5/28 Minnie AMPS 175 +2 173 +4 165 +7 244 - started reduced spiro dose

I told you it was a passing thing! What is the plan for the spiro? I mean, was this the plan all along. First you start with a certain dose and then after a certain number of weeks you reduce the spironolactone dose? Everything is going according to plan?

oh wait.... it’s just to keep her from getting dehydrated? That’s why vet said to cut it?
 
I told you it was a passing thing! What is the plan for the spiro? I mean, was this the plan all along. First you start with a certain dose and then after a certain number of weeks you reduce the spironolactone dose? Everything is going according to plan?

oh wait.... it’s just to keep her from getting dehydrated? That’s why vet said to cut it?

:) She had me worried today, refusing food again until I broke open the a/d (I'm blaming that for the BG rise but not really convinced it has that much impact at 12% & I just sprinkled a bit on top of the other food). I'm not convinced it's all settled, might re-start the ondansetron again tonight. I need the pilling practice at least!

Spironolactone is because of her hyperaldosteronism which leads to low potassium. When she came out of hospital, she was on 2 scoops of K powder 4x day then we added the spiro and reduced K to 2x day. Still a pretty big dose. Tuesday's follow-up is to check blood again - potassium for sure, not sure if a re-test of the aldosterone (which has to go to MSU). Now you ask, I don't actually know what the plan was! This cut wasn't planned, it was to prevent dehydration based on her symptoms last week. Spiro is a diuretic, helps get her potassium levels normal AND she's on extra potassium so not surprising the girl was thirsty.

Everything seems to be a try it and see. To be honest, I'm skeptical she will need to keep having it all the time but that's just because of the hyperlipidemia diagnosis which cost me $50 in meds that were never opened because the numbers were back to normal before it even arrived. Clearly my opinion is not based on any science!

IM is fine with me handling the insulin at least, when we spoke she just asked what dose we're on. She thinks there is less than 5% chance Minnie has acro...we shall see what the blood test brings!

Thanks for checking in, before you even wrote up Darcy's day! Hope you had a good day out.
 
Back
Top