5/28 Shiloh ~ AMPS 225, +11 187, PMPS 202, +2 197

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lantus works best at holding blood sugar flat - so having a blue preshot is actually pretty great!

The most significant test you can get with Lantus is the +2 - then compare it to the preshot. Anytime the cat has dropped significantly by +2, that's a huge red flag that you've got to be on your toes for that cycle. A "normal active" Lantus cycle typically has the preshot and the +2 about the same, so when it's lower - heads up!

There's more on this on the New to the Group sticky, if you haven't seen it yet.

Looks like changing to the low carb canned food might be making a difference in the BG tests!
 
Actually.....I haven't switched to the low carb CANNED. She is still eating dry, but it is the low carb EVO. I did buy some canned today and plan to switch her, but not knowing what it will do, I am going to wait until this weekend when I am around.
 
One thing to consider with dry, even if it is low carb, is that the lack of moisture can be very hard on the kidneys. Diabetic cat already have a lot of stress on their kidneys from high blood sugar, and the diabetes causes them to be dehydrated as well. Most people want to give canned and then they also add water to the canned to increase the moisture and make it easier on the kidneys. There's a lot more on the topic on Dr. Lisa's site (she's a vet) at www.catinfo.org

She also has good ideas on transitioning dry food addicts to canned low carb.

Good luck with the food!
 
You should try to take the food up for the 2 hours prior to Pre-shot tests so the number you get isn't influenced by food. Since food can really raise the BG, it's important to know that the PS number you're shooting is the real number

Getting occasional +1's and +11's is actually a good idea....every bit of data you get works in your favor to learn how Shiloh is doing!
 
How quickly does stress raise the BG? She did NOT want me checking it this time. Didn't help that the droolers were hanging around wanting her tuna treats!
 
whether or not stress even raises the blood sugar is an individual thing.

Some cats can have stress raise their bgs by hundreds of points. Punkin had no blood sugar increase in response to stress.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top