5/28 - New Member, Bear - Just dx'd but need to leave w sitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tami & Bear

Member Since 2022
Hi all! Forgive me if my introduction here is a bit much, but I’m not sure what to do.

My 13-year-old guy Bear got dx’ed on 5/19. BG was 512, showing “mild” pancreatitis. We did a fructosamine test to confirm. He was put on 1mu Lantus 2x daily and Purina DM. I went back today and his BG was 391 and he was upped to 1.5mu Lantus. So we’re very much still getting “dialed in.” I'm going to get a test kit at the pharmacy tomorrow so we can start charting.

At first Bear was all about the Purina, but over the last few days he only wants a bite or two and then walks away (which is super unlike him), so I keep bringing him back to the bowl to get him to eat enough to get the insulin injection. He will then pick at the remaining food as he sees fit over the next few hours. I’ve been digging around on here and realize that I need to move him over to wet food and that more feedings throughout the day might be optimal depending on his chart. I think he’ll be amenable – he’s been on dry food for years but used to eat fancy feast at one point.

My looming issue at the moment is I need to leave him June 10-12 for my brother’s wedding. His usual sitter is coming, but she’s only here for a half hour twice a day (she’s part of a service and doesn’t do longer visits, but has been with Bear for years and would know if he was off). So I need him to want to eat so she can give him his insulin. I’m worried about switching his food again in this adjustment phase, especially since the fancy feast naturals are lower in fat and carbs than the Purina. I’m also worried about indigestion – the reason we brought him to the vet was because he was vomiting, and he’s had two more episodes since then, including one many hours after eating. Plus he gets a bit stressed out when we leave him.

We have an auto feeder that can offer small meals up to 4 times a day at whatever time I set. Here are some options I’m toying with:
  • Set the auto feeder to give him dry food before the sitter arrives, then more after she leaves. If she comes and finds he hasn’t eaten the first half, mix in a little wet food gravy as enticement.
  • Move him to half wet half dry slowly over the next 2 weeks. Have the sitter give him the wet and set the dry to go off after she leaves so he can pick at it / it’s backup in case he vomits.
  • Move him totally over to wet over the next 2 weeks (of course monitoring to see if insulin needs change with nutrition profile). Have the sitter feed him half as soon as she comes in, wait, administer injection, and then leave the rest for him. Hope that he does not scarf it all and vomit.
Any other ideas/ thoughts on these options? I’m a nervous wreck about leaving him right now, so advice from experienced humans would be appreciated. Also we have corn syrup and a higher carb dry food in the house that he likes but of course hoping that doesn’t become necessary while I’m away.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/Hi and welcome to the forum to you make Bear.
I am glad you are going to home test the blood glucose as it is the only way you will be able to keep him safe.
Get a human meter though, not a pet meter as they are much cheaper to run and are just as good.
I am not sure where you live but if it is in the US you can buy a ReliOn human meter for $9. You will also need test strips for the meter and lancets to prick the ear. Make sure they are 26 or 28 gauge and get some cotton rounds to hold behind the ear when you test.
If you live elsewhere you will be able to buy a human meter at most pharmacies.

If you are feeding Purina DM dry it is higher carb and you would be much better getting some ordinary low carb canned food from a pet store or supermarket. HOWEVER, swapping over to a lower carb food can lower the BG quite a bit, so you would need to be monitoring closely with any change over and you may need to reduce the dose of insulin as well depending on what the BGs are doing.

One option you could do for when your sitter is minding Bear, is to get a freestyle libre meter fitted so that she will be able to see what the BGs are doing. This meter is put onto the cat and reads automatically. It lasts 2 weeks. Failing that we can help you with a vacation dose for while you are away.
What type of syringe are you using at the moment? Does it have 1/2 unit markings?

As far as what to do about the food….well it depends what you decide to do between now and the wedding.
Even though dry food is high carb and unsuitable for diabetic cats, I would be inclined to get the sitter to always leave some dry food available for him at all times. And maybe feed him the wet when she comes to give the dose of insulin. Once you get home we can sort out a more suitable routine.

Here are some links for you

This link will give you the link to the spreadsheet to put in all your BG data you gather, as well as the signature which will tell us all about Bear and the hypo kit. If you have any trouble setting up the spreadsheet let me know and someone will help you.
HELP US HELP YOU https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/


This food chart has options for you to get for Bear when you are ready. It only has canned food. Look for food with carbs 10% or less.
You will also need a few cans of higher carb food for the hypo kit so look for some medium carbs 11-15% and high carb 16-23% carbs. And mark the top of the cans with the numbers of carbs in the can.
FOOD CHARThttps://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

HOMETESTING HINTS AND LINKShttps://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

upload_2022-5-28_20-16-19.jpeg


 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-28_20-16-19.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-28_20-16-19.jpeg
    65.8 KB · Views: 113
Thank you for all this. I'm using U-100 Insulin Syringes, 6mm length, 31g gauge. They don't have half unit markings. I'm going to get started on home testing and moving him over a little bit to the wet food, so in 2 weeks the sitter can give him the wet and he can free eat a little dry in between her visits. Then as you note, we can move over more completely once I get back.
 
Thank you for all this. I'm using U-100 Insulin Syringes, 6mm length, 31g gauge. They don't have half unit markings. I'm going to get started on home testing and moving him over a little bit to the wet food, so in 2 weeks the sitter can give him the wet and he can free eat a little dry in between her visits. Then as you note, we can move over more completely once I get back.
Are the syringes you are using the 3/10 ones. That is are they 30 unit, 50 unit or 100 unit syringes? The U100 syringes have all these sizes and it is the 3/10 ones you need.
 
I'm using the 3/10 syringes. Did the runaround today looking for a ReliOn meter and finally found one behind a closed pharmacy counter, so need to return in the morning. Wet food is being delivered in the morning as well, so we're moving along.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top