5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211, +2-375,+3.5~480

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
PMPS~249
+1~270
+3~317
+5~435
AMPS~438

Alright, so she apperantly bounced from something. *sigh* Since I dont know what I will not jump on raising her dose until I can see. And, if this is a bounce, so far its no where near as bad as they have been lately (500-600+).

She had a little babyfood last night and ate a small/unmeasureable amount of wet before bed. That is a rarity! Unfortunately she did not eat over night. She is showing some interest this a.m., but slow as usual....and keeping me on the edge of my seat since I have to leave @ her +2.5. nailbite_smile I do feel she is pretty safe at this dose, even if she does not eat. On the other hand, I am certain she is losing weight. I really should start weighing her regularly, so I know how much, or little I need to intervene.

On the positive, even *if* this is a bounce, her AMPS Are progressively getting lower...550, 498, 438. That has to be a good sighn. She also enjoyed sitting outside in her (now wilted) grass while I had my first cup of coffee. She has not shown interest in going out the last week or so. It was a very pleasant way to start the a.m.

Three more days until....vacation! (we will just call it that, even if Im not going anywhere!)

Will come back and link yesterdays condo once I am on an actual computer.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=15677

Thanks Pat!
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438

Got it for you Carolyn: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15677

So nice to hear that Latte went out for a little while this morning...and that she ate a little wet too...
I hope she continues on the downward trend with those AMPS. Look at the bright side, right?
Hope the day is good and that it goes quickly for you as you do the countdown to those days off!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438

It's nice you and she enjoyed some time outside! I hope you have a great staycation. I'm sure Latte will love having you home.
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438

carolynandlatte said:
PMPS~249
+1~270
+3~317
+5~435
AMPS~438

Alright, so she apperantly bounced from something. *sigh* Since I dont know what I will not jump on raising her dose until I can see. And, if this is a bounce, so far its no where near as bad as they have been lately (500-600+).

Morning Carolyn :razz:
It sure looks like it's a bounce from something, and since you had to go out it's again good that you didn't raise the dose.
I was reading what you wrote last night and I used to do what you did all the time..change doses to accommodate the numbers and you're right...it makes things worse. It doesn't give the kitty's body any time to adjust to the dose. We both have cats with multiple health issues and it's very hard not to scream while watching the numbers go out of our control.


She had a little babyfood last night and ate a small/unmeasureable amount of wet before bed. That is a rarity! Unfortunately she did not eat over night. She is showing some interest this a.m., but slow as usual....and keeping me on the edge of my seat since I have to leave @ her +2.5. nailbite_smile I do feel she is pretty safe at this dose, even if she does not eat. On the other hand, I am certain she is losing weight. I really should start weighing her regularly, so I know how much, or little I need to intervene.


Have you ever given Latte Nutrical? I know it's not the best as far as what's in it but it has nutrients and calories(just like it sounds) and I've given it to Alex as a supplement when he's gone through a couple of periods of not eating...like prednisone, it requires a little adjustment to the insulin because it has corn starch or something in it (but you may already give it to Latte)....

On the positive, even *if* this is a bounce, her AMPS Are progressively getting lower...550, 498, 438. That has to be a good sighn. She also enjoyed sitting outside in her (now wilted) grass while I had my first cup of coffee. She has not shown interest in going out the last week or so. It was a very pleasant way to start the a.m.

Three more days until....vacation! (we will just call it that, even if Im not going anywhere!)

When I was working I never went anywhere...sounds like a vacation to me :lol:

Will come back and link yesterdays condo once I am on an actual computer.

Have a great Caturday and have fun with Latte! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, +2.5-428, +9.75~200

Hi Carolyn & Latte, The numbers look so much better. And a vacation coming up! Sounds good. Get some much needed rest and enjoy your Latte! (both kinds: ~O)

Hugs,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211

AMPS~ 438
+1...5~ 445
+2.5~ 428 (meter and I had some controversy w/#,settled with this #)
+6.75-262
+9.75g~ 200
PMPS~ 211

This is just lovely! Latte lost her softness last night, but it was back when I got home today. We spent over an hr after work, her sprawled on the rug in my room catching a little of the cool air from the air conditioner...me, laying in bed reading. Every now and then I would reach over to pet her and she would just melt into my hand. She looked soooo very happy and content.

