5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 +1~94 +2~69 +3~67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15607&sid=aa47b11d8add4452ccc94a17d63a87ed

Ugh, she rebounded, possibly because of her low sugars last night. very frustrating. I'll make sure to leave out some extra food in case she bottoms again.

another day where i need to leave right away and can't track her. i'll be able to do so saturday and sunday up to +4.
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 Stupid Somogyi effect

Just an FYI about Somogyi. This is from the Tilly Protocol:

Be aware that experimental studies in human diabetics over the last 15-20 have rejected the existence of the Somogyi effect (sometimes also called rebound). In cats, no studies have ever been done which properly demonstrate that such a phenomenon exists.

Cat's do bounce. As far as bounces go, Vesta's numbers this morning are pretty darn good. It's not unusual in the least for the AMPS number to be the last number to fall into line. Some cats experience dawn phenomenon - endogenous corticosteroids (cortisol) levels rise in the early morning and raise BG. I think this is what you're seeing.
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 PM DOSE ADVICE!

Any thoughts on how I should dose Vesta?

Usually gets 0.5units lantus, but this is pretty low for her pmps.
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 PM DOSE ADVICE!

you've shot higher 70's and 80's on this dose. Are you home tonight to monitor?
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 PM DOSE ADVICE!

You shot a 78 before at this dose. As long as you have strips and HC in the house you should be fine. Just get a test at +1 and +2. (And I assume someone will be home?)
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 PM DOSE ADVICE!

sorry for the delay, gave her 0.5. took the dog on a walk, so checked out for a while.

i get a little nervous with how inconsistent she has been recently.
 
Re: 5/28 Vesta +2~60 +5+57 amps~177 pmps~71 +1~94

she does not typically have a post-meal bounce. guess we'll see what +2 looks like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top