? 5/28 Boris AMPS 296 dose increase and vacation

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Boris seems to have settled out into some flatter numbers over the last few days. Unfortunately, they're still in the yellows and pinks.

According to the protocol, Boris is due for an increase on Thursday to 2u (BG curve tomorrow to see exactly where he is at). HOWEVER, we leave 6/8 to go on vacation for 5 nights, and have already decided we will probably have the pet sitter (experienced in insulin injections) administer a lower dosage while we are gone, just to be on the safe side. She will not be testing BG though, as that's sometimes difficult with both of us participating, and we don't want to damage the progress we've made with him tolerating being picked several times a day.

Looking for opinions: would you increase, then decrease, or would you keep him at his current dose until after vacation? Ramifications of leaving him dosed as is, and decreasing for vacation?
 
I would be tempted to bump it up and then reduce the day before going. He is in some pretty consistent high numbers on this dose. 2u got him to green before, it maybe nice to get him down a bit before going.

I am assuming you are going to a half dose for vacation?
 
I would be tempted to bump it up and then reduce the day before going. He is in some pretty consistent high numbers on this dose. 2u got him to green before, it maybe nice to get him down a bit before going.

I am assuming you are going to a half dose for vacation?
Thanks Tracey
 
I would be tempted to bump it up and then reduce the day before going. He is in some pretty consistent high numbers on this dose. 2u got him to green before, it maybe nice to get him down a bit before going.

I am assuming you are going to a half dose for vacation?

We hadn't gotten farther than a reduced dose. Being so new to this, I wasn't sure what we should do, and was waiting until vacation was closer to ask. However, now faced with a dosage increase, I wasn't sure if yoyo-ing his dosage was a good thing or not.

I hate to push him up and down a lot with different dosing!
 
I agree with Tracey. I would go ahead and give the increase now. We usually ask people to post a couple of days before they are planning to leave for vacation and ask about a vacation dose. It's best to reduce a couple of days before you leave to drain the depot.
 
Back
Top