5/29 Merlin +6.5/203 (continuing); +10/210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
Merlin did not get his insulin until 10:30pm (4.5 hours after scheduled time of 6pm). I just took a reading at +6.5 and it is 203. Do you think I will be able to give him a shot at his regular schedule time of 6am and get back on schedule (which is only 7.5 hours since last shot)? That is if his test is at 180 or more? If I can, would I give the following?

180 - .8u
200+ - 1u

Not sure what I am going to do with meds but maybe give it to him an hour early (7:15am) so I can get that back on schedule too.

Updated: I quickly did some reading and it looks like I need to take in consideration his last shot time. So I am thinking that I will be able to shoot earlier but maybe a smaller dose since he may still have some active insulin in him. So maybe if it is still in the low 200's then maybe .8u or .6u instead of 1u?

Merlin has not eaten since 4am and is really hungry.
 
Re: 5/29 Merlin +6.5/203 (continuing) ???

His numbers are so different from before the dental, Cindi, that I would be cautious. I think our scale will probably need to be revised downward, after you get some new data. I'd wait until +10 and then maybe another small dose to try to get back on schedule for your pmps? That way you can feed him and give him his meds now?

I have to leave for a few hours so I hope Jen will add her thoughts. You two did a great job last night.
 
Re: 5/29 Merlin +6.5/203 (continuing) ???

Yes that is a good idea. I was so bent on getting him back on schedule. I can definitely wait another 2 hours. So I went ahead and gave him his food but will hold off then with the meds so that will be close to his 12 hours since the last time he received them. So I will test for AMPS around 8:30am. It is currently 6:15am. Thanks Sue.
 
Re: 5/29 Merlin +6.5/203 (continuing) ???

Good morning Cindi!

I agree with Sue. Merlin seems to be entering new territory all of a sudden. For chasing numbers purposes, I'd also agree to wait until about +10 or so, and see where he's at. It is sometimes possible to shoot earlier than that, but until you get a feel for how Merlin will react to shooting early, I'd err a little on the side of caution. Let's see where he's at at AMPS, but I also agree with Sue, that 1u seems like it may be too much at this point. Sometimes a smaller dose also seems to shorten the duration a bit, so to get back on schedule for PMPS, you might want to shave the dose a bit to see if that will shorten the cycle. I'm just throwing this out there, but maybe a 0.6 depending on what his pre-shot is?
 
Re: 5/29 Merlin +6.5/203 (continuing)

Ok - that makes sense and a good plan. I guess for now - it is now a "go with the flow" type schedule. Will report back around 8:30am. I got to run to my parents house to check on their cat. Merlin is very happy to have eaten. He thanks you all!
 
He is 210 @ +10. Seems like he is surfing in this range now. First time I found him under the bed. I hope that doesn't mean anything but it has been my experience that when ever a cat is hiding, he isn't feeling too good. Anyway, it has been 12 hours since his pain meds so that might be the reason for his hiding.

So you think a .6u? I should be home to monitor until 4:30pm which is 8 hours from now.
 
I think that would be fine. Pain meds will probably feel good too. You know how when you have a medical procedure. You're in some pain at first and then the next day, sometimes it really hits. Hope the meds make him feel better.

He is surfing along nicely at low ranges. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top