? - 5/29 CRYSTAL - increase Lev or R ? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 5/29 CRYSTAL - increase Lev or R ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member since 2014
yesterday

Happy Friday L&LL

a pink start for Crystal this morning :( so gave her another dose of 4.0u R . Had to go out for a few hours but she was 214 at +4.75 and 257 at +8 when I returned. Just coming up to PMPS in about 20 minutes. Seems okay in herself, eating well, out and about, sunbathing and chillin..... not a bad life for a :cat:

Thanks for all the input about the goat's milk in yesterday's post and BJ's search results over in Health. Looks like I need to find raw, rather than pasteurised, goat's milk - on my "to do" list.

Vines and wishes to all in need today.
 
Crystal is being rather stubborn about all that yellow. It's also been 6 days since you saw blue. Might be time for a change in dose.

Do you have any farms near you? My cousin raised goats because her children couldn't drink cows milk, and she ended up selling a little of the excess to others with the same problem.
 
Hi Suki,
I'm sorry Crystal's blood sugars are being so stubborn for you. I understand your frustration and disappointment. Poor little pumpkin...I'm sure she would drop them for you if she could.
She seems to be happy though, completely oblivious to the whole thing.
It is very frustrating for you though when you are doing such a great job with her but those #}?!%# numbers won't come down........but they will.....you just have to find the magic number.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Crystal, can you put on your blue cozzie today please and go down and help with the bbq? I think the other kitties need your help and I am stuck up here in this hot air balloon and can't find the down switch~~~~Sheba
 
Thanks Wendy, Peg and Bron for understanding the frustrations, having one of those off days when nothing is making any sense. Anyway, I think it's time for a dose increase so my dilemma is do I increase the Lev say by 5 units or increase the R by 0.5 or 1u (on the scale I'm currently using) I don't think it would be a good idea to do both. My gut feeling would be to increase the Lev and wait a few cycles to see the effect, if any. Calling in the cavalry!
@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Suzanne & Cobb(GA) @Grayson & Lu @Marje and Gracie @Sandy and Black Kitty
Would really appreciate your thoughts if you are around so I can make a decision for AMPS at 06.00. Off to bed now as 1pm so I will catch up in a few hours, many thanks in advance.
 
I think you could go either way. I was looking at her ss and thinking the clue for which to increase would be whether or not you are getting the duration you need from the Lev dose. Seems to me you when the L dose is about right, you don't see the insulin running out of steam at the end of the cycle. Those pinks in there yesterday at the end of the cycle, would make me think that I might lean to increasing the Lev.

But let's see what the rest of the cavalry think! More brains are better than one. :D
 
Well.....this cavalry member thinks you've tried to hold the lev dose for some time now and increase the R dose. While she's looking better than she was, she seems stuck to me. While I certainly will acquiesce to the thoughts of those who have high dose kitties, I would probably vote to try increasing the lev now.

Sorry you can't get the Primal goat milk....it is raw.
 
No experience on R from me, but the Levemir dose looks "stale". I think the little antibodies are having a party and it's time to beat them down again with more Lev.
 
Thank you all for your thoughts, I really appreciate it. So, upped the Lev by 5 units on an AMPS of 248 with no R given so we can see how she responds. Have a busy day planned, but at home all day to monitor her. Paws, and everything else crossed. Bbl
 
Late to the party, but I'm liking her numbers better at this dose. I think you're seeing the results I would be looking for. I would probably hold this dose for ~3 days, then up a little more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top