5/28 Musette amps-301

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
So knew that was going to happen this morning since last night she scared the hell out of me, she dropped to 38 by +6, so I did the only thing I could think of and gave her a 4th feeding of her Rebound since it has quite a few carbs and sugar in it...and then basically said a lot of prayers and left her in God's hands, although I still got up to check on her overnight.

She still seems to have her good days and her bad days, yesterday was a good one, today not so hot, but at least tomorrow I'll be taking her back to the vet's and we can have a pow-wow about her treatment...I'm going to request that the woman vet Dr. Mead and I get to sit down and hash this out, there are somethings I want to see changed for her because I don't think they are working well..I think she needs more feedings spread out over more hours, I don't think they grasp that her insulin is a 12/12 and that only feeding her during the first 12 hours of the day isn't going to work for her at night, her evening insulin needs something to work with or now that her shed is full she is going to plunge at night and then bounce by morning.

I think she needs Sub-q fluids, her urine is still way too concentrated judging by how dark yellow it is...it's almost orange...and she needs something different for pain, she tries to make it to the litterbox, but she is so out of it on the Bupe that while she gets in the litter box, she doesn't realize she isn't all the way in and ends up peeing on the pee pad under it..then she looks upset because she has missed. Plus she isn't nearly as perky as she was when she was on the IV fluids at the vets.

Today just really isn't a very good day for either of us, she doesn't seem to overall be getting better, and I'm tired and discouraged, right now...and well the 2nd anniversary of her namesake being at the bridge is hitting me really hard, especially with Musette so sick, losing Muse just seems to hurt all that much more right now. I so don't want to lose Musette on the anniversary of losing Muse.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Oh Mel,
I am so sorry you are both having a bad day...
I know how hard it is, but please try to stay strong..
tomorrow is another day , I will be praying for you both
 
So sorry to hear about this Mel.

One day at a time and it is great that the vet visit is tomorrow, not later in the week.

Yesterday was good, last night not so great, today is iffy, tomorrow is (as always) hopeful. Good things can always happen tomorrow.

Keeping you in my thoughts.
 
Yep, a 38 on a cat that is not eating is scary. She definitely needs food overnight. I am very surprised that your vet thinks any insulin is a once a day thing - so her total food will, by necessity, needs to be spread out over 24 hours.

Hope today gets better. Maybe you can take a little nap with her.
 
Wow, that 38 must have been super scarey! Hang in there Mel, you are doing an awesome job and Musette loves you for it! Please be gentle with yourself today, it is after all an anniversary and they have that ripple effect that negatively colors everything. :YMHUG:

One thought I have to offer that you might want discuss with your vet is that the buprenex dose may need some tweaking. Buprenex is processed by the liver and kidneys and if Musette's liver is not up to par her body may not be processing and excreting it as quickly or as efficiently which means she may need a lower dose. I saw the effects of too much buprenex with Harley - he was like a zombie, hid in the closet, and barely ate. He even fell off the bed once. The solution was lower doses of bupe given 3 or even 4 times a day instead of 2 larger doses given twice a day. It's like insulin, vets often think that more = better. 0.2ml given twice a day really gorked him out. Now he gets 0.12 ml 3 times a day and is a lean, mean eating machine.

Keeping you and Musette in my thoughts and prayers.
 
I'm sorry you and Musette are having a tough time. I agree with Laura about the pain meds. And why in the world would they not want you to feed her overnight? As I understood tube feeding, it needed to be done every few hours around the clock anyway.

You are more than likely right about the fluids. They will help her system rebuild itself by flushing out toxins. It seems like just about any treatment for an extremely sick cat should include sub-Q fluids.

Did they mention anything about liver supplements Marin or Denamarin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top