5/28 Hendrick AMPS 101 +4 68 PMPS 103

From my noob POV Hendricks BG seems fairly low/well controlled at a pretty low dose. What's the criteria to be considered as "in remission"?
 
From my noob POV Hendricks BG seems fairly low/well controlled at a pretty low dose. What's the criteria to be considered as "in remission"?

John the truth is a lot of vets would consider my boy in remission long ago.

But I am following the Tight Regulation dosing method within which you do NOT just cut off the insulin when the cat starts spending time in normal BG ranges. Instead, you taper it off suuuuuuuper slowly. This has been proven to produce "stronger" diabetic remission -- I.E. a reduced chance of remission failing in a short period of time. Let me tell you John this is fairly painstaking, excruciating and stressful lol. I would love to just freaking stop shooting insulin but at this point, after all Hendrick, my wife and I have been through to get here....I am willing to put in more time to raise the chance that his remission, if he even makes it, is a strong one.
 
He is doing so well! Just noticed those cool graphs you made. Interesting that his PM numbers came down and steadied out before his am numbers. Guess he's not a nighttime snacker?
 
He is doing so well! Just noticed those cool graphs you made. Interesting that his PM numbers came down and steadied out before his am numbers. Guess he's not a nighttime snacker?

Bhooma said that would happen, that the AMPS is always last to get in line. But yes, he tends to sleep while we sleep, he does not get up in the middle of the night and eat, even if food is left for him.
 
Bhooma said that would happen, that the AMPS is always last to get in line. But yes, he tends to sleep while we sleep, he does not get up in the middle of the night and eat, even if food is left for him.

Love a good sleeper! Does Hendrick eat a whole can at once when you feed him? How many times/day do you feed him, and how much? Dimi is a grazer. I rarely get him to eat more than 1/2 can of FancyFeast at a time, and he won't go near it once it has been refrigerated, so I end up throwing away 1/2 can at each meal.
 
Love a good sleeper! Does Hendrick eat a whole can at once when you feed him? How many times/day do you feed him, and how much? Dimi is a grazer. I rarely get him to eat more than 1/2 can of FancyFeast at a time, and he won't go near it once it has been refrigerated, so I end up throwing away 1/2 can at each meal.

no he eats at most half a can of FF at a time as well. Luckily with Lantus you have the luxury of about 2 hours before onset, and we offer food again at +1 and usually +2 as well

but lately, instead of offering food at +1 or +2 we just make sure it's available if he wants it. We use Surefeed feeders for our six cats. Everyone has a chip on their collar
 
no he eats at most half a can of FF at a time as well. Luckily with Lantus you have the luxury of about 2 hours before onset, and we offer food again at +1 and usually +2 as well

but lately, instead of offering food at +1 or +2 we just make sure it's available if he wants it. We use Surefeed feeders for our six cats. Everyone has a chip on their collar

So the feeder only opens for the cat the food is intended for? Cool technology!
 
exactly. They were about $200 a pop but they work very well, we love them.
What happens if another cat came and nudged the cat eating from an open feeder and started eating his/her share?

What's the criteria to be considered as "in remission"?
A cat needs to have its BGs in the normal range for 14 days without insulin to be considered in remission. Like Kyle pointed out, we slowly taper the dose to 0.25 and then 0.10 and even a drop, where necessary, before we take a cat off insulin.
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
Last edited:
a reduced chance of remission failing in a short period of time. Let me tell you John this is fairly painstaking, excruciating and stressful lol. I would love to just freaking stop shooting insulin but at this point, after all Hendrick, my wife and I have been through to get here....I am willing to put in more time to raise the chance that his remission

That makes total sense, keeping his natural insulin flowing without "shocking" his system with a big change. I would do the same. Infact hopefully I have the opportunity to do the same, it would be great if Henry wouldn't need this for the rest of his life. Glad to see Hendrick is on the road to recovery.
 
What happens if another cat came and nudged the cat eating from an open feeder and started eating his/her share?

"intruder detection" -- the feeder recognizes the presences of another chip, one that doesn't open that feeder, and it closes right up

it is not foolproof. Shylo has figured out that he can headbutt the door that closes over the food dish and it will only close halfway, then he sticks his paw in and scoops out food. He has only done this on occasion however so for the most part, the chip feeders are working out for us
 
"intruder detection" -- the feeder recognizes the presences of another chip, one that doesn't open that feeder, and it closes right up

it is not foolproof. Shylo has figured out that he can headbutt the door that closes over the food dish and it will only close halfway, then he sticks his paw in and scoops out food. He has only done this on occasion however so for the most part, the chip feeders are working out for us
.
Haha, a security flaw. File the security vulnerability with the company and maybe shylo will be able to collect a bug bounty :D. Good thing cats don't have the skills to clone RFID tags. Curious what the name of this feeder is tho?
 
"intruder detection" -- the feeder recognizes the presences of another chip, one that doesn't open that feeder, and it closes right up

it is not foolproof. Shylo has figured out that he can headbutt the door that closes over the food dish and it will only close halfway, then he sticks his paw in and scoops out food. He has only done this on occasion however so for the most part, the chip feeders are working out for us
I'm impressed with both the feeder and Shylo!
 
Back
Top