5/28 Simon AMPS 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon's numbers have been pretty high the last few days and I have increased his dose slightly. I think he really senses my stress. I was told last week that my center is closing. I have worked there for 23 years and we currently serve 110 frail older adults and more than 300 of their caregivers. Most of our clients have Alzheimer's Disease or other related dementia. Yesterday, I had to tell all the staff that they are out of a job the end of June and then call all the caregivers to let them know we are closing our doors. There are very few options for them. It is the most stressful and heartbreaking thing I have ever gone through. The bad part is that it is not because of budget problems but because we "do not meet the mission anymore" of our larger agency. It is sad when taking care of our elders is not part of a mission, but I realize it is a business and I need to understand that it was probably not an easy decision for them to make. Simon and I are so close so I know all my crying and sadness is creating a sad environment for him. Hopefully, things will be better soon and I can concentrate on taking care of my sweet kitties.

Sorry to have such a sad post today!
 
I am so sorry, Georgia....that just sounds so wrong to be treating elders as part of a business plan :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: . Sending prayers that everyone is able to find other accommodations.

Simon probably does feel your stress. our kitties are so sensitive. I'm sure he's trying is best to comfort you!!
 
Good morning Georgia,

Tons and tons of prayers, hugs and healing vines headed your way :YMHUG:. It's so very sad when the elderly, many frail and disabled, are neglected by society. It says a lot about what rules decisions in our world - the almighty dollar. Sometimes I wish I could give people a shake and remind them of the role and sacrifices our elders have made in order to ensure that things are better for future generations.

I wish I had the words to comfort you at this time but none are strong enough to soothe a compassionate soul that mourns the injustices of this world. Please know that your friends at FDMB share your distress and are praying for you, your friends and co-workers at the centre. Be good to yourself today Georgia.

God bless, Anne.
 
Morning Georgia ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am so sorry.... that is just so sad. We so need to take care of our elderly seniors, especially the ones that so desperately need our help. I hope their will be a solution for all those that were at your facility. It is beyond comprehension when things like this happen simply because they are no longer considered part of the mission. Hugs to all there. I wish for the best for all concerned there.

I am sure Simon senses your stress, your sadness. Our kitties are so sensitive to our feelings. Hugs to Simon too.

I hope today is a better one for you. Take care!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top