5/29 Lucy AMBG 85; PMPS 191, +2 227 FUR SHOT??

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,
Lucy's AMPS was 94, and her preshot has never been green in the past, so I am in need of your advice whether to shoot or not.

yesterday's

Her dose increased back to 0.5u since yesterday's AM.
I can stay with her maybe until +2, but I do have to go to work today.
I may not be able to return until much later.

For now, I am stalling, and will check her again soon.

Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 - her lowest preshot, please help.

Do not feed. You want to see the BG without food influence.
Liz
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

I did not feed.
30 min after the previous test was 85.
She is even going lower.....
Still stall?
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

Yes, test again in 30 mins. When would you be able to test today?
Liz
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

Hi guys .. gosh, I don't really have any advice for you .. I'm not familiar with lucy at all .. my "gut" instinct would say if she is going lower without food, and you can't be around to check all day ... I'd either skip or do a reduced dose .. BUT PLEASE WAIT for someone else with more experience/knowledge to say for sure!!! But, these are nice numbers :mrgreen: have a great day!
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

Does she free feed? Can you be sure that she will eat the food and not another critter?
Liz
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

I can stay at home for maybe 2 more hours, and then I will have to be away for about 7-8 hours after that.
I will try to come home sooner, but I may not be able to...
I will check again in 30 min, and post here.
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

Mariko

This is a FANTASTIC pre shot!!! This is what we want to see!!!

Consider that if you keep stalling, she might keep falling and you will need to skip. It's ok if you want to skip if you cannot be there to monitor her.

She responded great to LC last night. If you are able to check on her today, you might want to test her and if she's still in the 80-90 range, shoot and feed her a nice big LC meal.
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

I do not free feed, and I have another cat.
I cannot be sure Lucy gets it if I leave some food out.
And isolating her will freak her out....
I'm sorry..... I'm not helping you help me.
I will check soon, and will be back.
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

That is very helpful information. It helps us consider what your options are.
Liz
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

I just checked her again, 30 min after the previous test, and it was exactly the same - 85.
If I shoot her now, I can check her at +1 and +2, but the next one will be around +9.
I will not be able to feed her a little LC food every hour like last night during days.
Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

It's your call, Mariko.

We don't have enough data on her yet to know if she can stay flat at these nice numbers on her own.

Since you've stalled a while, it might be ok to shoot but we have so little data and often the stalled shot does not affect the current cycle....it affects a subsequent one. Same with shooting a reduced dose. I have no idea how she will respond. But it is an option you can consider if you want (we normally don't shoot a reduced dose when we stall but since you can't monitor.....at least a bit of insulin would get in her).

If you skip, she will get back on track. It might be the safest thing to do. Her numbers might come up but you can get her back in normal numbers again.

I wonder if your cats would eat out of a timed feeder? you might need it.....
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

OK, thank you.
I will skip the AM shot this morning since I cannot monitor her.

One question, though.
During AM cycles on weekdays, I will be able to test her around +2 and +9 only, unless emergency.
I have been leaving work early the past week, but I'd eventually like to be able to manage her safely and not have to skip work every day.
Is it achievable?

I will update her PM cycle this evening.

Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMPS 94 --> 85 - her lowest preshot, please he

I believe it is especially once we can see what her patterns are.....she might be one of those that is just a flat baby which would be great. She's doing so fantastic on this dose but if you are worried about her safety, you might have to reduce her dose so you can shoot twice a day; her numbers won't be as good but we need to keep her safe. let's see how she does with the skipped shot.

I would consider the auto feeder, though.

Before you go, if you have time, could you please update your subject line to 5/29 Lucy AMBG 85 so everyone knows it's all under control?
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMBG 85

Thank you and I changed the subject.
I will shop around for the auto-feeder.
Too bad I had to skip a dose....
If I end up needing to skip a dose again in the next few days, I think I'll try reducing to *skinny" 0.5u, and I can collect more data while she is in the safer range, though not as good....
I feel terrible I can't keep her at the optimal numbers when she can because of my work schedule....
Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMBG 85

Mariko,

You are doing really well. I'm so proud of you and how well you are doing! :smile:

I told you the folks over here in the Lantus TR group were really good!! They have helped you a lot in the last couple of days.

Have a restful day at work. You made the right decision for you and Lucy this morning by skipping the shot. Now you won't be worrying all day at work about how Lucy is doing.

Are you still hand feeding Lucy her food? Will she eat at all on her own? :?:
 
Re: 5/29 Lucy AMBG 85; PMPS 191, +2 227

Oh no!!!!
I think I might have given her a fur shot.....
Is this going to mess her up big time?
I can't believe I gave her a fur shot after skipping the AM shot...
I was trying shoot at as rear back as possible as I am going to give her a sub-Q fluid later today - maybe didn't make a good enough tent.....

Deb, thank you for checking on her. So nice to hear from you.
Yes, I am hand-feeding her every day since August 2011.
I always put her bowl down at first, and sometimes she would eat a few bites by herself.
I am still willing to try an auto-feeder.
 
Well drat! Those fur shots are so annoying. Don't give any more insulin as you don't know how much got injected, maybe more than you think. Lucy will recover.
Liz
 
Thank you. OK, I will not give her any more insulin until tomorrow morning.
I want to CRY..... Mariko
 
(((Mariko)))

Sometimes with a fur shot, more insulin gets in than you realize. I'd just grab a before bed test and see where she is. If she's up, just get some sleep.

She will get back on track...really, she will. You did the right thing to keep her safe this morning and we all give fur shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top