5/28 Oscar . Stalling... Need Dosing Help???AMPS 216 PMPS 132

Christina and Oscar

Member Since 2021
Hello,

We are in a rare spot where we are actually in the blue. The last time was only due to a sedative to get him into the vet again.

I'm afraid to give him his 4.5 units. Is there a scale somewhere to show when to not give insulin? I don't want to send his numbers to low. Or do I lower his insulin amount? I've been searching but can't seem to find it.

Thank you,

Christina
 
Hi Christina, I'm going to tag @Christie & Maverick and @Wendy&Neko to help. Since Oscar has a history of DKA, it's best to give him some insulin in the form of a token dose so that he doesn't go too high and allow those ketones to build up but I am unsure of exactly how much.
 
Would you add the question mark to your thread title with the pulldown menu and change your thread title to add "Stalling--need dosing help"? This will signal to others that you need help.
 
Christina, if you haven't fed yet, can you please get another test to see if the number is rising? Normally when you get a lower preshot like this, it is a good idea to stall, don't feed and retest in 20 Minutes.
 
Christina, if you haven't fed yet, can you please get another test to see if the number is rising? Normally when you get a lower pre-shot like this, it is a good idea to stall, don't feed and retest in 20 Minutes.

Ok. Well he did eat some. I didn't know... I just checked his blood and we are at 116 and I checked his Ketones and it was 0.2 I am now using the Nova Max Plus b/c it checks both.
 
Back
Top