5/29 Chianti amps 78 need some eyes on his chart

Status
Not open for further replies.

itzj

Member Since 2014
So I don't know what is up with Chianti. He has been super low 2 mornings this week. He has also totally flipped his chart being lower in the am cycle and higher in the pm. I do not know what to do with his current dosing. We lowered him on the first morning of super low by .25. Dh out of caution lowered him again this morning even though it is only cycle 4 post the first reduction. I do not know if that was the right thing to do or if I should have kept him at the 3.25. He is not eating well - markedly less but I kind of expected that with the lower numbers. He frequently is asking to eat but rejecting his usual options unless I pull out the purebites. I am going to get dh to curve him tomorrow. I tried to get blood this am and could not get any and there was lots of biting and scratching. I do not want to mess this progress up.

An additional note, I know that the reduction number for slgs is 90, but Dh and I decided to lower it to 75 in light of how he seems to every once and awhile post 1 low number and then nothing else. The other reductions we took gave him major setbacks with his legs and the litterbox.

Also, we are in the process of attempting to convert the rest of the house to all wet in light of Massimo and his crystals. There has been less lowish carb chow out, but Chianti has not been eating it anymore anyway unless he was getting some in the night. We are home all day - he does not go near it and comes to the kitchen to get food.
 
Hi Jenny, I like the colour change in Chianti's SS. Less yellow, more blue. :cool:

I think your DH is a wise man. With no tests last night and with that 78 this morning, who knows how low he went. Reducing that further .25 sounds like a good idea. The numbers, combined with him eating less and less chow out, all could lead to him getting lower numbers. Although you say Chianti wasn't going after the dry food, it really is hard to know. We had one member have her cat go from 5.5U of Levemir to zero (off insulin) in one very intense day and a half after she removed all dry food from the house (she thought her diabetic cat was not getting into the other cats food).

Since you are modifying your approach to SLGS a bit, could you put something like "following SLGS with reductions at 75" in your signature line? We do have another member doing something similar and it helps us remember what you are doing if it's right there.
 
Noted and added to signature. I do like the blue too. I hope it stays. I am so, so nervous though because dh goes out of town on the 7th-12th and he normally runs the diabetes show. I've done rotations here and there but never more than once a day because Chianti cooperates so much better for him.
 
Signature looks good - thanks!

With DH out of town and so much else for you to look after, that sounds like another reason to be cautious with the dose. Chianti will get back on track soon enough if he falls off the rails.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top