5/28 Walter AMPS 96, +1 86, +3 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Another great start after a higher PM cycle! ...and my trip to Germany is only one week away as of today. I feel slightly nauseous every time I think about it. I really hate leaving my animals, especially now that Walter has been earning reductions left and right.

A friend of mine is taking care of my animals. She has known everyone for years and I know that she will take great care of them. However, she won't be here 24/7. She can test Walter twice a day and give Insulin. And she will be able to feed him smaller meals during the day (since she will be there to let the dogs out). But I know that she is terrified of him diving (like he did when I was out of town the last time). This time, I will be gone for 11 days.

I realize that a lot can still happen in the next few days... but if anyone else wants to start obsessing over the perfect vacation dose for Walt, go for it! I will definitely need some help... :nailbiting:
 
Great AMPS Walter!
I stress so much when I'm leaving my babies! I worry about everything!
Are you from Germany? Visiting friends/relatives?
I'm not sure about a dose....Walter's been doing well and earning reductions which you don't want him to do over the next two weeks. Can your friend test throughout the day when she lets the dogs out?
 
Being a week away from vacation I think it's just way too early guess a vacation dose especially for Walter;):nailbiting: Great you have a close friend who can care for your critters!
 
No dosing advice from me. Just try not to stress until the trip us closer. I know easier said than done from someone who stresses all the time. It's good you have someone to care for him who cares.
 
As someone who just got back from a long vacation I know exactly what you are going through right now!:nailbiting: I know it's easier said than done waiting for the last couple of days for vacation dose advice but things can change so quickly that it really is the best thing to do. I reduced my boy to his vacation dose two days before and then still had to readjust again the morning of as he had a pretty active cycle the night before on that dose. Good luck with it and enjoy your trip! :bighug:
 
Walter is doing great. It's nice you have a friend who can take care of your animals. I'm sure you'll find a good vacation dose when you get closer to time to leave. Try not to worry about it now. I know that's easier said than done.
 
I'll be happy to obsess with you but a week n advance really is a long time. I've never had to deal wth a vacation dose. Do people generally do something like half or 3/4 of the regular dose? Do you know a vet tech who could come in and do extra tests during that period?
 
Are you from Germany? Visiting friends/relatives?

Yes, I'm from Germany and going to visit my parents. My brother will be there too - he is currently working in South Africa. I haven't seen my family for a year and I know my parents are really excited to have both of their kids home.

I am really glad that I have a friend who is retired and who loves my animals (and who my animals adore). My last dog-sitter quit after my Chow-Akita mix, Lenny, decided that he he really didn't need to listen to her at all. And then bit her when sh tried to get him to go into a crate. :rolleyes: Luckily, he doesn't even try to pull that stuff on Linda.

Linda could certainly test during the day (and, @Lydia & Rosie & Basil(GA) I have two friends who are vet techs that are my back-up) - but what concerns me is the overnight and the fact that there won't be someone home all the time (which is basically what I have done lately). Well, quite frankly, I am just freaked out by the fact that Walter is, well, Walter and will do whatever he wants. :nailbiting::eek::rolleyes:
 
what concerns me is the overnight and the fact that there won't be someone home all the time (which is basically what I have done lately). Well, quite frankly, I am just freaked out by the fact that Walter is, well, Walter and will do whatever he wants. :nailbiting::eek::rolleyes:

I get this a couple of hundred percent. It's a special from a paralysis known only to owners of special needs pets.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top