5/28 KT AMPS 298 +6-179 DAKOTA AMPS 370 +6-364 Doc boingy!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Welcome to our home! Does anyone even remember us? :roll: Last Condo - worlds ago...

KT
AMPS 298

Let's catch up on KT first. When he got really sick several months ago, Lantus was causing major issues for him. If you just looked at his numbers, it was 'WOW! Just look at those greens"....and I'd look at the whole cat and see a poor skin and bones cat with cloudy eyes, didn't move, no playing, hair awful - with that "I'm about to give up" look on his face all the time. His REAL life was miserable. While he was feeling so bad, his ph balance was WAY off all the time - Lantus works with the ph balance to precipitate into the body. Vet and I think he had lumps of undissolved Lantus everywhere causing terrible dives when he DID get to a proper balance because all that would start feeding insulin. That would knock him down again - an AWFUL cycle with him stuck in the middle. I ended up taking him off Lantus and changing to Novolin NPH for a while until the Lantus was gone out of his body. His numbers weren't good, we hit lots of pinks and reds but looking at the cat - he started feeling BETTER. His eyes cleared up, he didn't wake up with an upset tummy, he'd come out for petting and attention, he'd even play a bit. Then we try Lantus again...WHAT? Numbers just going UP? He starts looking bad again. Thanks to DCIN, he is now on LEVEMIR! We're on Day 6, just raised from .5u's to .75 today. It seems to agree with him MUCH better. We're already seeing better numbers and I'm seeing a good feeling cat! He's still skin and bones, every time we get a bit of weight on, something has knocked him down but maybe NOW, we can manage to put on at least a pound!

Any comments/guidance on Levemir greatly appreciated as we're just starting down this path!!!

DAKOTA
AMPS 370

Now DAKOTA - Mr. RockDoc! We were also struggling with Lantus with him - we'd raise dose, still no lower numbers...we'd raise dose, still nothing. After studying his spreadsheet for probably hundreds of hours - I noticed that the higher the dose, the higher the day's numbers. They were still steady but just 'heavier'. I started backing down which did give us a bit lower numbers but NEVER could get him under about 250 average regardless of dose. So we decided to detox him too taking him completely off insulin for a few days. BUT at the same time, we had Kitty colds hit our household BAD, I think he started an upper respiratory infection - I tested ketones 5/16 and my brain FRIED - WE HAD KETONES - BAD. He was still eating and no throwing up but KETONES - CRAP! Called vet at 4:30, he said syringe feed lots of liquids and food all night and come in the next morning...by that time, he was at +4 of 4 ketones. He was NOT DKA, just ketonic. His potassium was VERY low causing him to be also very weak - walking down on his back legs and having to lay down every few steps. I learned to give fluids, he quit eating for 3 days, I syringe fed lots of food and water. We started him back on Lantus that same day and discovered we had BAD LANTUS. We had at least 3 bad pens out of 5 which probably contributed to all of this. We FINALLY tested NO KETONES on 5/19. I had to shoot NPH for 3 days until we could get another box of Lantus here. We started it on Saturday -
YESTERDAY WE HAD 100'S!!!​
That's a FIRST for our sweet Dakota!!! Today he's bouncing! He's gotten over feeling bad and is now back to his silly self and actually feeling better than he has in a while too!!!

As it all this wasn't enough - Snowshoe ended up with a bowel obstruction - had to have manual extraction and enema by vet. He had a BAD reaction to the anesthesia - while above was happening, I was also trying to keep from losing him. We're still not pooping well, he has lots of 'backed up' poop but we're slowly working it out.

LeoBeboKitty suddenly went down hard on Mother's day night - gasping for breath, lungs terrible - had to give him emergency depo shot. At the same time, the kitty cold was grabbing hold. The depo suppressed his immune system letting the URI set in bad. His poor nose was so stopped up he couldn't breath, he sneezed 50-75 times every hour. We were stuffing ab's down him, those didn't work so moved to another higher powered one which upset his tummy along with everything else. THIS was also happening at the same time as KT, Dakota and Snow's issues.

Stress is a huge factor for hubby's HKPP - all this kept HIM weak and struggling requiring my dosing HIM with meds repeatedly too.

I got a whopping 10 hours of sleep over 4 days - can we say EXHAUSTED? I lost the 5 pounds I'd tried SO hard to gain. :roll:

FINALLY....everything started settling down....

....and Mookie got outside by accident Monday!!! We walked and called and cried and prayed and walked and called...I figured out later I walked over 2 miles and never got more than 2 blocks from our house. We had bad storms coming - storms terrify her so she'd just run further. FINALLY about 1:30am, she found 'HOME' - I'd left her door open while she was out, pups are crated at night. They let us know when she showed up...

This is just a portion of the WILD ride we've taken these last few weeks. Yep 'Tanner' is also still here and will most likely stay. He's gotten over the 'baby kitten' and can walk/run/jump like crazy. He's tripled his size altho' still only 1.5 pounds.

Today we're FINALLY DANCING AGAIN!!!!!

HUGS to all that visit today!!!
 
Re: 5/28 KT AMPS 298 DAKOTA AMPS 370 Doc's BOUNCING!

Hi Squeaky,

I'm absolutely speechless - I read Kt's profile and realized you have rescued and saved many,many pets over the years. I'm convinced that there is a very special place in heaven for people like you. Your patience and kindness are unsurpassed and any animal finding it's way into your care is very lucky.

I hope Kt and Dakota continue to do well for you and you get some much needed rest. Rest may help you restore some of the weight you've lost although, I must say I understand why you have trouble gaining and keeping weight on your frame. You're an extremely busy lady with a heart of gold. Best wishes and healing vines for all your companions at home, Squeaky.

In admiration, Anne.
 
Re: 5/28 KT AMPS 298 DAKOTA AMPS 370 Doc's BOUNCING!

Welcome back, Lyresa. I've really missed your condos. I'm so sorry to hear you've been through so much these past few weeks, but I'm happy to hear things are starting to sort themselves out.

Sending many vines and prayers to all your furbabies, and some for the DH, to. Lots of hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/28 KT AMPS 298 DAKOTA AMPS 370 Doc's BOUNCING!

Guess I'm the first non-orinch visitor here. :lol: Welcome back Lyressa - good to hear from you. You've been through a lot the last few weeks. :YMHUG: Vines to all those fur-babies that need it, and DH.

I hope the Levemir change will work out for you and KT. We switched back in September and I'm glad I made the change. The later nadir can mean getting up for late night tests later than I'd like, but it's not something you have to do every night. You replace staying up late on Lantus with getting up early for Lev. And I think Neko's much flatter on Lev. The biggest thing is trying to figure out when KT's onset and nadir are on Lev. I've seen Lev kitties onset somewhere between +3 and +6 and nadir anywhere from +7 to +14 or so. Although I think Libby's KK had cycles that looked more like Lantus (+5-+6 nadirs), but that was unusual. It can take kitties a little while to really start working the Lev, so just keep testing like you have been to try and gather data about what his cycles look like.
 
Re: 5/28 KT AMPS 298 +6-179 DAKOTA AMPS 370 +6-364 Doc boi

Wow. You've been through so much lately. I'm glad things are getting better for everyone. Sending prayers your way. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top