? 5/28 Noodle AMPS 68 +1 71 +2 62 +4 78 PMPS 335 - vacation dose input?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-189-1-150-2-5-121-vacation-dose.138553/

Still have a crappy appy over here. No vomiting, poo is normal, but she just doesn't want her food without tons of prodding and bribing. Just want I want the day before I leave :banghead: I gave Cerenia and Cypro this morning, Cypro should be kicking in soon. She ate almost a full breffis portion of some Natures Variety Chicken, none of the Proplan that she has always loved and I bought two cases of for my trip. :banghead::banghead: I'm going to refill the Cerenia for while I'm gone and get some more Natures Variety. She's drooling a bit, so I wonder if this is dental pain related (we had a similar situation 2 months ago that resolved after a weekend of Cerenia and Cypro, I'm convinced it was pain making her inappetant then, though). I'm so frustrated and upset.

As for vacation dose, @Wendy&Neko recommended 1u, starting tonight. I'll be leaving at AM+4 tomorrow. She will be staying at my moms house and only getting PS tests. Anyone else have thoughts?
 
I agree with the 1U....it'll be a safe dose and easy to measure

With Noodle having the DKA/Hepatic Lipidosis earlier this year, I would also make sure that mom knows that if anything doesn't seem right, Noodle won't eat or is acting strange in any way, better to be safe and run her to the vet
 
I agree with the 1U....it'll be a safe dose and easy to measure

With Noodle having the DKA/Hepatic Lipidosis earlier this year, I would also make sure that mom knows that if anything doesn't seem right, Noodle won't eat or is acting strange in any way, better to be safe and run her to the vet
Thanks, Chris. Most definitely. She'll have ketostix, the vet's phone number and address, and my Care Credit card (ouch).
 
Another thought, what should her "no shoot" number be?

(Feeling much better, she's on track to eat a normal amount so far today. anti jinx anti jinx anti jinx)
 
Last edited:
They sure know how to pick the time to go green, don't they? Since you are dropping the dose I suspect she won't go low but stranger things have happened. No clue what the magic number should be. Will your mom post here for help if needed? In the meantime Wendy, Julie, or Marje hopefully will weigh in on the no shot number. I suspect it will be a little complicated due to the DKA.

I know you must be excited about your trip and I'm sorry the stress of diabetes control is taking a little bit away from that.
 
They sure know how to pick the time to go green, don't they? Since you are dropping the dose I suspect she won't go low but stranger things have happened. No clue what the magic number should be. Will your mom post here for help if needed? In the meantime Wendy, Julie, or Marje hopefully will weigh in on the no shot number. I suspect it will be a little complicated due to the DKA.

I know you must be excited about your trip and I'm sorry the stress of diabetes control is taking a little bit away from that.
Thanks, Elise. I am excited, just very nervous, too! I truly think everything will be fine, I just want to give mom the most tools to take care of her without stressing her out. I'm pretty sure I can get her to post if she needs to, so that should help.

Doing the 1u makes my own ideas on "no shot" a little clearer.. I was thinking, <100 - NS, 100-150 - .5u BCS? 150+ - 1u. Along with telling her to post for eyes on anything under 200. As usual, willing to defer to those with more experience.
 
How long are you going to be gone? Is your mom going to test at all?

@Sienne and Gabby is experienced at vacation doses.

Too bad this is happening just when Noodle seems to want to go green on this dose. What a super day for her today!
 
How long are you going to be gone? Is your mom going to test at all?

@Sienne and Gabby is experienced at vacation doses.

Too bad this is happening just when Noodle seems to want to go green on this dose. What a super day for her today!
I know! We'll get back there soon, I hope!

I'm gone from tomorrow AM+3(ish) through next Saturday after PMPS. Sunday is my boyfriends birthday and we have a ton planned, I'm thinking I will maintain the dose until Monday AM.

She will get PS tests, but nothing more, realistically.
 
I might try a fat 1.0u, just to not lose too much momentum. But if that's too hard for your mom, then 1.0u would work. Will Noodle have food available mid-day? I'd try to make sure she had some.
 
@julie & punkin (ga)
In a perfect world, that would be great, but I really think she would be more comfortable on the line rather than fine tuning a dose like that when it comes down to it. What do you think about the "dosing rules" I've got here for her cheat sheet?

150+: 1U
100-150: .5U BCS
<100: NS

Plus, tell her to post on the board for eyes if she is under 200 at PS time (7:30am/pm EST)? I really don't think she will be willing or able to test more than PS most days. The idea of being responsible for that really stressed her out.

And now I'm trying to prepare her for every scenario and getting myself very worried I won't cover something. She will have food available, they'll have the autofeeder for the week, with instructions to just open it up and let her free feed if she's being a brat about eating on schedule and they have to leave.
 
Are you going to be available by text or phone? When we travelled for a week and left punkin with our son, I had him text or phone me if the ps was lower than some number - i don't even remember what right now. probably 150. He was testing mid-cycle, though, so he had more data that he could give me.

I think your plan sounds fine.
 
Are you going to be available by text or phone? When we travelled for a week and left punkin with our son, I had him text or phone me if the ps was lower than some number - i don't even remember what right now. probably 150. He was testing mid-cycle, though, so he had more data that he could give me.

I think your plan sounds fine.
I'll be in Italy, so with the time difference and keeping my phone off much of the time, I won't really be available. I am going to leave my PC with FDMB logged in so she can post.
 
oh I'm totally jealous. My husband and I went 5 years ago for 3 weeks in southern France and Italy. It was the trip of a lifetime. Ironically enough, we got home and 2 months later punkin became diabetic. I don't know how we could've possibly gone for that length of time if he'd become diabetic before we left. I hope you have a perfect time!

I can understand why it wouldn't work to check in with your mom! :p We can watch for her if she posts. Tell her to write "help" in the subject line or something like that so we don't miss her!
 
Those were some pretty numbers this morning Noodle - now don't bounce too high please!

I hope you have a wonderful trip Patricia. :) Italy is one of the places I haven't been to even though I lived in the UK until late 2013 and it's somewhere I'd love to go one day!

It sounds as though we'll all be looking out for any posts from your Mom while you're away - try not to worry too much...between your Mom and everyone here, Noodle's going to be just fine. :)
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I feel so incredibly lucky! I get to go for "work" through a sales contest we had, some of the wineries I represent in Northern Italy are treating some colleagues and I to the trip--I couldn't say no! It will be my first time in Europe.

@manxcat419 Thanks, April! I'll be sure to give you a billion reasons why you should go ASAP.

@Chris & China Haha! Her name is Kathy! I'll introduce her in tomorrow's condo and let her see how the board works.

I'm officially in "I'm too excited to sleep!" mode. And Noodle is in "Why the **** am I here at night??" mode. Hiding in a corner and being generally skittish as she is wont to do for the first few hours here. Hopefully she'll calm down overnight.
 
Just wanted to wish you a good vacation Patricia, sounds like Noodle will be just fine with your mum and your plan and, of course, the forum as backup. Have a great time and enjoy the Italian way of life!, lucky you!
 
In case I don't catch you before you leave I hope you have a wonderful trip. Try not to worry about Noodle. If your mom posts here she will return the help she needs.
 
wel this is mom {kathy} noodles gmom dont know how this works so messing up all round tried to get reading ugggg now she will not let me near her!!!! going to keep putting the right amout of food in front of her and hope she forgets how much i messed up tonight
 
kathy,
I noticed that your other post , it looked like you were trying to figure out how to reply.
my number is xxxxxxxx
I'll leave my number here for an hour or two and then remove it....
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top