5/28 Leo AMPS 466, +2 366

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mnyc

Member Since 2013
(I hope I am posting appropriately, but please let me know if i should be in another forum)

I can't quite get a handle on what is going on. I went back to 1/4 unit as of yesterday morning and his numbers still aren't coming down at all. He seemed to be heading in the right direction until about 10 days ago when I actually ended up skipping a dose reduction, and I haven't seen a green number since then.

The only thing that has changed is food. I switched from FF chunky chicken to the classic chicken pate. He does not have many teeth at all so he would end up not eating the chunks most of the time. The chart on this site shows that the two foods are pretty much equal in nutrition profile (but the food I am using now has slightly less protein and more fat). I would consider going back to the chunky if it might make a difference. He eats between 6 and 9oz a day and his weight seems stable. I would also consider going to a lower-carb food (he seemed to like the FF salmon).

The bottle of insulin is now 5 weeks old, which I thought was fine (I was told 60 days was ok). It is not cloudy at all nor is there floating material in it.

Is there anything I am missing that might be causing this or do some cats just not regulate easily?
 
Hi! and Welcome!
I'll have to let people with more experience answer your questions. But i can bump you to the top. :-D To let people know you have a question, you should go back to your first post, hit edit and add the ( ? ) in the very top.. (post Icon) line. It'll get eyes on your condo.

I saw that Leo is testing trace for ketones. Are you adding water to his food?
Take care ..
mary and ollie
 
Yes, he (thankfully) drinks plenty of water right from the faucet. He has always tested negative/trace from the time I took him home from the hospital so I just keep on the lookout for any increase, which hasn't happened.
 
You did GREAT with the post!!! Thank you very much and you are very welcome to stay in this forum and part of our family!

Take a look at 5/14 and 5/18 a.m. cycles. Both started in mid to high yellow and by +3/+4, he was in green.

Last night, he started at 308. You did a great job of getting his +2 which was 252. That would have signaled, for me, that I needed to get a +4/+5 test. While the 252 was actually within meter variance of the 308, I believe when there is a difference like that, it's best to grab another test. Because he has bounced so high this morning, I have to wonder if he went down last night. He's showed you on a.m. cycle of 5/25 that he can bounce from blue numbers.

Same thing this morning.....a drop of 100 in two hours is one that should be monitored and you did a GREAT job of getting a +3. I wouldn't be surprised if you find him in blue later on today. We'll have to see......

When you have to work, and most do, it can be a challenge to find when they are dropping so you know if the dose is good or not.
 
Ok, thank you. I am frustrated only because everything seemed to be going so well and then *poof* the trend reversed for no apparent reason.

I know it is not something I can control, but I have really been hoping he gets into remission because this is wearing me down. I started feeling like it might happen when I kept seeing the greens on such a small dose but those hopes went away quickly in the last couple of days.

Do I try a lower carb food (the FF salmon was 0 or 1% vs. the 4 or 5% the chicken has) or should I just keep things constant for a few days to see what the dose increase does over time? One thing I am still stumped by is on 5/20 when he actually went down between +9 and +12 even though he ate food during that time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top