5/28 PMPS FAX 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Morning gang,

Fax's AMPS was at 445 - I'm feeling a little down and frustrated after yesterday, and then this morning's reading. Food switch still moving along - but he seems hungrier again this morning. I unfortunately, didn't get any readings in the PM cycle - both me and Fax needed a break from the poking so we took the night off. Laurie - I just saw your message now about getting a few readings in the PM cycle! doh!

yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44215
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

How far along are you with transitioning Fax over to LC food? That info will help us to think about dose.

(And, even if you need a "break" with testing, always try to get at least a before bed test. Some cats run lower at night. You don't want to be "surprised.")
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

Hi Sienne - I am on day three of the food transition. Everything seems to be switching over quite nicely.

Yes - I feel surprised this morning with that higher number - taking a few hours off wasn't the best idea!! Still on that big learning curve.
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

Hey Roisin, I know it's frustrating, but it's also typical to see numbers that you think will never come down, and then they start to come down. Hang in there. 50-50 is good with the food today. Soon Fax will be on an entirely lc diet and then you can think about the dose.
Have a good weekend and get some tests when you can.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

you're doing everything right - it takes time to get the kitters regulated and there's not much we can do to hurry it along.

you'll see references here and there to Patience Pants - believe me we all need them sometimes. the whole process seems unbearably slow, but i will encourage you by telling you that since we've been on FDMB (the end of February) i think at least 10-15 cats have gone off of insulin. this protocol works - you just have to move one step at a time and dance around fax's reactions. taking it slow keeps them safe.

hang in there & enjoy the holiday weekend! julie
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

Thanks for all of the encouragement and support ladies!

We had our long weekend last weekend in Canada.
I hope you have nice weather for yours!
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

probably will rain here all weekend, but the nice thing about that is you don't feel compelled to work outside in the rain. darn, i'll have to find a good book and curl up for a little reading. ;-)
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 Feeling frustrated

Roisin: just sending HUGS for you and Fax. We have all felt frustrated and for us, eight months into this, I still sometimes feel the frustration. If someone hasn't said it....it's a marathon, not a sprint. And the Patience pants belong to me...I just share them with whomever needs them at the time!!

Hang in there!!! Enjoy the OTJ parties and the extra time with your boy.
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 +6 320

Hi Roisin,

I understand your frustration...these numbers are high and not improving. I would like to suggest that you speed up the food transition. When I switched food with Mr Tinkles, I did it all at once. I know that's not the way it's suggested, but I think if you are willing to put up with possibly a bit of smelly or loose poo for a day or two, it would be good to get the switch done, so we can start working on these numbers. If you decide to do that, you will need continue to monitor closely, and make sure you get those evening and before bed tests at night too. You might need to set an alarm and get a test mid cycle if he's dropping, we don't know if his numbers may suddenly drop or not. At this point, I don't see any change from the food switch, and you might not, some cats don't drop.

What do you think?
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 +6 320

Yes, I'm willing to do a straight food switch. Definitely if it might help. As I said, he usually deals well with food changes so I'm not too worried. I only bought a little bit of the new food the other day to make sure he was going to eat it. I will feed tonight and breakfast 1/2 old and 1/2 new and then run out in the morning (company coming in about 20 mins or else I'd run out now!) and stock up on the EVO. I am close to home the next couple of days so I can keep testing throughout the day to see if it is changing anything.
 
Re: 5/28 AMPS FAX 445 +6 320

Sounds like a plan!

You know that if you had bought a case of EVO, he wouldn't have liked it, right? I swear my one picky civie looks in the cabinet and will only eat what I have ONE can of....if I have 12 of something else, forget it, she turns her nose up every time...cats! :roll:

Try to get another ketone test when you can too, ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top