5/28 Jazzy PMPS 422 (1st Lantus shot)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
Foster kitty Jazzy is here! I know I need pictures, she's scruffy looking now, she apparently doesn't groom herself at all. Poor thing. Will definitely get pics this weekend.

Jazzy arrived last night and is going to be a really fun cat. She has been on 7 units BID of PZI. I asked them to shoot 2 units yesterday for her travel day, and I kept that dose last night and this morning because her numbers weren't any worse than they usually are. I just picked up her Lantus and gave her first dose a few minutes ago.

I chose to use a starting dose of 3 units for Jazzy because I strongly suspect she is a higher dose cat rather than one who has been overdosed. She has been on high doses for so long and seeing very little movement. Having no background on the cat, I couldn't see starting at 7 units, but I see no reason to drop all the way back to 1 unit. Half of her previous dose seemed reasonable. I suspect 3 units won't be nearly enough, and we'll fast track through dose increases as needed. It is important to note that despite being in high numbers for almost a year, Jazzy has no history of ketones. I'll be testing for ketones this weekend, as well as doing a lot of spot checks to try to get an idea of what the insulin might be doing for Jazzy. I'm hoping the shed will fill by Monday so I can get a reasonably good curve that day.

I don't plan to post daily condos for Jazzy because they won't be that interesting until she starts to move, and because time spent making a condo for her is time away from visiting others' condos. Her spreadsheet is in my signature, though, so anyone can visit any time. :smile:
 
Welcome to LL, Jazzy.

Libby, even though you feel she's not photogenic right now, I hope you get a few pictures for the "before". I hope she and Lantus get along well!

How's the gang taking the news?
 
So happy that Jazzy is there with you now.....before pictures would be good to have...for the files you understand. We like to have before & after pictures for her OTJ party... We do have rules for posters here and you do realize we will miss seeing her condo every day. But...if you insist. YOU are the BOSS!! :lol:

Shadow's fur had grown into a terrible mess and he didn't groom much at all. It's great to see how his fur is now....and Jazzy will be so happy to be "home" and on Lantus with YOU that she will shape up in no time at all! I'm anxious to follow her journey....hope the 3 u is great from the beginning!! :mrgreen:

Congratulations Libby....but I should say that to Jazzy...she lucked out finally in her life! Tell her that the next 10 years are going to be the BEST for her!!
So happy for her....HUGS from us...
 
Welcome Jazzy!! Your in the best hands now.

Libby, it will be fun following her journey. I'm sure you'll come to the right dose and she will be looking better in no time. Sara used to have mated fur. I now believe it was because of her diabetes, but I did'nt know she had it than. She looks great now.

Good luck with Jazzie and I look forward to updates.

jan and sara
 
Welcome, Jazzy - Connor and I are glad to see another Siamese Rescue kitty!

You sure lucked up getting Libby to take care of you! We're looking forward to seeing your progress!

Donna & Connor
 
Jill & Alex said:
jazzy's first condo in LL!
any update yet? tee-hee...

very funny. :razz:

I'm proud of myself for waiting 4 whole hours to retest. And, I think this is high enough that I don't have to test again tonight. There will be plenty of time to poke the cat tomorrow.

+4~333. I'll take it, pink on the first shot is not bad.

I have hit on Lucy's new weight loss regime. Every time I go to check on Upstairs Kitty, Lucy just HAS to follow me up and down the stairs. :lol: Maybe I need to keep Jazzy in isolation for a while so both Lucy and I can get some exercise!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top