5/28 Bisse AMPS 290 To increase or not increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bisse

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118554

5/25 AMPS 308 +3 112 PMPS 376 +3 266
5/26 AMPS 313 PMPS 243 +3 77
5/27 AMPS 329 PMPS 355 +3 295 (Bouncing?)
5/28 AMPS 290
More blues and greens but still mostly pink and yellow.

Bisse has been at 2.5 for 30 cycles and with mostly pink and yellow I think I should increase to 2.75 (weekend is coming up)?
Or does he still count as being new to <100 and I should count 10 cycles from 26th?

He's actually being a pain when I don't take BG during the night (no treats for several hours!) and I am getting used to being sleep deprived.
The vet remarked that not many people would be so dedicated to get up at night (she doesn't know fdmb) and I was very reluctant to sacrifice my precisious sleep, initially.
Now I think, what was the fuss? It's beep, prick, treat, snore. ;-) Luckily not too many sleepless nights because of low numbers. On the other hand, that should be unfortunately not too many sleepless nights. Do so want him to get into green numbers consistently.

He is a lot more active recently, runs and plays, the other day to a degree I haven't seen since he was a kitten. Almost too much as he seems determined to get into trouble. And he's angry at me because I cut down on his food. He was in kitty heaven eating as much as he could, but now that he has gained weight I have cut down on his food and "I'm hungry, mommy, feed me!".

His pattern seems fairly unpredictable except lower numbers at night and an early nadir?
I don't think I am seeing consistent low dawn numbers, sometimes the +11 is higher sometimes not.

Any input on increasing the dose or not?
 
With that 77 on the 26th, I wouldn't increase yet

Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, so you don't want to increase while they might still be bouncing. If the bounce breaks and you've also increased, you could be sending them too low, which just sets them up to bounce again.

I'd hang in there a few more cycles.

And you're totally right! Testing at night becomes just part of the routine! I've been known to test China at night and not even remember doing it other than having the number on the glucometer and her spreadsheet! I'm like "where did that come from?"....LOL
 
What a hoot :lol: " It's beep, prick, treat, snore". Boy do you ever speak the truth. Luckily for Pixie, I don't have to test as much through the night but I do feel the need to - "Get up, light on, eyeball Pixie, roll call, head lifts inquisitively, food, water, everything ok, light off, back to bed". The routine has become automatic for both of us. Thank-you for making me laugh. Have a great day!

Anne
 
I love to hear how diabetic kitties start to feel like kittens again. :-D Even if it does mean getting into trouble. :lol:

I agree with Chris on waiting a bit for the bounce to break to increase. That could either be 6 cycles or if you see a long string of blue then probably the bounce is gone and it's OK to increase. If Bisse doesn't come down into green again in those 6 cycles, I'd increase up to 2.75. Normally we don't like to hold onto a dose quite as long as you have. The goal is to get rid of those higher numbers on Bisse's SS and eventually get him spending as much time in normal numbers as possible. A little more juice will help get you there.
 
Ok. Thanks all. I'll hold the dose for now. Esp as he gave another good night. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top