? 5/29 Gus 48 @+4.4

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
Gus is back green. He earned reduction today so we increased to 0.1s the smallest drop we could inject but @ + 2.5 his BG was 36. He just eat his normal food and I will check him soon. I am getting honey ready. I am so stressed.

Elizabeth
 
I would also give him a little HC or MC food as the honey will wear off after a short time.
You will need to monitor him closely the whole cycle
 
Remember we want to get him over 50,....once he is over 50, we want to get two tests about an hour apart I believe of rising numbers, with no food (as then you can make sure he is rising on his own and not the food doing it).....

I see you are using the SLGS protocol, and I am pretty sure even with that, when you hit 36 there would be a reduction involved, but since he is on the lowest amount possible as it is, I am not sure if he would do an OTJ trial next or not.


@Chris & China @Marje and Gracie @julie & punkin (ga) @Wendy&Neko since I suck at dosing advice.....I am guessing some sort of alteration would be needed?
 
well, if you get into the 30's, you've got to take a reduction. He's still got a lot of higher numbers, so i'm not sure if he's ready for a trial yet or not.

What percent carb food are you giving him regularly? I'll get some more eyes on the spreadsheet and see what others suggest about how to proceed now.
 
He
well, if you get into the 30's, you've got to take a reduction. He's still got a lot of higher numbers, so i'm not sure if he's ready for a trial yet or not.

What percent carb food are you giving him regularly? I'll get some more eyes on the spreadsheet and see what others suggest about how to proceed now.
mostly eats 0% carbs and BeechNut baby food that is very low carb. For HC I have Merreck Cowboy Cookout 18%.
 
Have you ever tried feeding him at about +9 to see if it'd bring down his Pre-shot numbers?

With those higher numbers, I'm not sure he's quite ready for the trial so it might be worth a try.

Also, you might try this and see if it gives less than the .1....first you'd draw up what you've been giving and if you squirt it onto a paper towel, it should make pretty much the same size spot

Now, try pushing the plunger in as hard as you can and then putting the syringe into the vial/pen (while holding the plunger in) and then just let go of the plunger....see what size "spot" that makes on a paper towel...if it's a smaller spot, that could be a lower dose for you to try. When you "let go" of the plunger, there's a little vacuum that should pull just a tiny dose into the needle
 
Have you ever tried feeding him at about +9 to see if it'd bring down his Pre-shot numbers?

With those higher numbers, I'm not sure he's quite ready for the trial so it might be worth a try.

Also, you might try this and see if it gives less than the .1....first you'd draw up what you've been giving and if you squirt it onto a paper towel, it should make pretty much the same size spot

Now, try pushing the plunger in as hard as you can and then putting the syringe into the vial/pen (while holding the plunger in) and then just let go of the plunger....see what size "spot" that makes on a paper towel...if it's a smaller spot, that could be a lower dose for you to try. When you "let go" of the plunger, there's a little vacuum that should pull just a tiny dose into the needle
During AM cycle Gus gets small meals often but not at the specific time but when he wants to eat. At PM he gets food @+3 after BG chck and gets food for night.

We going to reduce the dose as you specified. Thank you so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top