5/29 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 265, +7:124, PMPS:407, +4:38,+5:331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
Should I reduce dose?
Charlie has had a good day but a very rocky night (see numbers). Since she was below 2,8 (European numbers) at PMPS +4, should I reduce the dose back to 1 unit tomorrow morning?
Advice much appreciated!
Thanks, Kiki
 
Re: 5/29 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 265, +7:124, PMPS:407, +4:38,+5

Hi Kiki!

When you got the pm+4 lat night (38), was that with strips that were good? I see your comment in the row above saying that you'd had some expired strips.

Whenever you get a strange reading, it's a good idea to retest. If she really got to 38, then yes, you would want to go back to 1.0u for her dose. She might have - it's just that the numbers in context seem unlikely, or at least uncertain. A rise from 48 to 331 in one hour is pretty incredible. But . . . you've got the 63 in the hour before the 38 so it might be right.

I guess i'd err on the side of caution and go ahead and reduce. But next time, a recheck will help us know if it's right. Sometimes strips are off and the only way you can know is with retesting.

Overall, she's looking better! Wonderful blue surf for hours today. WOOT!
 
Re: 5/29 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 265, +7:124, PMPS:407, +4:38,+5

Hi Julie

I did have the good strips all night... The rise from 48 to 331 is due to the fact that I fed her some more high carb food in between. But yes I agree those numbers seem extreme. Next time I will definitely re-test. I panicked and just wanted to get some food in her as quick as possible...
I'll reduce the dose back to 1 unit for a few days again and see how she's doing.
Thanks for the advice!
Kiki
 
Re: 5/29 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 265, +7:124, PMPS:407, +4:38,+5

i think most of us (me included) have panicked and overcarbed the first time or two we see low numbers. no harm done! the point is to get their blood sugar up and it worked!

as you get more experience you figure out how much gravy is needed and you get more comfortable with the whole thing.

you're welcome! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top