5/28 - Zen - AMPS 54 | +3 88 | +4 82 (Vet Visit Today)

Emily R

Member Since 2021
Yesterday's thread

Well, I woke up this morning to find Zen under the table and meowing (side note: totally the title of his next studio album with his Dave Matthews cover band :joyful:;)) even though there was food in his bowl in the bedroom, so I fed him and gave him his Zobaline. That's not like him-- usually he's enjoying the sunrise in the morning when I wake up. Libre scanned him at 63, but I was dubious (he's at the vet getting a new Libre as we speak because today is day 14, and the Libre also seems to read higher than the ear prick when he's actually dipping under 50), so after he finished breakfast and right before we shot, I gave him an ear prick and it said 54 on the human meter, so it's not impossible that he dipped below 50 and we just didn't catch it. (Maybe, maybe not.) Between that and the fact that he's going to the vet and we can never really get him to eat well on a vet visit day, we went ahead and dropped his dose from 1U to .75 this morning so he can stay safe. He might go a little high today, but the last thing I want is the vet feeling like she needs to intervene in the process (she is very much a SLGS vet and was extremely hesitant to let me do TR with him), so we'll see how it goes.

Litter box looks better than it's looked in months and he's walking way better than he was. Baby steps. I'm so happy with this guy's progress. :D
 
I agree with your assessment and dose reduction this morning. Those numbers look like he might be feeling better and could continue to drop. And heaven forbid the SLGS vet would intervene! I hope you gave her strict instructions not to administer any insulin under any circumstances.

I always think of this one: better a day too high than an hour too low - even more applicable if he's out on a vet visit and out of your supervision for a while.

Hope he comes home soon and is feeling just fine by then :)
 
I agree with your assessment and dose reduction this morning. Those numbers look like he might be feeling better and could continue to drop. And heaven forbid the SLGS vet would intervene! I hope you gave her strict instructions not to administer any insulin under any circumstances.

Thank you, Sue! Yeah, the vet would never give insulin to him when he's showing this low, and she knows 7am is AM shot time, so I'm more expecting her to tell me he's dipping too low than to try to give him insulin. But part of the reason I keep collecting Freestyle Libre vs. Alpha Track vs. Freestyle Lite (human blood meter) data is so that I can help her understand that his BG is still in a great place. When he shows as in the 50's on the Libre, he's consistently between 115-120 on the Alpha Track, so I really don't think he's in any kind of danger. But I can understand a SLGS vet seeing those numbers and being concerned.
 
Thank you, Sue! Yeah, the vet would never give insulin to him when he's showing this low, and she knows 7am is AM shot time, so I'm more expecting her to tell me he's dipping too low than to try to give him insulin. But part of the reason I keep collecting Freestyle Libre vs. Alpha Track vs. Freestyle Lite (human blood meter) data is so that I can help her understand that his BG is still in a great place. When he shows as in the 50's on the Libre, he's consistently between 115-120 on the Alpha Track, so I really don't think he's in any kind of danger. But I can understand a SLGS vet seeing those numbers and being concerned.


My reference to the vet giving insulin was in case of a bounce - sometimes when kitty goes really low (although it looks like Zen has been getting there more often than not)...they'll bounce to the moon! When that happens vets tend to over-react and just can't help themselves and want to get that number (from the bounce) down...better they leave well enough alone and let you manage his numbers.

And for what it's worth - trying to compare meters will never result in much of anything useful. Many have tried it here - especially between the AT2 and human meters...

Just stick to one reading and watch for trends...much more meaningful than the specific numbers. I think Zen is going places...he's looking wonderful of late!!
 
Sending vetty vines. A visit to the vet always sends Ruby's BGs slightly higher. All of Ruby's vets see numbers in the 100s as a sign of remission, but I smile and nod. For them, loose regulation is better because few people test the way we do on the FDMB and it's understandable they want to keep kitties safe.
 
Max always was higher at the vet, even before he became diabetic. I had lots of labs because of his pancreatitis. On vet days when his bg was on the low side at home after the vet it would rise a lot. It’s good your vet won’t give insulin today.
 
Sending vetty vines. A visit to the vet always sends Ruby's BGs slightly higher. All of Ruby's vets see numbers in the 100s as a sign of remission, but I smile and nod. For them, loose regulation is better because few people test the way we do on the FDMB and it's understandable they want to keep kitties safe.

SO true. Though, the vet was very happy with what she saw today and encouraged us to keep going! :woot:

Zen got back from the vet and he's only in the 70's/80's last I checked, but I have a feeling he's going to go a little high today. (The litter box when he got home tipped me off... :confused:) We'll see what the day holds! Thanks, all!
 
Back
Top