbers will follow.
 
Thanks so much Gayle! The 559 really scared me & looking at his follow up #'s I'm glad I gave him 2u the other night.
It was suggested that we get a mid cycle BG so I've been trying to do that during the day (yesterday at +5, today at +8.5 & at +11); Thanks for explaining that their #'s drop at ngiht, I'll try to get some bed time readings too.

The Lantus pen says to hold the injection for 10 seconds (& I see how it takes time for all the drops to dispense when I do each test before injecting). The only way I can get him to stay for the whole 10 seconds is to inject while he's eating. I've read many posts about cats getting sick (although mine hasn't yet) after their injections. Wondering, am I okay to keep dosing this way? Or would it be better for me to use syringes instead of the pen to dose? (Especially if I go to 1.5u since the pen doesn't have that dosage preset.)
 
Most of us use syringes to dose instead of the pen, since most cats need smaller dose increases and decreases than what the pens themselves allow for. Normal protocol for raising or lower a dose is to due so in either .25 or .5u increases and decreases which the pen just doesn't allow for. If you switch over to the syringes you will want to get ones with 1/2 unit marks on them.

With 3 diabetics I have tried a lot of different brands of syringes and so far the ones that I like the best also happen to be the cheapest ones I have found. :-D For my two insulin depended girls I use Walmart's housebrand Relion 31gauge, 3/10cc , short needles...and absolutely love them. Neither of my girls even look up when they get their shots since the needle is so fine.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top