5/28 Blackie+13.75 38...+15 73 +18.25 215 +23 399 pmps 392

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 No shot yet

Looks like you have done the stalling thing before.
I would not give any more food now so that your number will not have a food spike.
Blackie is doing great. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 No shot yet

When you're stalling a shot, you don't feed. Otherwise, you don't know if the numbers are coming up on their own or it's the influence of the food.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 Options??

I fed almost 1 Tb of lc at +12.5 before I saw Sienne's post and he still went down to 46 at +13. I can wait longer and DH will be here today, but I'm thinking about shooting a bcs. What do think I should do??
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 Options??

BCS is fine as long as DH can test, you have strips, and HC. This is a dropping number. I know you've shot this low before but it was a clear surf. Can DH take over with stalling or will you be so completely off schedule that it's a problem?
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 Options??

Its 3 day weekend, so I don't care if we get off schedule. I would rather shoot before I have to go to work (in 45 min), but DH can shoot & test too. I'm going to test now.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 Options??

Shooting, even BCS at dropping numbers is scary. I'm going to feed a little more hc/lc now.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 Options??

If you're feeding and getting numbers this low, you either need to keep stalling or you may need to skip the shot altogether. I would not, in good conscience, encourage you to shoot this low, especially on a dropping number.

I would have expected numbers to be coming up with food. The reason the numbers aren't coming up may mean that Blackie's pancreas is kicking in or his shed is way full.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 Help

I fed hc food at +13.25 (not hc/lc) and again just now at +13.5. Is it time to get out the karo?
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 Help

I think this is a clear skip the shot morning.

Give Blackie his breakfast and add a good portion of HC to his food. There's no insulin, or at least very little in his system, at this point in the cycle. Blackie has clearly earned a dose reduction for tonight.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12 55 +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 Help

I totally agree with Sienne--Much too low to shoot-
Skip shot & start over tonite--DH should feed hc, karo or whatever it takes & still test to see where Blackie goes today till in safe numbers..
Ask the dosing helpers about the dose decrease that Blackie just earned because any 30's number is definitely a decrease--
So maybe they will tell you 3.00?? You did a good job today--DH too!
You kept it together even with the low numbers..That Blackie can really surprise you Huh?? @-) nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile
Have a good day Ele!!
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 +13.75 38

No shot this morning! This is a first for us. I fed about 2 Tb of HC at +13.75. DH is taking over - I'm going to work.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 +13.75 38

whew. Good to have no shot. Wow Blackie!! You all did very well...great job! what a surprise this morning, eh? Drama in the morning before work...oh my....Hope Blackie surfs nicely today but even if there is a bounce, you will be able to deal with it no problem! :thumbup
 

Attachments

  • lydia (Custom) (3).jpg
    lydia (Custom) (3).jpg
    27.7 KB · Views: 78
Re: 5/28 Blackie +12.5 53 +13 46 +13.25 40 +13.5 36 +13.75 38

WHEW is right!! Excellent job today I agree!!-By Ele, & DH!! No pokus for Blackie, things are looking really good!!! We are happy for you :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +13.5 36 +13.75 38 +14 46 +14.25 47 +14.5 51

A very exciting Friday morning. Now for Blackie's WCR: He was feeling good last night, getting loves, spending time outside sitting under the bird feeder. DH told me that Blackie wasn't going very far in the yard anymore because he was getting old and I guess Blackie took offense. When DH took the dogs for a walk, Blackie went all the way to the end of the garden and DH had to go find him and bring him back. LOL Then I told DH that Blackie wouldn't go low again for several days. And look at this morning! I guess we have to be really careful what we say in front of Blackie from now on.

Thanks for all the help this morning, Sienne. I guess you're on duty 24/7. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +13.5 36 +13.75 38 +14 46 +14.25 47 +14.5 51

Lol!! I wasn't on the Board late last night!!

I think you can give Blackie's ears a break for a while. If there's no insulin, there's no danger of him dropping. I'd get a few tests in during the day just so you know what's happening. Let's see where he is before PMPS.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie +13.75 38 +14 46 +14.25 47 +14.5 51 +15 73

Holy cow, Ele, you are awesome!! And so is Blackie. :mrgreen: Great job this morning, and congrats on the decrease!! At this rate, he will soon be on a lower dose than Buzz! :lol: Keep up the good work, and Robert too!
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie+13.75 38...+15 73 +18.25 215 Shot time tonight?

With no shot this am, I have no idea how high Blackie will go today. If he's really high, is there any way we can shoot early and then make up the time over the weekend? Whatever we do, I'm planning on shooting 3 units. We were only at 3.25 units for 2 cycles, so I'm not sure if going down to 3 is enough.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie+13.75 38...+15 73 +18.25 215 Shot time tonight?

If he's high, do you want to shoot earlier that your usual shot time? If he is way high, I'd shoot the old dose and reduce tomorrow AM. I'm not sure if I'd shoot early and shoot the old dose, though. I guess you could shoot an hour early but from my way of thinking, it might make more sense to shoot the old dose through the rebound. Of course, Blackie could surprise you and not be high.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie+13.75 38...+15 73 +18.25 215 Shot time tonight?

Thanks, Sienne. I've shot late before and then early to get back on schedule, but never early and then late to get back on schedule. I didn't know if it was possible. That's a good idea - to shoot the old dose if he's really high. I hope he does surprise me and isn't terribly high, but we'll see.
 
Re: 5/28 Blackie+13.75 38...+15 73 +18.25 215

WOW! :mrgreen:
Look at Blackie!!!!! Congratulations on the dosecrease.. now at least he got the day right! :lol: He's riding on the shed right now....

I'm thinking like Sienne - depending on how high Blackie goes at the +23, you could shoot early (3U) ... and get back on time time tomorrow AM... kwim? Shooting the old dose on the rebound might also be a good idea to get the little extra into the shed again.... I'm also a little unsure about shooting the old dose early... Libby, Jill or D might be better consultants on this matter.
 
Well, he did go so very low this morning and then had no new insulin on board all day...I think the pink is great for him. Good boy Blackie....pokes are resumed and you can fill that shed up now, k? Nice job today!
 
One of the good things we got out of this experience today, is that I have more data. So next time, I might do a BCS instead of no shot. But this morning we didn't have that data. I hope it doesn't take long to fill the shed up again and hope for a better amps tomorrow.
 
Good job today, Ele! You've certainly been thrown into the fire this week, huh? Hope tomorrow brings a return trip for Blackie from that nasty RBC.
 
sending lots of shed refilling vines to Blackie tonight...

I don't blame you, I wouldn't have shot 30's either. Yikes. It's hard to know what to do, especially when you have to leave. I was lucky that Lucy usually pulled these stunts in the evening when I could monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top