5/28 Wonton PMPS 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
I'm so angry with myself...I can't believe that after doing a curve and staying up until 3am that I woke up this morning, got her reading at 6:15am, fed her and went to bed WITHOUT giving her shot...I CAN NOT believe I did that, I'm so mad I could cry. So now at 9am she's at 333 and I can tell by her face that she's not feeling too good, and I noticed she drank a good amt of water. Can I shoot her now at a low dose, like .5???? I would not want her to go sky high today and I don't plan to be home this afternoon. I'm coming home to check, feed and shoot her this evening, but will be going back out.
I wish everyone a Happy Memorial Day!
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71898
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton AM No shot 233 :o(

I don't think you should give her a shot now, unless you can change your shot schedule by 3 hours.
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

You can do a late shot but you'll need to move your shot time back to your usual time over the course of several days unless you see some higher numbers. If Wonton is sitting in high numbers, you could shoot as much as an hour early if you can monitor.
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

Pls dont blame yourself, sometimes we are just too tired. Wonton will come down from those ugly numbers.
Hugs!
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

I really can't change my work schedule since that would mean changing for the whole week to get her back at 6:30am shots. I feel so stupid, but I was so tired and in the fog. Guess she'll be going high today, I am so sorry about all this. Am I the first in the history of FDMB to do this? :oops:
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

No, not at all. Fur shots happen, to all of us.
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

Thank you for helping me last night, and this morning ....i decided to not change her schedule.....lesson learned!! I will change my subject line now.
Everyone have a wonderful Memorial Day!! :YMHUG:
Giving thanks to our brave soldiers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton CAN I DO A LATE SHOT? :o(

Aw, you didn't screw up. These things happen to all of us - especially when you're sleep deprived. Yesterday wasn't a waste, because you got lots of good data.

If you can handle the switch in the morning, you could consider shooting maybe an hour earlier than you usually do tonight, keeping in mind that you'll need to shoot at the same time tomorrow morning. Just a suggestion, though!

Enjoy your day, too!
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton

Yes, you are right about getting all the info. I might do the 1 hr early shot tonight and then 5:30 instead of 6:30 tmrw morning, then gradually move her to the usual time.

I do have another question, if I'm going to shoot 1u/2x daily, and since she went down to 51 yesterday at her nadir, should I leave out HC food for snacks tomorrow while I'm at work??
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton

Hmmm...maybe post that you have a question in your subject line. She almost dropped below 50, and I wonder if she would have if you didn't feed. Sooo....I'm wondering again about dose (only because you work), but there are other folks here who are much better equipped to answer such a question - both about dose, and leaving food out. See what others think...

Sorry...I know that wasn't much help :roll: :razz: ....

Wonton did do wonderfully yesterday!!
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton

I wouldn't try to anticipate what Wonton will be doing 24 hours from now.

Just like everyone has given a fur shot, I suspect everyone has "forgotten" to shoot. I suspect there are any number of people here who have found a loaded syringe on the counter a couple of hours after shot time.
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton Dose question: reduce??

A few questions: Since I work and not able to run home to check her at +6, should I move to relaxed lantus land?
Since she could have gone below 50 yesterday, I gave her HC food which brought her up, Should I lower her dosage??? I'm afraid I wouldn't be here to catch a low reading. Thanks in advance...
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton Dose question: reduce??

Just stopping in to say you're not the first and won't be the last to have days like that. Just remember to breath and we're all trying to do the best we can.
 
Re: 5/28 Wonton Dose question: reduce??

The Relaxed board does not use the TR protocol. Even with the SLGS protocol, you still need to get spot checks. Personally, I don't think it's a matter of how often you can test. Which protocol you opt to use still requires that you use insulin responsibly. I'd also suggest you take a look at how busy that board is and whether you will get help when you need it. Last week, someone had clearly posted for help and I suggested they come here because it had been about 36 hours and no one responded. I also always suggest to people that they look at the SSs of the people that are offering help and decide if that's what they want their cat's SS to look like as a means of evaluating the quality of the information they are being given.

I work. I can't test much beyond +3 on a regular basis. I tend to not give BCS doses but I will bump Gabby's numbers with higher carb food. A BCS dose or using food is an option for tomorrow if necessary. You're also wanting to predict what Wonton will be doing in 24 hours. I can't do that with Gabby and I have a ton of data on her. The chance that anyone can predict what Wonton will be doing in 24 hours is slim. It's also going to be hard to anticipate what Wonton's numbers will look like given the missed shot this morning.

It's your option whether to reduce Wonton's dose. You could certainly make the argument that if you hadn't tested at +4 and fed HC, chances are that Wonton would have been in the 40s. The problem is that we are guessing. It may also be a matter of how much HC you fed to bump the numbers up. There are just a lot of unknowns. Wonton is your cat and you know her best.
 
So after forgetting Wonton's morning shot, her PMPS was 381, which isn't as bad as I expected. I gave her .75u instead of 1u and will keep .75u and see how she does. Was thinking 1u might be alittle too high and caused her huge bouncing yesterday.
Have a great evening!! Hope everyone had a nice holiday.
 
Bounces are overrated. They are hugely frustrating but, in the grand scheme of things, a bounce is the liver's way of protecting the body from what are presumably low BG levels. It tells you that Wonton's liver is working. To be honest, if I had to vote for a bounce vs. glucose toxicity (which can result if a cat sits in higher numbers for too long), I'd prefer a bounce.
 
Ditto on What Sienne said about bounces.

You are certainly not the first person to forget to shoot. Some of our very experienced members have drawn the dose, pit it on the counter, and forgotten to give it. She'll get back on track. Just think of it as a fur shot. :-D
 
Yep, that 381 is not bad at all. Good luck with the dose decrease (AKA, "dosecrease"!). Wonton is responding so nicely that hopefully this will stick. If not, you can always take her back up! How is she looking so far this evening?
 
I read quickly through this condo. I did just the opposite when Mikey first got here. I was so nervous about forgetting to give him a shot that I gave him a shot in between his shot times. I just associated feeding with shooting and when I fed him his middle meal, shot too. The good thing is that you have LL to post on and get the advice you need.

I just took in a foster, Tidus, so I will be here daily posting. Glad to see you were able to get a curve done over the weekend. Wonton had some really great numbers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top