5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, PMPS 128

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday was interesting - he went from blue to yellow to pink to red back to pink and now yellow this morning. If he continues this trend, maybe we'll get blue and green today :-D

He's woken me up at +11.5 the last 2 days. :? Usually on the weekend my alarm has to get me up! And after I'm totally awake he goes back to bed. How fair is that?

Happy day everyone!

last post
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227

I see blue. Good job, Jesse!

Don't you love it when they keep you up all night, and then when you have to go to work all day, they sleep :roll:
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, +3 190, +7 139 +10 128 PMPS 128

Woooo hooooo - We had a eff-ell-ay-tee blue day (well, except for AMPS, and okay the +3 too, but who'se counting ;-) ).

So, I've forgotten - is it 2 full days of flat numbers before I raise the dose?
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, +3 190, +7 139 +10 128 PMPS 128

hahahaha - if only you'd seen me for the last 15 seconds - in my head going "eff-ell-ay-tee" over and over again. ohmygosh i'm slow!

i don't know the answer, well maybe it's this part of the protocol:
Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

hope you got to snooze a bit today after the bright & early awakening!
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, +3 190, +7 139 +10 128 PMPS 128

If you look at the Tilly version of the protocol, you can increase after 2 days if numbers are over 300.

Tilly Protocol said:
Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

We've modified the protocol slightly and that's what Julie posted.

You've been at this dose for a while. I think you have room to increase.
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, +3 190, +7 139 +10 128 PMPS 128

And here I thought I had it all figured out :roll: I know the nadir rule of holding a dose, but I thought, geez, I don't know what I thought.

Because he's been bouncing so much, don't I have to get several flat cycles before I increase to make sure he doesn't bounce again? And like you said Sienne, he can bounce off of any number!

So raise it .25 now (back to 2.5u), or wait a few cycles? I just don't want to set him into a bouncing pattern again.

Thanks
 
Re: 5/29 Jesse AMPS 227, PMPS 128-Sienne ?

I wouldn't worry about having several flat cycles in order to increase. You just need to wait for the bounce to clear.

The idea behind not increasing on a bounce is because people less experienced than you will see the high numbers and want to increase the dose. They don't see that the high numbers are resulting from a bounce. If you increase in this situation, as you know, you run the risk of being over a good dose.

One way to reduce the bouncing is to increase the dose. You've seen that when Jesse stops bouncing, he's typically in blue numbers. IMHO, based on those numbers, you have room to increase.

I hope that makes sense.
 
Hi guys - good luck with the new dose tomorrow. I hope it brings things down over all. nice pmps tonight!

I too had to think on the eff-ell-ay-tee. well done! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top