She only ate about 1/3 can of wet before I left for the day. When I came home for lunch there was a little more gone. Im guessing a total close to 3/4 of 3oz can. It looked like the kibble had been touched, but not much. She took close to 1/4 jar baby food at shot time, but it was like pulling whiskers to get her to eat it. If she is showing interest in eating on her own I will not likely syringe feed her, even if she may not be getting 'enough'. I suppose I could try an appy stim either later tonight or tomorrow.

Lets se how high she bounces tonight. She could have gone lower between afternoon checks. But her surfing into pmps makes me think otherwise. Anyway, I expect a bounce. Im curious to see where she might level off once she stops bouncing. I suppose if she wer eating more numbers would be a tad higher. So far, I feel comfortable leaving her for the day on this dose, even w/o eating well.

And...most positive...she is getting flatter! I seriously think it is making a huge difference in how she has felt the last few days.

Caryl- Im not sure if you realized that I dropped Latte' dose all the way back down to a "starting" dose of insulin. There was uncertainty if she was getting too much insulin to meet her needs, so I decided to start over. This is where the anxiety of whether or not I should increase her dose quickly came from. If I made a mistake with my gut instinct than it would have needed to be corrected quickly. Latte also does get dose hopped a bit (usually only a drop) because rhere are changes in her meds, such as pred OR she is not eating, vomiting, in pain etc. Just wasnt sure if you were aware of this...I was getting confused with some of your responses encouraging me not to react to the numbers and change her dose too quickly.. As soon as I increase she stops eatinf, so I have to decrease...then she starts eating and I need to increase...etc. kwim?
And, no We are not in a rush to see blues, or hang out there too long / too often....She does not need to see greens either. She needs to be in a safe # for the amount of food she is eating, yet under renal th....so mid 200's to mid/high blues regularly in her cycles would be a dream. I do appreciate you checking in on us and seeing how we are doing. Thats been kind of you. Its helpful to know people are keeping an eye on us. :)
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211

(((((((((((((((((Carolyn and Latte))))))))))))))))))))
I love reading your posts about Latte. Her wilted grass and petting her while reading....sweetness.
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211

Her numbers do seem to be looking better. I hope this trend continues. My reaction to your descriptions was much like D's. The texture of Gabby's coat is also a good barometer of her numbers.
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211

Wasn't so excited to see her amps... but checking in now....WOW!!!! She had a GREAT day! What a great WCR! cat_pet_icon If it weren't so stinking HOT, I'd do a dance!!! This is getting exciting now.....hee...hee... my princess warrior....

When does your vaca start? Got all my garden stuff today, so will hit that tomorrow if it cools off a bit. I'm around, give me a call. ;-)
 
Re: 5/29 Latte AMPS~438, PMPS~211, +2-375 (ouch!)

((((((HUGS))))) your way Carolyn for Latte to keep doing better hope her numbers improve as well :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
It's taken me 3 yrs of a rollercoaster ride with her for the lightbulb to go off (yes, I'mm a little slow). After her +2 would have been a good time to go for a bike ride, rather than sit here being all depressed and feeling like I cant help her. Two more days and my bike will be ready. I will try to remember this moment. It wont take away the reality, but it might help me see it in a better light.

I dont know what happened and why she is bouncing so hard. But its really not fair to her. She deserves so much better.
 
Hi Carolyn ~~ I do so look forward to your posts, as difficult as it can be sometimes to know how things are for you and for Latte. Then I read something like lying there with her, reading, petting and melting, and it all seems worthwhile - all the work, the sacrifice, the fears, the uncertainty. Remember these moments. In a way that is what it is all about. memories are such a powerful tool. You two take care! Enjoy your staycation - it should be wonderful.
 
Hi Carolyn. It sounds like your baby is feeling a bit better. So good to see. I love how you had such a special time with her today. Brought tears to my eyes. SOme of my most special moments with Tori have been when she's not feeling well and I've held her in my my arms and we've stared into each others eyes. Sharing the love. That's what it's all about. Such precious moments.
You two are never far from my thoughts. Such special ladies the pair of you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top